We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well located, efficient”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“well located, efficient”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hugeness of the bed is a bonus. The facilities are clean. The high tech got a bit annoying, day one all worked, day two it didnt. The bedside table needs to be bigger, charging phones, computer, ipod etc is a bit of a hassle as the bedside table is all used up with fixed docking station and electronic control pad. The cost of meals are high, and only barely adequate- skip it. Staff all friendly. I had great trouble finding the place having walked up from the train station. A map would have helped.

Room Tip: room facing the city wasnt noisy but the view is of nothing important either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ai1sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,210
    1,305
    281
    102
    58
See reviews for
250
2,759
319
792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (933)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My daughter chose this hotel for a weekend away for her 18th. The hotel is well situated for the town centre, underground and bus/rail links.
The hotel is ultra modern and has some quirky designed furniture in the communal areas. The rooms are very small and compact, but if you will only be there for short periods it's fine.
The rooms have a large king size bed, shower/toilet cubicle, couple of small tables and chairs and a sink. All very clean and straightforward.
Our party notified the hotel that my daughter would be celebrating her 18th so arranged balloons and a card in the room offering her a free drink of choice in the bar.
We had a problem with a strange noise in our bathroom pipes and was offered a different room. The move was not a big deal and were offered complimentary drinks at the bar. We then had a second problem not being able to use the mood pad in the room. They came promptly to re-set it offering us complimentary breakfast the next morning ( which was very nice).
All in all we had a super weekend. I would highly recommend Citizen M hotel Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just had a great stay at citizenM, whilst visiting the Glasgow International Art Festival. A very funky hotel, with fantastic shared areas; big sofas, TVs, art & design books, free WIFI, and cool bar. You check yourself in which is efficient, but there are staff on hand to tell to help. Just ensure you pay up-front or you will incur a minimal cost at reception. The rooms are very funky, with less mood lightening, a huge, comfortable bed, and fantastic rain shower. Be ware though that the bathroom facilities are not for the modest, as the shower module is in the room and the sink on display. So it's ideal for a couple, but if your friends getting a room together then it might get a bit personal! Not a huge amount of space to disperse your belongings, but for a night or two you'll be fine.

The service we experienced in the hotel is excellent. We emerged hungover in the bar area, desperate to have our water bottles filled. The member of staff went to the trouble of filling the bottles with crushed ice first, and then when he was not happy with the temperature of the water emerging from the tap, disappeared into the staff area to fill them up with water from their cooler. Amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel does look cool and quirky but it wasn't for us. The few little things we like in a hotel room were missing. No fridge, tea/coffee making facilities or decent wardrobe size. The little things like the remote controlled mood lights were a cool touch but didn't change our mind about not returning here. Its good for a one night stay if you just simply need somewhere to lay your head but that's it. When we returned to the hotel late at night there was a man shouting abuse at his wife and empty buckfast bottles lying around outside. If you don't mind this you'll be fine but it wasn't for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam190777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a great hotel if you are looking for well located, unusual city accommodation.
The reception was efficient, the communal areas all very clean and modern and our room small but perfectly formed.
Central Glasgow was a stone’s throw away and we could walk easily to all the places we wanted to visit.
All the staff we met were friendly and fun and the restaurant / café area was well stocked and very comfortable.
All in all citizenM was the perfect place for us to stay during our visit to Glasgow!
Thank you citizenM!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosssully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Whilst check-in is a swift and easy process, I'm disappointed you are not able to pay in cash if you wish. I had to make my own bed and for the cost of my room was shocked breakfast is an additional cost. The bedside table did not allow for you to place any personal belongings onto it because it was full of the docking station and the tablet, which were fixed. If you have a long dress the hook for the hangers is too low and they drag on the floor, so I had to balance the hanger on the glass shelf above. The radio channels did not work. If you are driving to the hotel there is no parking, you get a discount at certain local car parks however the cost will soon mount up. I think some maintenance was underway during my stay, as there were nuts on the floor by the lift when I was leaving (bit of a hazard), need to clear up more carefully.

Good points: great shower, large bed and the mood lighting provided some entertainment. Great location within Glasgow for getting about.

Overall a disappointing stay and I wouldn't rush to go back in a hurry. If service is key you this is not the place for you, it's more of a do it yourself hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Modular on the outside in a convenient location. The checkin lady was was helpful. The room was clean and quiet designed in the modular Japanese style. There was a large comfortable bed and a deliciously hot shower just what was needed after a 5 hour train journey. Because it was a late checkin, there was no hot meal in the hotel, but a fair choice of food suitable as late night sustenance ( I had sushi) with a choice of papers to read in the dining area which was very lively depite the lateness of the hour. Breakfast was solid and there were plenty of nooks and crannies to sit undisturbed while you ate. The room entertainment system was very modern but had a problem with the radio component, no doubt it will have been sorted out promptly, not a major issue as the TV worked well. I had no time for the movie selection which was extensive but rather populist in taste. Overall, the hotel had the right balance of avtivity and peacefulness, a rare combination in hotels & it had a wide clientele; backpackers, couples, business types & tourists. Very enjoyable. I'd recommend it and stay again.

Room Tip: Room away from the street is said to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing