We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for 1-night on a Thursday, 2 adults in a compact room but well laid out and really well finished.

The entrance hall was a bit confusing, we eventually figured out you need to check in on the first floor - take the stairs or lift up - there are no signs to tell you this but the ground floor is all meeting rooms.

Check-in is done by computer screen but there was someone there to help us through it which was a great help, although the check-in process was really straight forward.

Access to the hotel rooms is via the lift for which you need your keycard. The room was well presented and we heard no noise from any other rooms or the hallway.

Entertainment, lighting and blinds is controlled via a small tablet which was great fun. The bed was really comfortable, view wasn't great (onto wasteland) but not a problem. Room was quite warm even with the aircon working its hardest.

The room facilities were bare minimum - tv and hairdryer, small sink. There is no kettle or tea making facilities, no teaspoons or bottle opener (be creative . . .). There is a 24-hour bar / canteen on the first floor which we visited for our free cocktail, we didn't have anything else so can't comment on the food etc. there is a Sainsbury's round the corner if required.

Check-out took 2 minutes and was again very straight forward. All in all, this was a great hotel, great location and the price was very affordable. We'll be back here next time we're in Glasgow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeganABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,301
    1,359
    295
    109
    61
See reviews for
265
2,861
329
816
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is in a good location for central Glasgow and it's a short walk from Queen Street station. Initial impressions were good, the self check-in was easy and there was a staff member on hand to help. The hotel is pretty funky with lots of places to sit.
My room was really nice. It had a decent sized bathroom, brilliant shower (shower gel/shampoo provided) and the wash basin was in the main room. There was a hairdryer but no-where to store anything and no tea/coffee making facilities (although there is 24hr catering downstairs). I read in the room info that there are ironing facilities on every floor. The bed was massive and very comfortable.The TV was large and on the wall directly opposite the bed so you had to watch it in bed. There is mood lighting in the room which I really liked and a huge window with blinds.
Now, here's the catch. The entire room (lights, air conditioning, TV etc) is controlled by a Samsung tablet. This is a great idea....when it works. I had traveled a reasonable distance and was looking forward to watching a movie (there are free on demand movies). Well that didn't happen because the TV froze and then nothing worked. I called reception and was told it would be 40 minutes before someone could come up. Indeed the man came after 40 minutes and told me loads of people were having the same problem. He rebooted it and left. After I waited the required 5 minutes it still wouldn't work so I had to call again. Another man came and managed to get it working, but commented that it was very slow. I managed to get a movie on the TV after that but it was so late I never saw it all.
The next morning I had breakfast. This was ok, there are cold and hot options but the layout was very open plan. This was fine if you had company but if you were staying on your own (like I was) it was a bit awkward.
In conclusion, I would only stay here again if they could guarantee the tablet controlling the room would work. Given that I doubt this would be possible I'll go elsewhere next time. That's a shame but I do like to be able to watch TV when travelling alone.

Room Tip: Pray that your Samsung tablet is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzysparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Monday night the night I was taking my significant other to the Michael Buble concert. Superb bed was huge, and the TV had some good channels for coming in after a romantic night with a few wines if you catch my drift. The lights could be set to a colour of your choice aswell which added to the atmosphere. Great we hotel no hassle at all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I ALWAYS book Citizen M whilst I'm staying in Glasgow! It's in a perfect location to walk into the town for shoppin gand Sauchiehall Street. There are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.

The staff are always really friendly and helpful especially at the self check in!

The whole hotel is so funky and comfortable, the bed is massive and amazing!! The best nights sleep ever! Everything is controlled via a tablet in the room including lighting (You can change the colours), TV, Blinds etc.

There is just one chair and a wardrobe in the room with a small side table and the standard Citizen M Bunny!! WIth a normal addition of a plastic elephant too!!

There is a large shower room with amazing shower!! I've never ate breakfast in the hotel so I cannot comment on that.

I will be back as always :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayLeigh09102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

For us oldies anyway....
Everything to describe the place has already been said and is on the website - tablet driven, self check in, podlike bedrooms, so if you don't like the idea of this then don't go and complain about it after!
The thing that made it special for us were the staff. From Calum at check in to Joanna at the bar to the housekeeping lady in the lift, everyone was friendly, all happy to help with a cheery smile and time for a joke and a chat :)
Don't think I can add anything more of value other than this is somewhere I'd definitely go back to.

Room Tip: Stay top floor, you get a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Everything in this hotel seems to be run via technology, which starts at the reception. Unfortunately we arrived at a quiet time so the place was deserted and there were no signs to show where one was supposed to check in or how to do it. We eventually found someone to help and they were very efficient and pleasant but needing someone to help kind of defeats the object of the exercise.

Our room was on the top floor and as such had a great view but that was mostly ignored in favour of playing with the tablet that controlled the room. It's used for everything from lights, mood, blinds, temperature and entertainment. It wasn't that simple to fathom and some aspects seemed not to work properly. However, the free wifi was great.

The bed was very comfortable but being wedged between two walls, is not easy to get into when one is recovering from a broken leg as I currently am! The bathroom and wash basin were well designed although we could not find suitable socket for a shaver/electric toothbrush. There are however multiple electric sockets elsewhere for foreign visitors to plug in their electrical goods without an adaptor. There are no coffee/tea facilities or tumblers in room. We didn't mind but some people might.

We didn't eat in the hotel but had a drink in the decent bar and thought the lounge areas were very relaxing. The witty quotes on walls and elsewhere were also fun. The hotel is well situated for shopping and other attractions. If you park at a nearby car park, ask at reception for the ticket to be stamped for reduced costs.

Overall, a good hotel for the business person, not so much for family or romantic getaways.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Always stay here when on a night out in Glasgow. Hotel has everything needed for the casual 1 or 2 night stay. Although there's not a restaurant in the hotel they do provide food at all hours and the cooked breakfasts are fab. Love the design of the hotel and it's very central to the City Centre. Staff are great and are always helpful. Bar shuts at 2am :( . Rooms are small but adequate for a night or 2 and the bed is mahooosive :D. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
705 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,126 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,661 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: Corner of Hope Street 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing