We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was my first time to stay at a citizenM and the ultra-contemporary decor, layout, design and features were excellent. However, the amenities were somewhat lacking in that the rooms had no tea/coffee making facilities which may be acceptable in 5 star hotels (where room service and ALL service is second-to-none) but having to leave the room to get a cuppa is a downside, particularly when late at night, or catching-up on work between meetings. Another missing amenity was a conventional check-in desk....anything unconventional at check-in just causes delay, in this case no clear space to stand in line - sometimes trendy off-hand check-in means frustrated travellers unable to access their room! As a business traveller I welcomed the easy access to the internet, the free newspapers and some magazines and books, but as it was not possible to work in the room, (my 'double' room was really just big enough for sleeping) I welcomed being able to work in the guest lounge(s). It was quiet during my stay but the lounges would be difficult to work in at busier times, especially for private business phone conversations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,219
    1,309
    281
    102
    58
See reviews for
250
2,767
322
793
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I arrived late from a flight so checked in at 3am. Got to the room on the top floor and the bed was super comfy with cosy covers which is just what I needed after my flght.
I really liked the gadgets and the ability to put your case in the drawer under the bed.
Late check out was only £15 extra.
I think it was good value for money and I would defintely consider returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaDeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I feared this would be one of those clever trendy hotels with rude staff dressed in black or as I have stayed in elsewhere, people trying to do this 1984 thing in a cheap way.
But no this works! It works because the staff are utterly brilliant especially Max who gets gold stars and all.
It could all be annoying the little citizen things, and notes and quotes and the tablet for lighting and blinds and ac, but somehow it works. Especially the canteen which is a joy and has great selections of everything 24/7.
So my only comments would be, i) for a larger room a disabled room is what to ask for, but if I really was less abled then I would hate all the plugs being UNDER the table, the almost only non-modern thing - as nowadays everyone puts plugs at desk level, even the newly vamped Mercures do this.
ii) a sink outside the bathroom cubicle thing is rather annoying especially with no where to plug in toothbrush or shaver.
iii) there's nowhere to really sit and eat in super comfort.
Having said that these are small things. It's not the place to stay for old fashioned comfort, but it is great and fun, and I hope the others in the chain live up to this.Particularly suits Glasgow. oh and the extra £14.95 for late check out, is simply genius. (and the do not disturb sign is witty and stays on the door)

Room Tip: choose a disabled room for larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel on a few occasions. Most recent was when went to see Kings of Leon at the Hydro.

Self check in is a doddle literally takes a minute.

All the rooms in the hotel are the exact same, basic in terms of amenities, no tea and coffee but that doesn't really bother me as I never use them. The best thing about the hotel is the bed it is quite possibly the comfiest bed I've ever slept in, wish I could take it home with me.

Only downside from my last visit was they seem to have taken out the iPod docking station from the rooms, I usually like to listen to my own music while getting ready but couldn't.

Staff are really pleasant had a good chat with the guy at check in as he had the same taste in music as myself. Prices at bar are also reasonable and measure are decent.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Springfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I almost felt like I was crashing a college dormitory. The rooms are super small, but designed beautifully. They have LED lights over the shower and a little iPad that allows you to change the color according to your mood. So fun. Also, the little iPad controlled the blinds and shades -- very cool and fun. AND the bed was wall-to-wall, making me wish I was 20 again. The breakfast there was not to be missed -- espresso drinks, fresh everything -- very health-conscious and upscale. The staff was lovely. Smiling, helpful, and alert. I wish I'd stayed longer.

Room Tip: We didn't have a closet. If you need more space, I'd ask upfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Since arrival, everything was friendly.
Team is very professional, helpful, and kind. Full customer oriented.
When we left, we forgot at the room some documents.
In few hours I got an e mail saying that documents would be immediately forwarded to my personal adress.
Perfect
Many thanks to all citizenM team

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

CitizenM hotel Glasgow, had a great stay nice wee surprise getaway trip for me and my wife.
Hotel is in a great location and the hotel itself was great. Very clean, staff all very helpful and friendly, especially Max at the bar he was the kinda friendly, cheerful, upbeat kinda person that would make you want to return to the hotel, nothing was to much trouble.
Bed big,nice & comfy, room clean, shower excellent and the fun gizmo's were exactly that fun all in all 11 out 10.
Best fun visit to Glasgow I have had.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1314mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing