We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

From we arrived until we left everything was great, can't complain at all. The staff here are so welcoming and helpful. We got to our room it is a basic size room definitely enough for 2 people, the gadgets they had on tablet to control everything from your lighting to blinds and tv it really was a chilled out atmosphere especially the mood lighting for the room adjustable to any colour. We dined out for dinner and returned to hotel we relaxed on the comfortable seating area before a nice latte the girl that served us was so chatty and very pleasant. Breakfast was nice cooked breakfast and continental a good choice. I would definitely return I think this is a quirky and superb hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybean2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,305
    1,360
    295
    109
    61
See reviews for
265
2,864
330
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent central location on the corners of Hope and Renfrew Street, a short walk from the ‘style mile’ of Buchanan Street, one street removed from famous Sauchiehall Street and a stone’s throw from downtown, the Merchant City and a great ‘style on a budget’ concept.
The public spaces are funky, colourful, contemporary and fun. There’s a large lounge area on the first floor along with the bar and reception … and a really warm and friendly Glaswegian welcome awaits you.
The atmosphere is young, cool, chic and comfortable, the staff are smiley and fantastic and nothing is too much – printing, washing, directions, advice, etc.
The prices seem to vary from around £80 to £120 for the room, depending on when you book, and when almost every other ‘decent’ hotel in the area at the time was showing absurdly over-pricing during the Commonwealth Games period, the Citizen M was reasonable. That’s why I initially booked it.
Of course there is always a compromise involved with such great value … and … the rooms are really small!
It’s what I would call just about the acceptable side of ‘capsule’ living for a day or two … But only just.
The rooms are well designed – not because you feel comfortable there - but the space is used extremely efficiently. Apparently they are all designed the same.
The bed backs on to the window, it’s high and fills up the entire end of the room, so (for me) there’s an instant impression of claustrophobia. Immediately on walking in, you realise why there’s been so much effort put into the public spaces and making them attractive, interesting and great for hanging out – because most people given the choice would not want to spend any time in an environment that small
The tiny toilet / shower cubicle is one side of the room - and a miniscule wash basin / pedestal is opposite – reminiscent of bedsit living – which there’s nothing wrong with of course! There’s a small desk on the same side as the shower - you are literally a nose away from the way when you sit at it - and a small round bedside table is fixed in position the other side.
The tablet-controlled TV / entertainment system is really logical and easy to work, and you can also access functionality like climate control through this interface. Talking of climate control, the room never warmed up enough for me to feel comfortable even though I turned the temperature figures up to 25 …and it was like 30 degrees outside for the week I was there!
If you do want to watch the TV / screen properly, it doesn’t tilt, so you have to be sitting on the bed.
The room was light but that didn’t enhance the feeling of being very confined!
It’s great for someone with not much luggage for a night or two … but for me – with shed-loads of luggage and who likes being able to spread out and walk around – it’s not a good living space! (I had booked a double room, but I could not imagine two people being in that same space).
The WIFI was fantastically fast and there was no limits to the up / download data, so I was really happy with that.
I stayed a week which was far too long, and although I wasn’t in the room much, I can’t honestly say that I ‘enjoyed’ staying and shuffling my stuff around to try and keep it tidy.
When the morning came to leave, despite all the lovely friendly staff, nice bar, excellent 24 hour snack shop which did great sushi … and all the other positives … I was pleased to be out of there.
There’s nothing fundamentally wrong with the Citizen M Glasgow or the concept … and they have several other properties dotted around including Amsterdam Airport … but for anything other than a few hours airport sleepover … it’s not for me.
I had another job in Glasgow 10 days later where I was staying just one night … and even for that I booked somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

1. Great modern design. Wonderfully comfortable bed. Loved the tablet controls for everything.
2. Excellent soundproofing - couldn't hear any of my neighbours. Poor soundproofing is always a problem in less expensive hotels.
3. Buzzy bar and foyer areas. These are usually dismal and dead in most hotels but the bar/cafe was obviously the place to be here.
4. Very central. A block away from the bus station, right next door to the conservatoire, short walk from the Central Station.
5. Great price for a city centre hotel. You are paying for a quiet comfortable stylish bed in the city centre, not for flunkies, concierges, bell boys and all the bells and whistles of a 5 star hotel. If that's what you want, you have to stay elsewhere, and pay a lot more! That said, the staff who worked at the check-in desk and in the bar were great - friendly and very well trained.

Room Tip: I chose a 'courtyard' room for quietness but I think that the double glazing is good and I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galloping_grannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very trendy and nice entrance. Self service check in which was easy enough and very quick. We did check in nearly 2 hours before the advised check in which was fab. Drinks are rather expensive in the hotel. Rooms are tiny, we didn't actually have much time to play about with all the lights etc as were off to a gig then check out at 10am, I'm not sure if I would choose this place again due to the small size. Bed is massive and full length window gives great views over the rooftops of central Glasgow. The rooms were spotless but the two of us struggled to get ready in such a small space.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunhol74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

If you must have a large room with lots of things in it you never use (trouser press, tea and coffee facilities, standard lamps, armchair...) this isn't the hotel for you.
If you are happy with a modern, functional, well-designed room with touch screen blinds / TV/lights/music and a MASSIVE bed and walk-in shower (no bath) and some of the money saved on frippery spent instead on fantastic food, free wifi, a warm relaxing bar and lounge area then Citizen M is your bag.

I was staying for work and ate in the hotel nearly every night - choose from lovely array of antipasta or the hot dish of the day with trimmings - eg one day a lovely Sri Lankan curry, another a tasty Moroccan lamb dish.


This was the best food - and best value food - I've eaten in a UK hotel (£11.95 for the hot dish plus a drink). Not posh - but healthy and hearty like a home-cooked meal.

Breakfasts included
-Proper Fresh juices - eg Apple, Carrot and Ginger , Fresh Orange
-Full cooked options - fresh bacon (good quality with crispy fat!), omelette, black pudding, tomatoes. -Porridge.
-Toast + 3 types of jam/marmalade/honey
-Croissants including (full size) pains chocolat and lots of them so they never ran out
-Greek yoghurt
-Fresh fruit salad (lots of melon not all cheap Granny Smith apple like you get in some places)
-Berry coulis
-Choice of barista-made coffees eg latte, cappuccino


There's FREE WIFI everywhere too (very fast) -still astonishingly rare in hotels don't they know it's 2014?

And self service check in to boot.

Plus the friendly bar staff make excellent cocktails - and are often want to offer a couple of testers up for free..

Negatives
No ironing board in your room - but there is one on every floor in the end stairwell. Iron a bit cr@p.

Air con can't be turned right off - but can go v low to any temperature of your choice using touchscreen.

Not much storage space - I asked for more hangers as had 7 days of work shirts to hang.

Some colleagues said it was a bit noisy - I'm a light sleeper and slept fine up on the 7th floor. Ask for a room on the 6th or 7th floor and at the back for best night's sleep.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

As others have stated this is a different concept built around technology and it's neat when it works - but it didn't always. Unfortunately the same thought wasn't given to other basic expectations. Having the sink in the room not the bathroom - odd. Only real storage is a single large under bed drawer. 24 hour canteen is good but staff there need to up their game and stop posing. Ok for a one night stop - avoid for anything longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnDe65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in an upper level room, with views over the city centre and beyond.

A 3 night stay as an ideal base to spend a birthday weekend away with the wife.

The rooms are "different" with mood lighting, and glass walked bathroom.

Bed is massive ;)


I have to admit after the second night I got bored of the lack of space in the room, the lack of storage for luggage and personal belongings, and having to visit the Bar for a hot beverage due to lack of kettle in the room.

Apart from that, friendly staff, clean rooms - but very pricy for wha is a glorified Premier Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaggisCheif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
713 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,129 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,667 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: Corner of Hope Street 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing