We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Smallish rooms but really well done, loved using a tablet for curtains, lights and TV. Breakfast good but expensive. Staff really helpful and friendly. Central location and city is easily walkable. Would recommend and will look at their other hotels.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,219
    1,308
    281
    102
    58
See reviews for
250
2,767
321
793
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night over the Commonwealth Games, it is fairly centrally located, just around the corner from Buchannan Galleries and the main shopping district, it is 5-10 minute walk from Queen Street and Central Train Station, and less than five minutes from Buchannan Street underground station and Buchannan Bus Station - good location for anyone wanting to explore the city.

The hotel is self is very modern and a lot of emphasis is placed on technology, firstly check in and check out is self service operated but there are very friendly staff on hand to assist and explain all the relevant information about the hotel, so the personal touch is not lost.

The bedrooms are not huge but are adequate for a city break, the design is quite futuristic with a shower and toilet pod in the room, there is mood lighting in the room which is controlled by a tablet as is the TV/entertainment, blinds, room temperature etc - very easy to use. The bed is huge and we found it very comfortable and had a great nights sleep. The rooms also have free WIFI.

Our room was absolutely immaculate in terms of cleanliness, the flooring is solid rather than carpeted and the furniture is modern.

There is a self service 24/7 canteen, which again is very modern and well maintained in terms of appearance and cleanliness (its not your typical style clinical canteen) and this area also has a bar which serves drinks until 2am, on the evening we stayed there was also a DJ entertaining guests.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and this hotel has a really nice relaxed and inclusive vibe to it. The clientele were a mixture of professionals / couples and some families and everyone was friendly. If you are a people person and you like meeting and talking to people then this hotel would offer that type of social interaction.

The only slightly negative comment I would make is that there is little hanging space for clothes in the room, if you are heading to a black tie or formal type event and need clothes hanging space it may cause issues, but if you are looking for a place to stay for a casual city break it shouldn't cause any problems for you.

I would definitely stay in a Citizen M hotel again. If you are used to the Hilton / Marriott / Radisson type experience then Citizen M might not be your cup of tea but I would encourage you to give it a go as it offers a different experience, a one which I certainly would try again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlefrog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for almost 2 weeks during the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. Having stayed in the room most of the time, due to work, I feel that the rooms are adequate. The bed is really big and there's plenty of space for my partner and I.

The staff in the hotel were exceptionally friendly. The hotel also comes with a 24 hour eatery area where you can get food round the clock. If not, you're always welcomed to use the microwave for your own food.

As for the negatives, the hotel has no facilities. Not even their own laundry service. The lack of amenities really was a pity as it cost the hotel the extra star. Laundry was £12 a bag (small bag) if you want it collected on the same day, or £9 for collection the following day.

On a positive note, late checkout was rather cheap, £14. Also, checkin and check out is fully automated too because of the availability of the kiosks.

On the whole, I think the hotel is good and using the tablet to control the switches in the room is very cool, and a first for me. You can control the blinds, the curtains, the lights, the tele (to watch free movies, both normal and adult) and even the color of the lights in the bathroom.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank greckang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

A wonderfully modern hotel. The rooms aren't big, but are almost Japanese-like in style. All room controls including blinds, curtains, tv, temperature and lighting was controlled from a tablet. The lighting controls have full colour mixing, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the tv had a huge range of channels and movies. Free internet (surprisingly uncommon in UK hotels). The one and only downside I could find was there were no tea and coffee facilities in the room.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

From we arrived until we left everything was great, can't complain at all. The staff here are so welcoming and helpful. We got to our room it is a basic size room definitely enough for 2 people, the gadgets they had on tablet to control everything from your lighting to blinds and tv it really was a chilled out atmosphere especially the mood lighting for the room adjustable to any colour. We dined out for dinner and returned to hotel we relaxed on the comfortable seating area before a nice latte the girl that served us was so chatty and very pleasant. Breakfast was nice cooked breakfast and continental a good choice. I would definitely return I think this is a quirky and superb hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybean2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent central location on the corners of Hope and Renfrew Street, a short walk from the ‘style mile’ of Buchanan Street, one street removed from famous Sauchiehall Street and a stone’s throw from downtown, the Merchant City and a great ‘style on a budget’ concept.
The public spaces are funky, colourful, contemporary and fun. There’s a large lounge area on the first floor along with the bar and reception … and a really warm and friendly Glaswegian welcome awaits you.
The atmosphere is young, cool, chic and comfortable, the staff are smiley and fantastic and nothing is too much – printing, washing, directions, advice, etc.
The prices seem to vary from around £80 to £120 for the room, depending on when you book, and when almost every other ‘decent’ hotel in the area at the time was showing absurdly over-pricing during the Commonwealth Games period, the Citizen M was reasonable. That’s why I initially booked it.
Of course there is always a compromise involved with such great value … and … the rooms are really small!
It’s what I would call just about the acceptable side of ‘capsule’ living for a day or two … But only just.
The rooms are well designed – not because you feel comfortable there - but the space is used extremely efficiently. Apparently they are all designed the same.
The bed backs on to the window, it’s high and fills up the entire end of the room, so (for me) there’s an instant impression of claustrophobia. Immediately on walking in, you realise why there’s been so much effort put into the public spaces and making them attractive, interesting and great for hanging out – because most people given the choice would not want to spend any time in an environment that small
The tiny toilet / shower cubicle is one side of the room - and a miniscule wash basin / pedestal is opposite – reminiscent of bedsit living – which there’s nothing wrong with of course! There’s a small desk on the same side as the shower - you are literally a nose away from the way when you sit at it - and a small round bedside table is fixed in position the other side.
The tablet-controlled TV / entertainment system is really logical and easy to work, and you can also access functionality like climate control through this interface. Talking of climate control, the room never warmed up enough for me to feel comfortable even though I turned the temperature figures up to 25 …and it was like 30 degrees outside for the week I was there!
If you do want to watch the TV / screen properly, it doesn’t tilt, so you have to be sitting on the bed.
The room was light but that didn’t enhance the feeling of being very confined!
It’s great for someone with not much luggage for a night or two … but for me – with shed-loads of luggage and who likes being able to spread out and walk around – it’s not a good living space! (I had booked a double room, but I could not imagine two people being in that same space).
The WIFI was fantastically fast and there was no limits to the up / download data, so I was really happy with that.
I stayed a week which was far too long, and although I wasn’t in the room much, I can’t honestly say that I ‘enjoyed’ staying and shuffling my stuff around to try and keep it tidy.
When the morning came to leave, despite all the lovely friendly staff, nice bar, excellent 24 hour snack shop which did great sushi … and all the other positives … I was pleased to be out of there.
There’s nothing fundamentally wrong with the Citizen M Glasgow or the concept … and they have several other properties dotted around including Amsterdam Airport … but for anything other than a few hours airport sleepover … it’s not for me.
I had another job in Glasgow 10 days later where I was staying just one night … and even for that I booked somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

1. Great modern design. Wonderfully comfortable bed. Loved the tablet controls for everything.
2. Excellent soundproofing - couldn't hear any of my neighbours. Poor soundproofing is always a problem in less expensive hotels.
3. Buzzy bar and foyer areas. These are usually dismal and dead in most hotels but the bar/cafe was obviously the place to be here.
4. Very central. A block away from the bus station, right next door to the conservatoire, short walk from the Central Station.
5. Great price for a city centre hotel. You are paying for a quiet comfortable stylish bed in the city centre, not for flunkies, concierges, bell boys and all the bells and whistles of a 5 star hotel. If that's what you want, you have to stay elsewhere, and pay a lot more! That said, the staff who worked at the check-in desk and in the bar were great - friendly and very well trained.

Room Tip: I chose a 'courtyard' room for quietness but I think that the double glazing is good and I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galloping_grannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing