We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, Modern. Ok for short stays”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small, Modern. Ok for short stays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Small box room with a large bed. Free wifi. Don't be fooled by the free movies as there is a shockingly poor selection. The room remote is highly tempramental.
A good hotel for a night or two, and ideal if you have plans for the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert1994_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,187
    1,294
    281
    101
    58
See reviews for
249
2,736
319
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I are in our 30's. We travel a lot, normally opting for high-end / 5-star hotels. On this particular visit to Glasgow we had to be in town for a family wedding - which happened to overlap with the Sunday of the last weekend of the Commonwealth Games. Needless to say, reservations were difficult to come by and rates were through the roof. As we were not going to be spending much time in our hotel room, we felt the CitizenM was a good fit for this trip.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly female member of the hotel team. The hotel has a fun vibe to it - both a quirky design and colors. Self check-in was very easy. The roof was exactly what we expected - small, but efficient. The King bed was super comfy...and the rain shower and large fluffy towels made for a good experience. The room is tight - but it has everything you need. The Samsung remote was a unique addition. The only issue we had with the remote was the lighting...getting the right lights to come on was a challenge at times.

Staff were helpful. It was quite rainy over the weekend we were there, and we were offered large umbrellas to use for our walk through the city. We stopped and had drinks at the hotel bar on the Saturday evening...as there was live music, free food and drinks in the spirit of the Commonwealth Games wrapping-up.

Check-out was quick. It took just a few moments. You keep the room cards, as they are designed to become ID tags for your luggage - very creative. We had a bit of time on our last day to tour around town, so staff stored our luggage until we returned.

A special thanks to John the security guard...very personable and friendly.

CitizenM met our needs for this trip. 5-star no, but trendy and efficient.

Room Tip: Higher floor, away from the main street. Weekends can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is exactly what it says on the tin, very, very modern in design yet maintains all the comforts that you expect of a good 4 Star Hotel in a UK City. Check in is seamless and interesting (all on computer) and the rooms are sylish and cool. Communal Areas are well decorated with plenty of seating (at least they look like chairs!). We didnt try the food but all well presented and colourful. Great Hotel and excellent value will be revisiting soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wicksy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay at citizenM during my time in Glasgow.

The room we had was fairly small, with a bizarre illuminated shower (you can change the light colour from serene green to psycho red if you want to add drama to your bathroom routine), an extremely comfortable and sizeable double bed and a nice sized television with digital channels and some free films on offer (although, it seemed, only for 1 night?). The view wasn't exceptional, but you can't have it all.

The striking decor sets this apart from many of the cookie-cut, generic hotels, although I imagine it will divide opinion. Staff are friendly and helpful, although it's possible to do everything including checking in/out without ever having to speak to anyone.

The biggest surprise was the absence of any kettle/coffee/tea! I've been to many places, and every single room I've ever stayed in, from budget hotels to overpriced luxury hotels, have had 2 mugs, a kettle and coffee/tea. Whilst it may seem like a small thing to be picky over, I found we really noticed it - so much so that we bought a cheap kettle and some coffee just for the trip! I don't know of this was just our room - if not, citizenM you should sort it out!

There are events hosted on the 1st floor, such as live music in the evening, which is a really nice opportunity for tourists to relax after a day of traipsing around Glasgow but still be entertained.

The location is fantastic; far enough away from the bars and restaurants to avoid the drunken rabble on a Saturday night, but around a 10 minute's walk from George Square with plenty of bus stops nearby.

Overall a nice, comfortable stay in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

First stayed at this hotel years ago when it first opened, and have been back a number of times since. However, last time was a couple of years ago, so were slightly nervous that it may be looking tired. Could not have been more wrong. It still sparkles and hits you full in the face with its bold colours and quirky ness! It felt as well kept as ever, the staff were as enthusiastic as ever, and everything worked.

The rooms were still as funky as ever and the bed very comfortable. The addition of the Samsung Galaxy control pads for all the room functions brings it all right up to date. Still couldn't resist playing with the lighting controls!

The bar was perfect for a pre-dinner drink and again for breakfast which had a good range of options and plenty of fresh ingredients.

At the price we paid for a Sunday night, this is a great value city centre stopover and one that feels different, quirky and memorable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all the same, just city or courtyard views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteadyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at the CitizenM Glasgow last week (for 7 consecutive nights),
Travelled by myself for work.

The arrival check in process was a bit hit and miss. Arrived late in the evening and arrived at the hotel 11:30pm and it was raining. The hotel was located on Renfrew Street (*** Take note is not Renfield Street which runs perpendicular to it just nearby) The location was very good which is just 3 minutes walk from the Buchanan Bus station which is accessible by Airport Bus 500 (GBP 6 single, GBP 8.5 open return). However in the middle of the night it was not so easy to find. The hotel is located about 5-7 minutes walk from Buchanan Street which is the city center and shopping district.

Check in was okay. Supposed to have automated self-serve check in process but they did not have my last name entered correctly (booked on a hotel booking website) so needed manual help from the staff.

Rooms were quite small, and smaller than expected from the website photos. The decor was good all right, though. Expect and long-ish narrow room a width of a large queen mattress. There was still enough room near the door to place a large suitcase and open it. Though during the daytime it needed to stay closed. Amenities included a small single seat stylish chair, and a very narrow bench as a desk. The sink was the side of the room just few steps into the doorway. Opposite was a glass partitioned area for toilet and shower. Got nice toilet (duravit) and rainshower / regular showerhead (hansgrohe). The room floors and toilet and shower area were very clean.

The room's functions were controlled by a samsung tablet, which at times were hit an miss. The tablet controlled the lighting (including mood lighting of different colors for the shower and toilet area, the TV (on a wall on one side of the bed), the louvre blinds for the window (mechanized) as well as the opaque blind for blocking out light (also mechanized). It also controlled the wake up alarms. Why I said hit and miss was that the tablet often refused to turn on the TV, having me to resort to randomly pressing TV channels, the mute button or even resetting the tablet to have it respond. Turning off lights at night was also rather not straight forward, probably oweing to bugs in the software.

The room was quite well furnished and clean. However be expected to hear some walking around and footsteps of the inhabitants above. On weekends / friday there was quite a bit of activity going on till late at night as the hotel probably catered for the younger traveller.

Breakfast and meals were provided by the single cocktail bar / buffet area. This was open 24 hours, and anyone could just pop in. Breakfast (at time of writing ) was GBP 8.95, and one need not reserve breakfast every day. Just when needed could inform the staff to place the order the day before. Ordering the buffet breakfast on the same morning was more expensive by ? around GBP 2.

Food selection was reasonable. Quality of coffee was actually to be commended. It was a proper coffee machine and their choice of beans was good. Cold selection include variety of croissants and danishes, fresh fruit eg banana, cereals, yoghurt and berry compote. Hot foods included sausages, beans, pancakes, omelette, toast etc.

Nearby there is a large Marks and Spencer for your usual shopping and it includes a large supermarket. Nearby there are several pubs and restaurants as well. Shopping district is around 5-7 mins walking distance.

Check out was quite smooth. Not much fault there.

Room Tip: 6th floor just higher than rooftops of buildings across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariMekkoMekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Ok boutique hotel means small pod like rooms ...
Modern touch everything is controlled by a Samsung Tablet which includes the tv films , air con , lights and different moods , blinds very clever yes ?? Well the system was down so nothing worked although the lights and blinds had a manual switch luckily.
Found the rooms very noisy as they are small and everyone slams their doors.
Breakfast buffet a bargain at £8.95 yeah ..it was all cold I mean the " cooked breakfast " was cold.. I had a bit of stomach upset so will complain to foods standards agency to test the food.
Overall a most horrible stay for me , never again and I really really regret booking here

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank n4dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing