We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Funky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Funky, clean, convinient and really reasonably priced.
For one person or couple the rooms are perfect. For friends sharing not really recomended.
Really enjoyed staying at Citizen M.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CUt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,187
    1,294
    281
    101
    58
See reviews for
249
2,736
319
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Sleek, modern and groovy. I had a large corner room and really liked the concept for a city beak. Everything was self explanatory and easy to use. It was a very comfortable and fun stay!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridieBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Thank you CitizenM for a great stay. I was welcomed into a cool, hip hotel by great staff.
Nothing was too much trouble. The 24 hour cafe, room, huge selection of films etc. all wonderful. I cannot wait to stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed in CitizenM last weekend for 2 nights. The hotel is very very different to any hotel I've stayed in before and is brilliantly located in Central Glasgow. The foyer is bright and modern and very welcoming with big comfortable sofas, books to read, internet access all to hand, should you have to wait to do self check-in. Very relaxed, very friendly and very helpful staff are on hand to help with the multitude of hi-tech gadgets that are everywhere, including the bedroom. And what a bedroom we had - a capsule bathroom to one side, with frosted glass sides which changed colour on the press of a button to enhance the mood! Also changing on the press of a button were the curtains, blinds, tv etc. We had the most enomously comfortable bed I've ever slept on. I'd imagine getting on to it could present a bit of a struggle for older folk as access is from the end of the bed! My daughters visited and we all lay across the bed comfortably to watch tv! Breakfast was a bit chaotic because the hotel was so full so the following morning we went across to John Lewis and ate there. Overall a great experience and, at the price, very good value for money indeed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linney710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

Okay positives first. It’s central, it’s cheap and it’s clean. Wife and I went for her birthday parked opposite Glasgow Caledonian Hotel behind Park Inn about 5 minutes walk as hotel has no parking. The entrance at street level is cold and you are faced by a lift up to the first floor to check in at a computer. There are staff there to help but no " Welcome to the hotel here are the facilities etc etc. I felt it was a bit like being processed in Tesco and quite a cold experience. The hotel decor is modern and plays on the modern traveller concept but ultimately the hotel is cold especially the bar which was neither inviting nor comfortable. Unfortunately it is a brand concept hotel but surely there could be some sort of Scottish or Glasgow influence in the decor whilst still keeping the modern theme. The room was a shock as it was very claustrophobic especially when the shutters were down. The room is small but does make good use of the space - excellent shower, bed and TV. Checkout was again a poor experience with nobody on hand to ask if we enjoyed our stay and everything was okay. After all that I would stay again for convenience and cleanliness but I imagine due to the staff or lack off it would be a lonely stay if you stayed more than one night. The novelty of the technology and concept quickly wears off

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theayrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelexpertAmsterdam, social media citizen at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Hi “rossarmour”,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and on Trip Advisor.

citizenM Glasgow is our third property, the first outside Amsterdam and is operating in its first month. Our award-winning concept brings an innovation which you can’t find in any other hotel in the world. Just opened its doors, we are very happy with the satisfaction and feedback received so far. We understand citizens have different needs and expectations, we won’t get the smile of all at the end of the stay, although we do our best trying to achieve that. It may not be the capital, but Glasgow is Scotland’s biggest, brashest and most buzzing city in the UK, we are happy to be here.

The citizenM room has the maximum functionality in only 14 sq meter space, reflected in the affordable price we offer. We believe in a comfy XL king-size bed covered with luxurious Frette linen, power rain shower, free wifi, free movies on demand and many other little surprises.

We have discounted rates in the car parks at Buchanan Galleries and Concert square, both a 2 minute walk from citizenM.

As you can read on other reviews, Ambassadors are genuinely eager in assisting all guests, from helping to check-in at the kiosk, recommend places to go in the city, to prepare a fantastic coffee or cocktail. They are the face of citizenM and our most important asset. I apologize in their behalf if we didn’t leave up to your expectations, the cold experience you had is not what we want you to feel.

I hope I’ll see you again at citizenM so that you experience our true hospitality.

Safe travels.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Great location for an overnight in the city centre. Super friendly and efficient staff - check in / out a breeze .Have stayed in a few city centre hotels but none to rival this one. Ultra modern if a bit gadgety.Rooms a bit on the small side but this is more than made up for by the worlds biggest bed and a clever gismo which appears to control the function of everything in the room . Ideal hotel in every way - will definitely use it again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foolme69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

CitizenM came up as a good deal on Laterooms. I cross checked it with Tripadvisor and its own website and it looked great. Brand new and in the very centre of Glasgow, 4 star and under £100 – how could we not try it?
Laterooms were showing one double room for £79 but the hotels website had a better deal. There is one rate for paying up front, another for paying on check-out and another for a flexible stay (where dates can be changed). Our date was fixed so we opted for the cheapest ‘pay-as-you-book’ option.
We know Glasgow well and stay there a bit. We’ve tried quite a few great places and some not so great and the look of this hotel intrigued us.
On arrival we were met by 2 very friendly staff who assisted us with the self-service check-in pods. A quick set of pages later we had our electronic pass keys and our 7th floor city-view room. We wandered around the foyer area for a bit taking in the cool contemporary design of the lounges, bar and cafeteria then headed up to our room.
And what a cool wee space it was. Beautifully and ergonomically designed to maximise space. The huge bed takes up the entire end of the room and we set about using the remote pad to open the blinds. As we did so, the light poured in and the city appeared laid out before us. The shower and loo are set in a frosted glass cubicle and the entire room is fitted with white and natural wood. It’s small but not pokey and very user friendly.
Yes, we used the funky light pad to change the ‘mood’ of the room and yes, we tried the massive ‘rain’ shower before heading out for the evening.....
On our return, the night view of Glasgow from our room was magnificent. The bed was incredibly comfy (cant emphasise enough just how comfy) and the double glazed window kept out the noises of the city. The room was very warm (even though we had turned the heating down) and the air conditioning never completely makes up for fresh air – but these are minor points in an otherwise well thought out hospitality plan.
On check-out, another helpful staff member assisted us with the terminal and gave us our pass keys as luggage tags. These tags can be used in future as door keys when we stay at other CitizenM hotels or revisit Glasgow.
a new way of offering comfort and luxury at very affordable prices.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing