We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect,comfy,and great in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
buckie
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“perfect,comfy,and great in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

we stayed at the citizenM for 2night and enjoyed every minute.
the rooms were nice ,comfy,modern.staff helpful.
citizenm comes with added perks such as free wi fi and movies
affordable rooms and great quality for the money you pay and a location that is ideal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbobBuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,148
    1,276
    279
    100
    58
See reviews for
244
2,698
316
776
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Although this hotel offers a minimal approach to accommodation, it does it in a funky and modern way that is hard not to love!! My husband and I stayed here for one night and it was a bargain!! We stayed on the 6th floor with amazing views across Glasgow. The bed is so comfy and I loved the mood pad! We had some initial problems with our 'mood pad' but the management team were onto it immediately with a complimentary cocktail while the problem was sorted. The bar area is great with a wide selection of food and drinks. The decor and atmosphere is modern with a great vibe!!! I will be back....!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVEL037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Well - it's not like any other hotel that you've ever stayed before. It's very stylish (a bit like a funky nightclub throughout - but without the music), with great public 'lounging' areas. Almost everything is automated (eg: you check in using a computer terminal), so there's only a skeleton staff. It's also the cleanest hotel I've ever seen (although it had only been open for a couple of months when I visited). It was cheap and great for a solo traveller. But... the rooms, although impeccably cool are very small. There's a HUGE bed the width of the room (2m) - but that's pretty much it. The shower and toilet are in a frosted glass pod (with a narrow gap down the side of the door by the toilet - what's that about?). It's pretty opaque, but not everybody will be comfortable with that. It's probably not intolerable though. There is nothing there that doesn't have to be, and even the desk lights are built into the (tiny) tables - but it all oozes quality (and will, as long as it stays immaculate).
The much touted 'mood pad' remote control for controlling everything from the TV to the temperature and colour of the lighting is something of a mixed blessing. In my experience it was flaky and unintuitive, although by my second day I had just about got the hang of it. Overall, it's a cheap (but not cheap-looking), fun place to stay and the small rooms don't really matter because of the cool, uncrowded public spaces. If the prices go up by a lot, I may reconsider, but it's definitely the way of the future. Oh - and a large G&T in their achingly stylish bar area was six quid, which I didn't think was too bad.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyFirang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

...this is what it would look like.

Fun, funky, hi-tech, but ultra-comfy and sophisticated at a reasonable price.

Near everything, and especially the Bus Station and School of Art if you are a CRM fan. Excellent bed and TV with fun Moonpad controls for everything.

The sink is a bit snallish, but fits with the overall concept. And the whole pod for the w/c concept works bettter than you might expect from some of the negative comments here. The wall is opaque and you can light it in any color--or none. The door closes. You do have privacy, and a large, very good shower.

I hope they build more of these soon in other cities, and wonder if this is where NCL got the idea for their Studio spaces on the new Epic ultra-cruise liner?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monaco98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

What a breath of fresh air this hotel was in so many ways. As a new property, everything gleams and all the technology is state-of-the-art. Multi-room lobby space with modern furniture, cool art books to page through, IMacs to play with and, at one end, a bar/cafe/food shop with pre-made salads and sandwiches and a full bar (I'd QUICKLY add a Scottish ale to the current Heineken/Fosters draft beer lineup). Touch screen terminals for check-in/check-out, which seemed intimidating from afar but were simple to use and staff was always nearby to lend a hand- -and wonderful, well-trained and friendly staff too- -they were a joy. The room is indeed tiny, but doesn't feel so as it handles the basics well- --huge bed with great pillows and a duvet - - nothing tucked in so you can lie at any angle that suits- -bed right in the window with remote that controls shades (a slightly tricky remote that also handles lighting and the tv and can be used to create multiple "moods" accompanied by rainbow of lighting choices from fixtures in the bathroom "part" of the room- -bathroom again small but with great fixtures especially overhead "rain shower" that you never want to leave. This is a great value hotel that doesn't feel like one because they get all the essentials just right- -friendly service, comfortable bed, great shower, funky atmosphere. Only folks I would warn off are those who require something staid and traditional - - CitizenM would be jarring for them. Everyone else - - prepare for an adventure!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Having stayed in many a hotel in Glasgow, I cannot recommend CitizenM enough. It is absolutely perfect if you're going on a night out, or a days busy shopping. The rooms are small yes, but they are £50 a night. That is the same as the Travellodge on Hill Street (and that place is disgusting!) Rooms are compact and very modern, the bed is so comfortable you might not want to leave. The whole experience is like going on a space mission. It's fantastic. In response to the only one towel comment, if the person had looked in the drawers under the bed, they would have seen there was a whole host of linen and towels. I am guessing they don't hang it up so to not ruin the 'simplicity' of the room. When choosing your room make sure to get one not facing Renfrew Street, especially at the weekends as this is the chosen route for the boy racers!

We had a brilliant stay, so much so, we are returning for two nights in December. You really can't get better value for money in Glasgow!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julz_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

I took a chance and stayed here with my 78yr old mother. I was worried that she wouldn't be able to cope with the very modern decor and rooms but she loved it! We arrived just a few minutes before check in was allowed so waited a bit to check in, but were among the first and were able to select a room on the 7th floor with a view over the city.

The rooms are small so it was a bit of a challenge for us to share the room and a bed (no twins) but we managed. We both got a kick out of the lighting choices and being able to control the room from a remote.

In spite of the small room, the shower was spacious and one of the best we encountered. Choosing from the citizenAM or citizenPM body wash was tough.

The price was about 1/2 of the next least expensive room in Glasgow, walk from the Buchanan bus station was about 3 minutes and we were located right in the midst of tons of touristy things to do and shops.

There seemed to be more young people that older ones staying here, but we didn't feel out of place at all.

Would stay at a citizenM anytime I find one.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing