We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Rooms, but with all the Bells and Whistles - Great Value”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Bluewater, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small Rooms, but with all the Bells and Whistles – Great Value”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

When we arrived our rooms weren’t ready, but the staff were very courteous and helpful, bringing us tea and coffee while we waited, and then helped us with the check-in.
The rooms are small, but are new, very clean and have all the comforts you would ever need. We felt like 2 peas in our pod!!
Very high tech. The remote control operates the blinds, temperature, lights (on/off, dimming, even changing the colour of the shower light) as well as the TV.
Bed is king size and very comfortable with built-in drawers underneath.
For a downtown location, this is excellent value. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,210
    1,305
    281
    102
    58
See reviews for
250
2,759
319
792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (933)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chessington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed at this very cool & sexy hotel in Glasgow.

Unfortunatley I was alone, but its a great place.

Rooms arent massive, but functional, huge bed with a fab shower, which has lovely gels and shampoos.

There is a large flat screen TV on the wall with free movies to suit all tastes.

Great public areas, cool bar, with the greatest of staff. The hotel was also quiet when it came to sleeping, i.e. no hooligans ;)

Highly recomended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCChessington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

stayed here for a couple of days in August. The hotel is the most futuristic that I've stayed in, there is no check in desk you sign in via a computer (there are people to help you) that gives you your room number and programs a room key for you. The process was very easy. The room is not very large but there is a very comfortable king size bed. There is not much storage room for clothing so plan on living out of your suitcase. The room is controlled by a high tech remote control that takes care of TV, lights, shades and temperature, I had to have someone come up to my room a couple of times to reset it but they had just opened the week before so will probably take some time to work out the system. One of the nice amenities in this hotel was free Movies. Overall I would suggest this hotel for the great price, location, bed, high tech rooms

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelxpertNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckie
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

we stayed at the citizenM for 2night and enjoyed every minute.
the rooms were nice ,comfy,modern.staff helpful.
citizenm comes with added perks such as free wi fi and movies
affordable rooms and great quality for the money you pay and a location that is ideal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbobBuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Although this hotel offers a minimal approach to accommodation, it does it in a funky and modern way that is hard not to love!! My husband and I stayed here for one night and it was a bargain!! We stayed on the 6th floor with amazing views across Glasgow. The bed is so comfy and I loved the mood pad! We had some initial problems with our 'mood pad' but the management team were onto it immediately with a complimentary cocktail while the problem was sorted. The bar area is great with a wide selection of food and drinks. The decor and atmosphere is modern with a great vibe!!! I will be back....!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVEL037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Well - it's not like any other hotel that you've ever stayed before. It's very stylish (a bit like a funky nightclub throughout - but without the music), with great public 'lounging' areas. Almost everything is automated (eg: you check in using a computer terminal), so there's only a skeleton staff. It's also the cleanest hotel I've ever seen (although it had only been open for a couple of months when I visited). It was cheap and great for a solo traveller. But... the rooms, although impeccably cool are very small. There's a HUGE bed the width of the room (2m) - but that's pretty much it. The shower and toilet are in a frosted glass pod (with a narrow gap down the side of the door by the toilet - what's that about?). It's pretty opaque, but not everybody will be comfortable with that. It's probably not intolerable though. There is nothing there that doesn't have to be, and even the desk lights are built into the (tiny) tables - but it all oozes quality (and will, as long as it stays immaculate).
The much touted 'mood pad' remote control for controlling everything from the TV to the temperature and colour of the lighting is something of a mixed blessing. In my experience it was flaky and unintuitive, although by my second day I had just about got the hang of it. Overall, it's a cheap (but not cheap-looking), fun place to stay and the small rooms don't really matter because of the cool, uncrowded public spaces. If the prices go up by a lot, I may reconsider, but it's definitely the way of the future. Oh - and a large G&T in their achingly stylish bar area was six quid, which I didn't think was too bad.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyFirang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

...this is what it would look like.

Fun, funky, hi-tech, but ultra-comfy and sophisticated at a reasonable price.

Near everything, and especially the Bus Station and School of Art if you are a CRM fan. Excellent bed and TV with fun Moonpad controls for everything.

The sink is a bit snallish, but fits with the overall concept. And the whole pod for the w/c concept works bettter than you might expect from some of the negative comments here. The wall is opaque and you can light it in any color--or none. The door closes. You do have privacy, and a large, very good shower.

I hope they build more of these soon in other cities, and wonder if this is where NCL got the idea for their Studio spaces on the new Epic ultra-cruise liner?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monaco98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing