We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

For our first stay at citizenM hotel we booked two rooms at the bargain price of £49.
Because we arrives around 8:30 off the sleeper, we had to leave our luggage until the check in time of 2:00, which seemed quite late and inflexible.
However, we were pleasantly surprised by the lounge area downstairs and the free use of the iMacs.
The check in process was fine and the staff were friendly and keen to help.
The room was smallish but well laid out, and was very comfortable. The bed was awesome and the addition of free wifi was great.
Next, the control of the whole room was the moodpad. We were quick to learn and it was very high tech and fun. On the other hand, there were some design faults as the television was very slow to respond and it was easy to inadvertently switch the lights on.
The shower was great and very nice, but some water leaked on the floor and the temperature would fluctuate from medium to hot occasionally.
The bed was comfortable and we settled down to a free film and great nights sleep. The checkout process was easy and once again the staff were chatty and a joy to be with.
CitizenM has a few minor and fixable problems, but it is a cheap and great value stay for a couple of nights, but no more.
We will be returning again!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajpv101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,253
    1,327
    288
    103
    61
See reviews for
253
2,805
322
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (937)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

If the Swedes and the Japanese designed a hotel it would end up like Citizen M. Small-but-cleverly formed rooms have a high-end feel without a high-end price. The bar area is superb but the thing that makes this place really stand out is the staff. I've never stayed ANYWHERE with such cheerful, helpful, genuinely friendly staff. And in a prime city centre location. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_up_north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Nice hotel in the far side of the city centre. Very smooth check-in i.e. no staff required although they were around if you neede help. All automated a la supermarket self-scan thingies. Room very very clean but small. Room was as wide a the bed. Very small bathroom but good shower and nice soap/shower gel. Good TV. Bit noisy in the corridors but not unusually so. Lighting etc a bit of a gimmick but hey, for £49 I'll be back! Nice bar with good drinks.

Very smooth check out too. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2010

All you need from an hotel. Comfortable beds, good shower, free films and very fast WiFi for free! It's quirky and fun, made all the better by a great staff. I'll stay here again if in Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Print20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Right in the heart of theatre land. Main shopping area and parking only a street away. Hotel also gives discount on the cambridge st car park. Staff were excellent. Rooms very quirky, my son of 13 loved it. An excellent choice of free movies. Can't fault this hotel on anything. If it just a 1 or 2 nite stay for exploring the city then this is the one.
I have one gripe citizen M, I couldn't have a small dutch beer as you do not have small glasses???!!!:)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feefeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

The hotel is beautiful, clean, functional, very comfortable and brilliant value for money. The staff are helpful and friendly.

The overall design concept is very well put together and every element has had good design applied to it (I liked the 'Do Not Disturb' signs for example, they say "don't come in, there's somebody naked in here")

The only things I didn't like were the plastic cutlery in the cafe and the plastic UHT milk pots for my cup of tea... but really that is nit-picking because although it was plastic disposable cutlery, it was well designed, chic looking plastic cutlery.

All in all, a very impressive hotel which was amazingly good value. Every city should have one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Great concept. Fab room with fun features - you can change the colour of the room lights with the TV remote.
Luxury bed, wonderful bathroom with power shower.
Nice bar making good cocktails.
Only disappointment was the lack of tea tray in the room - would like to make my own tea in the morning!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celiamargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
616 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,248 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,622 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing