We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Scottish fish and chips fish and chips”
Review of Jack Mcphee

Jack Mcphee
Ranked #1,066 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Oban, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Proper Scottish fish and chips fish and chips”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Came down from the islands for xmas shopping.We had been recommended to go to" Fresh from the sea to jack mcphee" at the top of hope street. Great experience.Proper fish, cooked to perfection. Delicious crispy batter proper chippy chips with a few crunchy bits. The staff were very attentive. Coming from the islands we know good fresh fish when we eat it.The prices are amazingly good value. The best in Scotland. I mean haddock and chips £5.95 fantastic.Do yourselve4s a favour go

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    12
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Soo hungry”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner had traveled up from Manchester and was very hungry, we was impressed with the Scottish pie :) fab chippy

Helpful?
Thank vicki1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Husband and I went for a wee jaunt to Glasgow today and ended up in Jack McPhees for lunch...Hubby had steak pie and chips and I had 1/2 pizza and chips...Got to say its the best chip shop food i have tasted in years....Was cooked to perfection and came to the table very quickly and piping hot....I am not a chip fan but these chips were to die for....We shall be returning for more on our next wee visit to Glasgow....Staff also very friendly and pleasant....30/08/2013

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fionawilkes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner @ Jack McPhee”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We ate twice here and found the food greasy (yes I know its a fish and chip bar)…….. the food was good, I would question hygiene as it looked as if it needed a good scrub. But we didn't fall ill so it must be OK. Would I eat here again? A resounding yes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank IBG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not like the Troon shop at all.”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Made a special trip to get a fish supper here, based on my good experiences at the Troon branch. Unfortunately, all they seem to have in common is the name. The place looks a bit grubby and cheaply fitted out. Probably because of its proximity to Sauciehall Street, you have to ask staff to unlock the toilet to gain access. As for the food, hmmmm..... The fish was quite nice and freshly cooked; but the chips were among the worst I have ever tasted. Not sure why, but they were hard as if reheated; or maybe it was poor quality potatoes. Whatever; they were RANK! I suggest the staff of the Troon branch give a lesson in chip cooking to their Glasgow colleagues.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandane62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack Mcphee also viewed

 
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Jack Mcphee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing