We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem”

Glasgow Police Museum
Ranked #37 of 272 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This small museum is well worth a visit, but it is a bit hard to find even though there is a direction sign on a nearby corner in the Merchant City area.
The most interesting part was the display on the history of the Glasgow police force, which was one of the first in the world. There are copies of some of the documents that led to its establishment, and lots of uniforms, badges, hats, truncheons and the like, including many uniforms and hats from other police forces around the world.
This museum appears to be manned by volunteers, who are very friendly and informative, and it's free but needs donations as it looks like it does not get much official support.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    79
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“unexpected find”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

had no idea this museum was there, only by chance did I see the brown tourist signs as I was walking through the city. the museum is small and is on the first floor. you have to press a buzzer to gain entry to the building, there's a lift if you need it. as you get to the museum door, I was greeted by a friendly older man, he said the museum closed at half 4 but I could have a look around. entry was free but they appreciate donations. the room was packed full of police uniforms from all over the world, it detailed individual cases and had great photos and memorabilia.it gave information about the first female police officers and the introduction of dogs to aid the police. im sure with more space available the museum would be able to fill it with very interesting things.i enjoyed it my visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kate870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
254 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A little gem of a museum”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We found this museum by chance and decided to try it. Entrance is free but they do ask for donations of £4. We were met by a police officer who gave us a brief overview and got us started at the right place. The museum is that of the Glasgow police prior to the founding of the Strathclyde police. A comprehensive history is given but the main attraction was the tales of various crimes and criminals. Fascinating and nothing to dislike.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MeridianManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting small museum”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a interesting museum which is about the size of a average flat. There is a lot of information and exhibits in a small space. It advises on there website to phone up before you visit to check opening times as its not always open. It is not the easiest place to find and from the outside it looks like a entrance to a block of flats. As per most Glasgow museums it is free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Anyone interested in the history of the police force should come here. O have no particular interest but I did enjoy my look round. I would recommend it to others but only after doing the more mainstream attractions.
Who knew that Scotland had a police force long before England's Peelers!
It is easy to miss the entrance, it is right next door to the blackfriers pub. You need to buzz to get in. The museum is manned be ex police who have an interest and knowledge. Have a chat and ask them for some stories.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank scottishpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glasgow Police Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glasgow Police Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing