We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Amazing Blast To The Past”

Scotland Street School Museum
Ranked #29 of 270 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Scotland Street School Museum, a working school until the late 1970s, hosts regular fun family events. It offers a fascinating insight as to what school days were like in the reign of Queen Victoria, during World War II, and in the 1950s and 60s, in three reconstructed classrooms. Architecturally significant, the school was designed by Scotland's most famous architect, Charles Rennie Mackintosh. His designs for the school are on display. Refreshments can be taken in the Willow Cafe.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Amazing Blast To The Past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

this Rene McIntosh school is amazing architecturally amazing and
so accurate everyone that has been educated in the last 50 yrs in Glasgow it will be like walking into your past.
the smells and a genuine "Strap" lol which brought lots of scary memories back Mrs Thomas ha ha

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank john B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotlandstreetschool, Administrator at Scotland Street School Museum, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear John B,

Many thanks for your very positive review of Scotland Street School Museum. The school was as you say, designed by the world renown architect and designer, Charles Rennie Mackintosh and opened in 1906. Thousands of children have passed through its doors until it closed as a school in 1979. Every year in September we have a reunion of former pupils and staff and have opened up the invitations to former pupils and staff from all of the schools in the local area.

A lot of visitors love how the smell of floor polish and carbolic soap reminds them of their old schools. We also encourage visitors to re-enact some of their memories of school life by interacting with our late Victorian, World War 2 and 1950-60’s classrooms.

We look forward to you returning to the museum for another visit in the near future.

Best regards

John Irwin
Administrator
Glasgow Museums
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    100
    31
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We didn't expect to like this so much. There were three reasons we did. Firstly it is a really good building and the layout and information is superb. Secondly the information about education and it's history was surprisingly powerful. Thirdly, there is a little TV in one of the rooms showing old black and white footage of children's street play which is completely fascinating. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roseandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brit traveller
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Architecture, history, experience, everything was very enjoyable. We did the tour with the Headmaster, who was very good and acted out his character well, we were well informed about Charles Rennie Macintosh, the architect and the concepts in his plans for the school, we learnt about the history of the school and the area as well as experiencing what the pupils would of at the time by taking part in activities, all this is free, just put a donation in the box at the end of your tour. I would highly recommend visiting Scotland street school.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank stazza10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting educational and a great family day out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Went here with my Daughter and Grandson. Really good wee day out and didn't break the bank either.
staff are very helful and friendly. Better than I thought it would be. :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ridlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good visit but what's happened to the cafe?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This is my third visit to the museum since moving to Scotland. Again an enjoyable visit with lots of interesting information. Always a different exhibitions on which have always been great. Very very disappointed though when we wanted to finish off our visit with a coffee to find the cafe has been replaced by vending machines. Come on Glasgow museums you can do better then that!!!! Very poor indeed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotland Street School Museum also viewed

 

Been to Scotland Street School Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing