We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happiest Days of your Life”

Scotland Street School Museum
Ranked #29 of 270 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Scotland Street School Museum, a working school until the late 1970s, hosts regular fun family events. It offers a fascinating insight as to what school days were like in the reign of Queen Victoria, during World War II, and in the 1950s and 60s, in three reconstructed classrooms. Architecturally significant, the school was designed by Scotland's most famous architect, Charles Rennie Mackintosh. His designs for the school are on display. Refreshments can be taken in the Willow Cafe.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Happiest Days of your Life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Scotland Street School is a stunning Charles Rennie Mackintosh building that's now a museum of education.

The surrounding area seems pretty bleak these days, but luckily the school is easy to access, with a big car park and Shields Road subway station just across the road.

Inside the school, you'll find recreations of classrooms from various eras, a beautiful light, airy "activities room" which looked to have been the gym in its heyday and information on the work and role of typical school employees such as teacher, headmaster and janitor.

There's a huge and beautiful cookery room, and many artefacts throughout the building which illustrate typical Glasgow life during the various eras represented (for example, the old fashioned wringer which would be used in the domestic science lessons and which strongly resembled one owned by my grandmother in the days before washing machines were the norm).

The tiled corridors, recreated cloakroom and contents of the 60s/70s classroom took me right back to my own primary school days!

Other attractions include an exhibition about Mackintosh and the design of the school. There's a shop where I got a beautiful Rennie Mackintosh calendar for a fraction of the price that I'd expect to pay anywhere else - and there's also a small cafe (although since my last visit in the 90s I notice that the cafe staff have now vanished and all snacks and drinks come solely from vending machines - a sign of the economic times, I guess).

Also perhaps a sign of the times is the fact that the playground at the back of the school (blocked off to visitors) looks pretty overgrown, which is a bit of a shame.

Museum staff were courteous and helpful: one of the classrooms appeared to be closed, but a passing member of staff opened it up for me and asked if I was enjoying my visit.

But of course, the real star is the building itself. Its beautiful staircase towers and windows are just stunning and, of course, there are the usual typical little Mackintosh details throughout.

I must have spent a good couple of hours exploring the building and thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia fest!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SonicScorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    100
    31
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fermanagh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We visited the museum with a group of friends. It was interesting to see the history of the school & how the area has changed but i found it hard to take it all in as there was sometimes a lot of written information & not a lot of direction as to how best to navigate each room meaning i seemed to either start at the end of the exhibit or get a bit lost in the middle & miss some pieces out. May just have been my lack of concentration so if you have any interest in museums,education & it's history aswel as children's games through the years you should go have a look.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank minnie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the state of this great wee school playground when getting photos taken at groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

been back again to see that a bigger disgrace for a museum my old school in wich i whent to paisley road to to see if Nicola sturgeon could help to get the parks dept to do a half shift there as it would not take long but ususal ministers all mouth as usual so now bein a great wee school to me when i was a kid I would like to set up a volunteer group to tackle the work in wich the big noise says that it would cost to much never mind all this red tape crap as thats how the place is in a state any one whant to do a days work clearing up our wee school as the council has heft it to die and yet spend millions in georges ssquare so i need any body that would like to give me a help you are more than welcome CALL ME ON 078347354699

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Attractive building, as Board schools go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh and opened in 1906, this was in use as a school up to the 1970s. It has since been opened as a museum for Glasgow schools as a way of preserving an important CRM building and giving free access to the public. In fact, the exterior is the most interesting part. The building is defined by the two projecting staircase bays, with their wonderful windows. Inside, the drill hall and tiled columns and corridors are the only things that make the building stand out from other board schools. In fact, CRM had difficulty keeping to the design brief and was often working from plans that differed from those he had presented. He had to make changes, and the board made others later. The displays of 20th century school history and of the CRM proposals are quite interesting, with the cookery classroom perhaps the most distinctive. Conveniently situated by a park-and-ride subway station.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I went with a group of friend to visit the Museum . We had a tour booked . The Head Master was brilliant we all got told off for being late . He first took us outside to tell us all about the history of the building which was built by Rennie Mackintosh . The tour inside made you think of how it would have been back in the day going to school . Very interesting . When we were taken around told and how they would have walked around the corridor the Head Master stopped to tell one of us off for walking on the wrong side and out came the strap . Next we all sat down in a classroom at the little desks . We had to do our times tables of course someone was put in the corner on a stool with the pointy hat on his head with a big D on it . We all enjoyed the tour a big thank you to the Head Master . A good place to visit .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cats68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotland Street School Museum also viewed

 

Been to Scotland Street School Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing