We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Stayed here for one night as a treat. Our room on 3rd floor was spacious, comfy bed and large bathroom spotless. Staff were friendly. Even though there were two weddings on our room was very quiet. Champagne bar was great place to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walker204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review on trip advisor.

We have 186 beautifully decorated bedrooms to offer guests, and I am so pleased you had time to enjoy Champagne Central.

I do hope you will return and enjoy another stay with us shortly, and thank you for your top score of 5.

Yours sincerely
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,823 - 3,829 of 4,078 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2011

We had one night in the Grand Central, Glasgow and we had a fantastic time. As a family of five we had to get two rooms. The hotel put an extra bed in one room which was to say the least, vast. Our room was somewhat smaller but still quite spacious. The hotel has recently been refurbished so everything was very clean and new, especially the bathrooms which again were very large.

The staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant and helped us to find a vegetarian restaurant (The one we chose, Stereo, was just round the corner from the hotel - great veggie food).

The hotel felt very grand and we had a great time. The windows overlooking the central railway station en route to the Champagne Bar evoked a lovely 1940's feel to it and the bar itself was very impressive. We will definitely be going back. on the down side there is no car parking so we had to park in the NCP car park a short distance away which cost £16 for the overnight stop.

This was our first stop on a four day trip and set the standard for the other hotels we were staying at. Unfortunately, although the others were slightly more expensive they were nowhere near as good. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marthasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed your experience with us at the Grand Central Hotel in the heart of Glasgow City. Our aim is to offer outstanding value and service to match; your comments are very encouraging.

The hotel has a partnership with NPC car parks and offers a reduced rate of £8 for 24 hours, a direct route from the car park into the train station, leading straight to the hotel entrance all undercover and convenient; I am disappointed that you were not made aware of this service during your stay.

I do hope you will reutrn to experience a little more of what the Grand Central can offer.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Stayed for two days on 18th April, we had a room on the third floor facing the station roof tops, incredibily peaceful. We never heard the disco, tannoy or any other noises fellow guests heard. However, we wouldn't have heard anything on Friday night as we were full of champagne from the lovely bar. Great service all weekend, from check in through to check out. The breakfast staff deserve a mention as do the bar staff actually everyone we spoke to to was more than happy to help and always with a smile. Even the two staff we got stuck in the lift with for 15 minutes!! We had our second nights sleep disturbed by the idiot setting off the fire alarm but hey ho ...there are idiots everywhere. I would recommend this hotel in terms of location, value for money, great service and happy friendly helpful staff. We will definately return and I've already recommended it to family and friends. The hotel was £59.00 per night including breakfast in a hotel that surpasses Malmaison standards .....a real bargain.

Room Tip: Champagne Bar followed by a superb Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lCumbrialor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thank you for your comments and top score of 5. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will be back to visit us again shortly.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

High ceilings, wide corridors, lovely furnishings and beautiful lights. This hotel was a pleasure to stay in from the minute we arrived. Our room was huge with a massive very comfortable bed and a lovely modern bathroom. The staff are outstanding, nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile and politeness.
The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and well cooked and the chef is happy to cook eggs to your liking or an omlette of your choice. The champagne bar is lovely, an excellent place to relax after a day out.
The location is perfect. There is an NCP very close by, from which you can get to the hotel via the station undercover and staying at the hotel you get a 50% discount....£8 for 24 hours.
Again just to mention the staff who were all fantastic. We will definately be going back for another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

How pleasing it is to hear that our highly motivated staff have left you with a great lasting impression, due to their politeness, and willingness to assist with a smile.

The Grand Central has been restored to its former glory and we are all very proud to be part of this new beginning; I am delighted that you have had an opportunity to experience a little of the Principal Hayley Way.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

It's a shame to give the Grand Central a poor review as the rooms, service and building are all superb. However, you simply will not sleep and it doesn't matter how nice anything else is that's surely the point of a hotel. It's location right on Central Station, next to loads of pubs and restaurants while sounding attractive makes it the noisiest location of any hotel I've ever stayed in. Bin lorries, drunks, sirens, random shouting and the odd fight....and that was a Tuesday. The secondary glazing is nowhere near good enough so no chance of keeping it quiet. Sorry Grand Central, lovely place.....just in the wrong place.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I have just returned home after spending a couple of days in Glasgow - staying at the Grand Central Hotel. From arrival to departure it was an excellent stay throughout. My room (116) was brilliant - one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in, beating other 'top named' Hotels hands down. I only ate breakfast there but it was exceptional. Such variety and cooked just right. EVERY single member of Staff I met was extremely courteous. I understand that this Hotel has just reopened after a £20m refurbishment – well you can see where the money went. Thank you very much – I WILL be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WENDILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

What a great accolade your review is!

Your appreciation of all that the Grand Central Hotel offers whilst staying with us is greatly appreciated.

I will pass your comments on to the team, as I am sure they also will be greatly encouraged.

A very warm welcome awaits you when you next visit Glasgow.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Stayed for three nights at this Hotel with my Husband, it was his birthday treat. All I can say is that the room was lovely and clean, we had no bother with noise once we closed the windows. I found the room to be very hot at night, the room could do with Air Con and a fridge. I must say the bed was very comfortable. I could not fault the staff, they were very friendly, helpful and professsional.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathymcd719pw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

I am delighted that you chose to share your Husband's Birthday with us at the Grand Central Hotel and that your Birthday Treat together was a memorable occasion.

Your comments cover many aspects of the hotel and are very encouraging, thank you for your valuable feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,366 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,078 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,509 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#17 of 93 in Glasgow
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £72 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing