We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic quirky hotel ... Amazing staff and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic quirky hotel ... Amazing staff and food.”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Just home from a weekend at the grand central hotel. Beautiful hotel with an abundance of character. Despite multi million pound refurb it has retained many if the wonderful original feature. The long corridors are a bit like the "Shining" which I found highly amusing! The bar and restataunt are tastefully decorated and food was amazing. Staff really helpful and down to earth. The wonderful chandelier's, baby grand pianos and huge function rooms add to the atmosphere of this hotel. Location fab as near shopping,bars,restaurants, and transport. Wee bit noise from central train station but I didn't find that a problem. Excellent value for money! Suitable for any age group :-)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jambogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Thank you for your great score of 5.

Your feedback is very encouraging and we feel the real success of the refurbishment has been to allow the Grand Central building to retain its original warmth and character and our staff have a real sense of pride working within this grand building.

Do come and stay with us again soon, as we would love to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    1,305
    564
    210
    134
See reviews for
406
1,693
173
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This is my second stay at this hotel this year. On my first visit I had a room facing the road where you didin't hear the annoying tanoy from the station. The rooms are big and spacious with a large bathroom. However the tv is annoying that it does take ages to change the channel and on both occasions I lost BBC.
I have just returned from my second stay and I had a room overlooking the station. The room was warm with no airconditioning and no fan in the room. If you left the window open you can here the anouncer until midnight then again from 7am.Breakfast was very busy this week with only a few staff working. Tables not being cleared and along wait for tea and coffee. Yes I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooty42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
I am delighted you returned to the Grand Central Hotel for a second time this year, and I do hope you enjoyed your time with us here in Glasgow.

I see from your comments, your allocated room loverlooked the station, I am sure you wil agree this is quite a unique way to watch the world go by.

Breakfast at times can be busy, espcially during peak times in the hotel, please accept my apologies for any delay you may have experienced on this occasion.

I do hope you will come and stay with us again soon, as we would love to welcome you back for another stay.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort william
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2011

got a fantastic deal through a late deals website for myself and 5 friends going away for one of our birthdays. called in advance to inform them of the birthday and after sending down decorations found the room decorated and chilled wine waiting for us all. rooms were fab with the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in. great size and very clean. yes there is street noise but what do you expect from a hotel in a train station with a busy taxi rank outside? if you want a quiet night, i would suggest booking a hotel in on the outskirts of the city. champagne bar was amazing. chilled out and relaxed with fantastic staff and cocktails to die for. reception staff were great on check in and check out. will be back when we are in the area for another girls weekend away

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whyte824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
I am delighted with your score of 5 - thank you.

We aim to give an outstanding experience here at the Grand Central Hotel and I note from your comments that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

Birthdays are always special occasions and I am delighted that we were able to make it just a little more special for you and your friends.

Iam sure your next visit on a girly weekend will be just as good, and a warm welcome from the Grand Central staff awaits you.

See you soon!

Yours sincerely
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This hotel is amazing.

The hotel has recently been renovated and it shows.

Our room was beautiful, roomy, with a large, bright bathroom.

The highlight is the cocktail bar, even if you are not staying in the hotel it is a must see. Just relax and let the atmosphere take over.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
I quite agree, the Grand Central Hotel is the place to be in Glasgow, and Champagne Central is proving to be a very popular place to enjoy your leisure time and a great asset to the hotel.

Out with the hotel, the transport links are such an advantage to guests, and bars, cafes, restaurants and shops all within easy walking distance, these are all great advantages when staying in a hotel.

The Grand Central Hotel offers a fantastic base for any leisure break or business meeting, with a choice of 21 beautiful meeting rooms.

A warm welcome awaits you on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Great location , great staff , hotel very clean had read previous reviews that said about the noise levels outside at night , glad to say we didn't hear a thing had a lovely stay will certainly be going back will be asking for room 265

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Another top score of 5 - that really is great to see.

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on the Grand Central Hotel following your recent stay. I do hope you will be visiting Glasgow again soon, as we would very much like to welcome you back to our fantastic hotel which as you mention is well worth a visit.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Good welcome, excellent rooms. Great service and comfy beds, what more could you ask!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Your top score of 5 is excellent, thank you.

What a great review, most uplifting and encouraging. Our aim is to provide an excellent service and I am delighted that tripadvisor readers will find them useful when deciding where to stay in Glasgow.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I can't say enough good things about our stay at the Grand Central Hotel. the location is fabulous, very close to great restaurants, shopping and attractions. After reading TA advice, we did request a quiet room which was graciously provided. all the staff very were very friendly and helpful. they seemed to really appreciate your business. The hotel has been recently renovated and the rooms were very comfortable and well equipped, and the bathrooms were large with a wonderful shower. Overall, we had a fantastic stay and look forward to returning later this month.

Room Tip: Requests can be made online in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidsonProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review and score of 5.

How pleasing it is to read your positive and pleasant comments, they are so encouraging. I am delighted that you have been left with such a positive impression of the hotel and I really look forward to welcoming you back at the end of the month for a return visit.

Yours sincerely
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing