We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed here for one night after a function and I must say we were more than happy with it, the room was lovely, clean and icredibly comfy, the bathroom was enormous breakfast was good, plenty choice and all nice and hot , all of the staff we dealt with were very helpful ,would recommend this hotel to anyone, good location , great staff , comfy rooms,couldn't ask for anymore

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brannagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for this 5 star review!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding the hotel, facilities and staff. Your comments are very much appreciated and I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,952)
There are newer reviews for Grand Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,542 - 3,548 of 3,952 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

Good hotel.service good. Plenty of women looking it

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for your comments.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed here for one night in September. We booked through booking.com . It was nice as a wee treat. The room was clean, a good size with a nice comfy bed but nothing special, have stayed in nicer. The location is excellent though. The bar, Champagne Central, is gorgeous but a little pricey but this is to be expected for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenD021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Many thanks for deciding to stay with us at the very central, Grand Central Hotel and thank you for taking the time to feed back.

We appreciate all of your comments and I do hope we can welcome you back. Next time, remember to check out our Trip Advisor page for 10% off and free breakfast or our Principal Hayley website for some great deals.

Yours sincerely

Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We went to glasgow for a concert, booked through laterooms (great price!) and didn't really put much thought to the hotel. But were very pleasantly surprised.. Lovely building, the dealings we had with the staff were efficient and couldn't have been more helpfull. We did read on trip advisor about noise from the station announcements, so brought earplugs, and turned the station announcements into a muffled reminder of a by-gone age when rail was THE way to travel.

We were on the 1st floor so looked right over the concorse, i loved the view. There were some repair works going on in the station at night but with the help of trusty earplugs, it wasn't a problem.

For all the people complaining about the noise... Its IN a train station. How quiet do you expect it to be?

Overall great hotel, would be back in a flash. Just take ear plugs if your a light sleeper!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for posting your positive review on Tripadvisor and for your excellent score of 5!

Due to the nature of our building and the very location in the heart of Glasgow City Centre, noise levels at times can be an issue. A very positive side to our location is the great range of shops, restaurants and bars all within easy walking distance of the Hotel.

Customer feedback is very important to us and it is always pleasing to receive positive comments. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Grand Central Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My daughter had her wedding party here. Everything was wonderful, the staff, the rooms, the buffet. Excellent breakfast and really central for everything. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppykirkintilloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for this super 5 star review!

Thank you also for taking the time to post your comments regarding both the hotel, facilities and staff. Your comments are very much appreciated and I am delighted that you had a such an enjoyable stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The hotel is practically part of the Central Train Station Glasgow making it incredibly easy to locate and travel too.
From Glasgow airport its as easy to get a taxi to Paisley Gilmour Street train station [10 mins] and the very regular train right into Central Station.
Reception was very helpful, the room was ideal, the breakfast, buffet style was fast and very fresh, The cook kept us amused with his recommendation.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rftu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding both the hotel, facilities and staff. Your comments are very much appreciated and I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here one sunday night with my parents and 6 yr old son. We had a lovely train journey from Newcastle, and the hotel is metres from the platform with an entrance in the station. The reception staff were brilliant, as were all the staff we encountered, truly professional but friendly with it. We had two rooms on the 2nd floor, one double overlooking the station concourse, and one twin looking out onto the street. My parents had the station side room and were not disturbed at all by the announcements, in fact they rather like it. The rooms are enormous, huge high ceilings, lovely comfy beds, flat screen tvs and very clean. The decor is nice although our carpet looked a bit worn. The bathroom was adequate, my only complaint was that there was nowhere in the shower to put your bottles so you had to put them on the floor, not a problem for us but for less flexible people it could be an issue or if you wanted a shower without washing your hair. The public areas were truly stunning, the staircase with the huge chandelier was particularly breathtaking. Best hotel corridors I've ever seen! We ate in the Tempus restaurant that night which was really good, we had an inclusive deal and what was particularly impressive was that the included wine was a really good bottle, not just the house wine as you would expect. The food was delicious, and they were really good to my son, cooking him something off menu as he didn't fancy anything from the set menu. Breakfast was good although not as good as dinner. Service was as good as the rest of the stay but the food is buffet style and not the best cooked breakfast I've ever eaten. I would have preferred to see top quality local produce rather than mass market stuff. All in all we were very impressed by our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemmaK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

An excellent top 5 score- Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel.

The Grand Central Hotel is undoubtedly something to be very proud of and this is quite naturally portrayed by our members of staff. The hotel has recently undergone a £20 million refurbishment, restoring the hotel back to its original charm.

I am very pleased both you and your parents enjoyed your experience here with us, and I will share your feedback with our Restaurant Manager & Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,328 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,198 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 93 in Glasgow
1,034 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £79 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing