We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I booked a room for 2 nights at short notice and got a good value deal. The hotel was immaculate and the reception very good. I was offered an executive room upgrade and given a £10 drinks voucher on arrival. The room was large and very clean. I ate in the restaraunt on one evening the food was good and especially good value with the drinks voucher. I have stayed at many of the larger hotels in Glasgow and I would rate this as one of the best.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl_TL1000R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for your excellent top 5 score.

I am very pleased with your feedback on the success of our refurbishment and on our Tempus restaurant. We are delighted that you consider the Grand Central as on of the best city centre hotels.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,759 - 3,765 of 4,180 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

We were guests at a charity event being held in this hotel and decided to stay here bacause of its exceptionally convenient location in Glasgow city centre.

We were most impressed by the staff and the hotel which we believe has recently been refurbished. The night went well helped enormously by the staff who were ever present but never in the way. The food was super. The champagne bar was most impressive with its views over the station plaza.

The room was spotless and huge with a big comfy bed, the bathroom was massive as big as our bedroom at home with hand shower as well as overhead shower and a bath.

We will return.

We really wished we had stayed two nights and taken in a bit more of Glasgow city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as you can get some noise from the station in the morning we were advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil_mckagencies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Another fantastic top 5 score!

Thank you so much for your positive comments & for taking the time to share your thoughts about the hotel after your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that we have left you with such a great impression of the Grand Central Hotel and your comments about our staff and service will be shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Central in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

fantastic location and a room to die for, huge. It really is a fantastic and impressive building. Get a good b&b rate if possible because at £16 a head it's pretty expensive, but there are loads of eateries out the front door ready to feed you at reasonable rates.
The only downside we encountered was when leaving. The NCP car park, which the hotel promotes, wanted £17 instead of the £8 the hotel deal has. There was either a problem with the NCP chip or the hotel verifier. This wasn't my problem, but it quickly became mine, as the receptionist said to 'take it up with NCP'! She even advised a customer of this offer whilst blanking me.
It took some stern and audible complaining before I eventually got the duty manager to help me, which he, to his credit, did... eventually. The NCP are nothing short of ignorant, pompous cowboys.
So my departure took me over an hour, which soured our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dode T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent break with us at the Grand Central Hotel.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed stay, although you did encounter some small teething issues on checkout. Your feedback is very important to us and we will ensure that your comments are passed onto our Reception Manager.

We hope to welcome back to the hotel in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I like old Victorian-esque Railway hotels and this has a great staircase and amazing features. It has been fairly recently redone so it feels like it is up to date in rooms except that they are often oddly shaped but for me that is character that I like.
Good porridge, friendly staff, good martini.
It is right on the station but I dont mind the bit of noise that will come with that cnvenience.

Room Tip: Higher up and you are away from street noise but the rooms are a bit less geometric
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themiddleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

A really nice hotel with some lovely old features. Bed was very comfortable and bedroom spacious. Breakfast was excellent. In some rooms there is considerable noise from the station.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosouthbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about the hotel after your recent stay with us.

We are a wonderfully central hotel and we are delighted to have been able to restore all of it's original features!

I will pass you comments on to the Reservations Team who allocate bedrooms and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a ball in the hotel. I had a single room which although small was very comfortable, with a 3/4 size bed. Nice bathroom and excellent breakfasts. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Airport shuttle bus stops opposite hotel. Good position, close to all city centre amenities and shops. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANNE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for posting your positive review on Tripadvisor and for your excellent score of 5!

I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us, and will ensure your feedback is passed onto the team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed here for one night after a function and I must say we were more than happy with it, the room was lovely, clean and icredibly comfy, the bathroom was enormous breakfast was good, plenty choice and all nice and hot , all of the staff we dealt with were very helpful ,would recommend this hotel to anyone, good location , great staff , comfy rooms,couldn't ask for anymore

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brannagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for this 5 star review!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding the hotel, facilities and staff. Your comments are very much appreciated and I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,414 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £72 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing