We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
cumbernauld
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“cheers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

had a superb time at grand central in dec 2011, we booked an executive room and loved therobes and slippers. Can recommend the late checkouttill 3pm for £30.00 it was well worth theextended luxury. Great choice at buffet breakfast. We will make it a regular stay whenever we can
June and Chris Scotland

Room Tip: opt for late checkoit till 3pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Another perfect score of 5 – Thank you, your comments are very encouraging and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

A very warm welcome awaits you when you next visit Glasgow.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    1,262
    551
    207
    131
See reviews for
381
1,642
162
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I had been wanting to stay here since it re-opened. The refurbishment is very good.Overall decor is lovely and it retains it's classic charm.We stayed in a standard double which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. However, the room was on the second floor directly above Gordon St which has main entrance to Central Station and a taxi rank. The level of audible street noise in the room was very high and being a city centre hotel there was noise all night. I had 2-4 hours sleep max. The soundproofing for rooms on this side/level of the hotel really needs to be improved upon.
Overall, the hotel was lovely, staff pleasant and I would recommend but with the proviso that you should ask for a room on a higher floor to reduce the noise levels.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newatthisGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
I am pleased that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review.

Due to our central location in the heart of Glasgow’s City centre, unfortunately external noise can be an issue at times from the main road, however we do have many rooms that do not overlook the main road and should you wish to mention this on any future bookings, our reservations team would be more than happy to oblige, I do hope this didn't impact your stay too much.

Our Quality Wins team meet monthly to discuss feedback, to make sure that all comments and suggestions are taken on board.

We hope you do have the opportunity to visit us again soon as a warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have stayed at Grand Central a number of times now and love it. We love it so much that my fiance proposed in the fantastic Champagne Central Bar last year, and we returned this year to celebrate our anniversary only to find we had been upgraded to a beautiful suite. Thank you - it was amazing. (Unfortunately due to the festive season it was noisy outside, but we changed rooms the next day and had no problem at all). The staff are always friendly and helpful. Location ideal for enjoying Glasgow. Definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and score of 5.

Congratulations on your engagement, that’s great your fiancé chose to propose in our beautiful Champagne Central and that to mark your special anniversary we were able to upgrade you to an executive suite. I am pleased that you have stayed with us several times now and that each visit you enjoy your time with us and that the hotel staff always offer excellent customer service throughout.

Our aim is to create an outstanding experience and I do believe by your comments we have achieved this.

We are looking forward to your next visit again soon!

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here for a special occasion, my husbands 30th.....we were given free champagne on arrival and had booked a romantic break so had wine, chocolate covered strawberries and a birthday card in the room for us arriving, whcih we thought was a nice touch. Really loved this hotel, cant wait to stay again!

If I had to have one gripe, it would be that I felt there wasnt enough choice at breakfast (not enough hot food)....other than that, great location, clean, very comfortable and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank versace1888_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
It is so pleasing to read your comments after your recent special occasion stay at the Grand Central Hotel; your top score of 5 and feedback on the hotel and staff are very rewarding, thank you.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed just one night while in town for a night out. It's great to see this once great hotel restored and there is a real sense of romance about the location at the station. The owners have spent a lot making the entrance and main public areas look good.

The bedrooms too have been tastefully updated but this is not a complete makeover. Critically, our radiator - old-style, cast iron with valves - didn't radiate any heat and the windows are single-glazed with blinds and faux curtains. It was late December in Scotland so cold (we know we live here). A first call to guest services (? - top left button on phone) produced the advice to turn the valve control. I said we'd tried this but would again and we were advised it might take 15 minutes or so for heat to appear. Forty minutes later still no heat so we phoned again. We took turns holding on the phone and eventually, after over 10 minutes, I set off by foot to reception. An engineer arrived quite promptly thereafter. A very pleasant chap who pronounced the radiator dead, probably needing bleeding but helpfully and quickly produced a portable oil-filled electric radiator which did the trick. On our way out later we passed another member of staff towing another such radiator like a dog on a lead, so were were probably not alone!

Service was mixed with registration slow and only one lift working. The apology at the desk re our heating issue and non response to our phoning was grudging, yet other staff were very pleasant and the service engineer a star. At the bar/lounge (there is no residents' lounge) there was no fino sherry and the waiter initially wanted to pour the substitute amontillado into a whisky tumbler. More training perhaps?

We had asked for a quiet room and had no trouble with road noise though there was a loud fan outside so not entirely peaceful.

Overall, there are some very competitive deals available and the location is excellent. The hotel has style but has some way still to go to be very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and check quickly if the heating works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay.

May I firstly apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with the radiator in your allocated room not being in full working condition, please be assured that your comments have been passed onto the Reception Manager to ensure that all maintenance issues are dealt within a timely manner and also to our Maintenance Manager to investigate the radiator fault further; however on a positive note I am very pleased to see that the customer service you received from our on duty engineer was prompt and pleasant.

I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback as it is through constructive criticism that we are able to monitor and maintain the standards within our hotel.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.


Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband and I, along with two other couples stayed here and attended the Hogmanay Ball. Welcome was great, room was on 2nd floor, very spacious and clean. It was also lovely and warm! The ball was also great, we really enjoyed the food.

At one point, we ordered a bottle of wine for some of the girls at the table and after trying it, they weren't at all impressed. The waitress was very helpful and changed it straight away.

Breakfast was brilliant. We had to put our name down and wait as it was really busy, but there were croissants etc while you waited.

We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you so much for your top score of 5 and fab review!

I am delighted that you chose to celebrate Hogmanay with the Grand Central Hotel and we are very pleased to read that you have been left with such great impression that you would definitely return in the future.

A very warm welcome awaits you on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Fab hotel, nice staff who are willing to help, and great location!!!! Very clean. Quite a lot of noise but we got used to it. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you for your positive review, your feedback is very encouraging to all of the Grand Central team.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future, remember to check out our Trip Advisor page for 10% off and free breakfast!

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,054 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing