We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but noisy - very expensive breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great location but noisy - very expensive breakfast!”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My partner and I stayed here from the 30th dec until the 2nd jan. Our room was on the 2nd floor and although the room was nice and spacious, it was facing gordon St, which is where the main entrance to central station is positioned. as well as all of the street noise, there was a LOT of noise early in the morning in the corridor outside our room, which we found to be housekeeping staff slamming doors whilst going about their work.
We ordered breakfast to our room on one of the mornings. This cost a staggering £50 !!!! As we had a quick checkout, it wasnt until i checked my bank statement that i discovered how much i had actually paid. The food was good, but not worth a fraction of £50.
Nice hotel, very good location, but would not stay again unless guaranteed a room higher up and away from the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelangel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review.

Due to our central location street noise at times can be expected however we do have many rooms which do not overlook Gordon Street and our reservations team are always willing to assist with any special requests.

We also have special rates & promotions on breakfast and £50 is certainly not standard for two breakfasts at the Grand Central; should we be able to welcome you back to the hotel check out our Trip Advisor homepage for promotion code including 10% off and free full Scottish breakfast.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,595
    1,362
    584
    220
    144
See reviews for
429
1,773
179
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ATHENS
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel is located above the Central Railway station of Glasgow at the heart of the city within walking distance of eveything that is important in the city and easy access to all means of traspotation.

The building of the Central Station and the Hotel is a huge Victorian Building very well renovated - one of the best in city.

Rooms are also quite spacious.

All the rest are just ok. Apart from the above, this is a convenient hotel but you will shortly forget your stay there. (I suppose this stands for Glasgow in general as well).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtsint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review further to your recent trip to Glasgow and for choosing the Grand Central Hotel.

Our hotel is a listed building which brings such benefits as large and spacious rooms, it is also steeped in history and many original features within the hotel have been restored to there former glory.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed for one night while in Glasgow for a business meeting. The room was very nice, modern/contemporary decor but retaining period features such as original radiators. Service was very good from reception and concierge to restaurant and guy who brought room service. Bed big and comfy but the lack of soundproofing on the windows was a real issue. The rooms down the side of the building I was on faced onto Hope street and the traffic/street noise kept me up late and woke me again early. I called reception to ask when the traffic quietened down (This was a Sun night) and they did offer to move me but at after midnight I declined because of hassle factor. It was quiet abut 2am. The rooms on the other side of the hotel might be quieter as they face a different street, half the rooms also face the station which might also be a better option. Breakfast was good. I would stay here again as the hotel is nice and the location good. I would however contact the hotel,ask which rooms were quieter and request one specifically. This is an ideal hotel for a girls shopping weekend.

Room Tip: Contact reception to ask for the location of the rooms that will be least affected by traffic/street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 210Voyager210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Loved this hotel. Great value for money, excellent location. Only one small complaint music in Champagne bar was very loud but staff turn it down when we mentioned it. Will stay here anytime I visit the great city of Glasgow

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creaman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
We are delighted that you will now stay at the Grand Central Hotel anytime you visit Glasgow and thank you very much for your top rating of 5.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Booked the 'Scrumptious Sunday' deal for my husband's birthday...great value! Hotel is beautiful, amazing architecture. You could spend a whole evening touring this enchanting hotel. Would strongly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyncu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review!

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us for your husband’s birthday and I do hope we can welcome you back possibly for your own birthday.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecosse
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This is an old railway hotel completely refurbed, it is very good ,friendly helpful staff very comfortable rooms .Right in the Central station but no noise nuisance at all and obviously very handy for all of central Glasgow .Theatres and concert halls wihtin easy walking distance
We could not have been happier with our choice of hotel. Room only so cannot speak for food.

Room Tip: We were on 4th Floor above the station absolutely no noise at all and the lifts are very good if sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jockp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grand Central Hotel, it is great to read that you could not be happier with your choice of hotel during your visit to Glasgow!

I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel when attending a wedding over the festive period. Hotel was stunning - decor and finish was 1st class. Main Function room was spectacular and bedrooms really large and luxuriously decorated. Food was scrumptious too.
Hotel was in great location right in town centre for some shopping ext day and also handy for commuting as adjoined to train station (which is really handy as parking can be a hassle in town at busy time of year)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lly_Bags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
I'm glad you we able to stay with us following a wedding you attended in the hotel and that you were very impressed with your stay and the wedding; thank you for your review and top rating of 5!

I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,300 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,140 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,771 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing