We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Central Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Argyll Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$113
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (4,282)
Filter reviews
4,282 results
Traveller rating
1,757
1,487
637
241
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,757
1,487
637
241
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne bartempus restauranttrain stationchampagne centralgordon streettaxi rankhope streetjunior suitetravelling by trainlovely hotelstreet noiselovely roomstandard rooman overnight stayhaggisstayed for one nightcentre of glasgow
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,746 - 3,751 of 4,282 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Smart, stylish and comfortable with very good service and an excellent breakfast. The location is perfect for exploring Glasgow. I would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALISON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you for your review and of course a fabulous top rating of 5!

We are delighted that you would definitely like to stay at the Grand Central again and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon, a warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at the Grand Central Hotel in August of 2011. It is located right next to the station but is easily reached by car. We parked for a reasonable price just a block away. When entering the hotel, you get an "old Hollywood" feeling. The hallways are wide, the ceilings high, and the staircases are grand. The rooms are equally spacious (especially for the UK) and very modern. I could have had a party in my bathroom. The location is also very central and most areas of interest are within walking distance. The customer service is also excellent. We had ordered a coat in Edinburgh which was not ready in time and they agreed to ship it to the Grand Central so that we could collect it at the end of our trip. We were a bit worried that it would get lost in the shuffle but the moment we arrived and gave the concierge our name, they informed us that a package was waiting for us in a secure room and sent someone to retrieve it. The price also can't be beat, I was able to get a room with a King bed for $100/night through an online special.Overall, this was a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atrmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Many thanks for your review and top rating of 5!

I am delighted that had a 'great hotel experience' with us here at the Grand Central, and I appreciate your feedback on the high standard of service and comfort offered through out the hotel; your comments are very encouraging to all of the team, thank you!

I do hope that we can welcome you back to Glasgow and indeed our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at the Grand Central Hotel in Glasgow and have almost nothing but good reports.

Our room (425) was unfortunately situated just outside the lifts and stairwell, this meant we were disturbed more than once during the night with loud guests coming out the lift.

The room itself was spotless, very comfortable with bath robes and slippers. The bathroom was massive for a standard room and very fresh, clean and well-stocked.

The room had a LCD TV with freeview.

The staff in the restraunt were excellent, both the manager and chef were friendly. The reception staff weren't quite as friendly.

The breakfast offering was vast with plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crmpicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

I am glad that overall you have good reports further to your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Central Hotel.

It is great to read that you were very impressed with your room, we feel our bedrooms and en suites have great character as they do vary in shape and size, this is due to the nature of this grand listed building.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife booked this hotel as her best friend was staying in Glasgow for her 40th. Hotel itself was absolutely gorgeous & I have no complaints about anythingwithin the hotel. We booked one of the suites overlooking the entrance to the station - big mistake! The noise was unbelievable, taxis, shouting public, fights, police cars - everything you would not expect for such a top notch hotel. I understand that due to the age of the hotel there will be building restrictions such as no double glazing etc but the noise was horrendous. Those who face the inner rooms did not suffer - we definitely did. Lesson learned is make sure your room does not face out on to the main roads!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing away from the road or you will not sleep.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I am disappointed that you experienced high noise levels from your allocated room, due to our central location external noise levels, usually at weekends, can be expected however we do have many rooms that do not overlook the bustling City Centre streets and our reservations team are always willing to assist with any special requests where possible.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Central in the future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great location in the centre of the city, although a bit difficult to get to by car because of the one way system, but parking nearby was handy and cheap (£8 for 2 nights). Room ok but a bit on the small side. Food very good, and breakfasts very very good. Staff exceptionally helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandf39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for your review, I especially appreciate your wonderful feedback on our staff being exceptionally helpful and cheerful; our Executive Head Chef and his team will also be encouraged by your comments on the very good standard of food offered.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, a warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews