We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
North Lanarkshire
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed here for one night. A quiet room was requested and we were given a room on the 4th floor facing Hope Street which was very quiet. You would not notice that you were in the middle of the city. The room however was at the end of a very long corridor and would be a trek for the not so able. The room was large and tastefully decorated. Beds were spotless and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was lovely with lots of variety. Concierge service was helpful as we were able to leave our bags before check in so that we could explore the city for a few hours.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor facing Hope Street if you want a quiet room. Make sure your room is not at the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review.

I am delighted that you found the Grand Central to be a lovely hotel, our aim is to create an outstanding experience and service to all of our guests and I do believe by your comments we have achieved this.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,593
    1,359
    583
    220
    143
See reviews for
428
1,768
179
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed for just one night prior to our trip South. Fancied viewing my home town as a tourist. Room/Mini Suite was lovely. Nice layout, great bathroom, comfy bed but the real highlight was the breakfast. Concierge services were handy and helpful. Two minor complaints the chandeliers were filthy close up and the room was overheated and we were unable to turn down the heating despite contacting the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewlyWedMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
I hope you had an enjoyable trip South and thank you for choosing to stay at the Grand Central and for your review.

It's great to read that for you breakfast was the highlight, of your visit our Executive Chef and his team will encouraged by this and I also appreciate your feedback on aspects of maintenance & housekeeping I will ensure these issues are raised.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle040710
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

A great hotel - very stylish - reception staff and champagne bar very good - shame about the long queues to check in - rooms also very good - however - maybe the rooms need to carry more inforamtion about the hotel and the services it provides - that would be a bonus - we hadnt a clue where to find the breakfast room - go to floor marked "E" wasnt the most useful piece of information - breakfast wasnt mind blowing but it was fine - can recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newcastle040710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Grand Central Hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Had to go down a very long corridor to our room. Once there the room was very good but could have done with more information about the hotel. Had to ask at reception where breakfast was served rather than having the info to hand. The restaurant was good as was the self service breakfast. Concierge desk was useful. Parking in the NCP was not cheap but discount available from reception, although I had to ask rather than the info being offered.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bathwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review and providing your feedback. I'm pleased to confirm that we have recently updated our in room information and the packs are currently in the process of reprinting.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed there just for one night and wasn't disappointed. Lovely room with plenty of space, lovely bathroom with an amazing shower. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: Always ask for an executive room in a quiet part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CameronsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review and for sharing your feedback, I am glad that you had a great experience at the Grand Central Hotel and I do hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Went to the champagne bar for a look as I had heard good things about the place.
We had coffee and cake in the very comfortable lounge which was surprisingly busy for a Thursday afternoon. Lovely service. Good quality coffee and lovely cakes for a reasonable price given the location. Alcoholic drinks though were very pricey.8 pounds for a cocktail.7 pounds and upwards for a glass of wine. A nice place for a treat but way too expensive, even for a hotel bar, to make this a regular haunt.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slavetolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
I'm glad that you chose to visit Champagne Central at the Grand Central Hotel for an afternoon treat and found lovely service, good quality coffee and delicious cakes!

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future, next time why not try out Deli Central which is located on the Ground floor next to our Tempus Restaurant on Hope Street side for lunch, offering a delicious range homemade panini’s, sandwiches, wraps and more and not forgetting the simply scrumptious cakes and Chef bites for after.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Emailed the hotel's reservations dept and concierge that a 50th birthday celebration was the reason for the stay. There was a very brief "Happy Birthday" from Sandy at reception, but not until I asked if a prior email was received. Nothing else was done by the hotel to mark the occasion.

Phone in room was broken, but replaced within 2 hours. Towel bar in bathroom was falling out of the drywall. Breakfast as just ok, with a massive queue running outside the Tempus restaurant on Sunday morning.

Renovation is nice, but some routine maintenance and training on making guests feel welcome wouldn't go amiss.

Room Tip: Don't bother emailing ahead as it will probably isn't worth your time and effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiltboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
I am disappointed with your overall feedback and shall be investigating the negative comments made as it is through constructive criticism that we are able to monitor and maintain the standards within the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review and I do hope we can welcome you back to see the hotel at it's very best.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,667 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing