We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A world class experience in central Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A world class experience in central Glasgow”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Grand Central hotel offers a unique perspective on the dear green place of Glasgow. The recent refurbishment offers modern comfort whilst still retaining the charm and grace of a bygone era. My daughter said this was the best hotel she has ever stayed at and felt like royalty waling down the staircase (she is eight).

The magic the hotel offers if complimented by the pictures of central station above the bed heads and the soaring ceilings. For location - you can't go past this hotel as it is in the heart of Glasgow.

The fireman just outside is a terrific meeting place for friends and family.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can not recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anstruthergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your review and fantastic top rating of 5!

I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and like a lot of our guests you can not fail to be amazed by the central staircase with its 22.5m chandelier, a real eye catcher to all.

We hope we can welcome you all back in the future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,554
    1,323
    570
    214
    140
See reviews for
414
1,715
175
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Very nice hotel. I had a single room which was lovely and bathroom was very good with nice toiletries. Extremely impressive from the outside and the corridors and staircases really are from another era. Spectaculor chandeliers and altogether a very good hotel. Special thanks to very nice chef at breakfast - great porriage but haggis wasnt for me! And excellent concierge staff and houskeeping staff also very efficient. I would definately stay again and would recommend this hotel and Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibizababe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review and for your kind comments on the service of our team, I know they will be very encouraged!

It's great to read that you would definitely stay at the Grand Central in the future and you will be recommending to other.

A warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was my first time in Glasgow I travelled via Virgin Trains and stopped at the Grand Central Hotel. It is conveniently situated in the Station and is minutes away from the centre and shops restaurants, bars etc. The hotel itself has undergone a contemporary makeover but still retains the Victorian grandeur of past times. The makeover is very tasteful, I found the room’s spacious comfortable and well appointed. The check in process whilst a little slow, due to IT issues, was courteous and efficient. Breakfast was of a good standard and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to someone that wishes to stop in central Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We are delighted that upon your first trip to Glasgow you chose to stay with us and by reading your comments with the top rating of 5 you were impressed with the hotel; thank you.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The main impression was the warmth and helpfulness of the staff wherever we came across them. From Gordon the Concierge to Gary who checked us out, everyone seemed happy to check if you needed anything. The accessible room was better than average with only a few tweaks needed to make it really stand out. It certainly didn't have a view, looking onto the railway roof, but it was quiet and comfortable. The only down side to the Champagne Bar is its popularity and you might wish for another quieter lounge area if you prefer your music to be more subtle! We didn't eat at Tempus, but if the breakfast is anything to go by, we will certainly give it a try as we would be happy to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out when the station closes if you use a wheelchair as the entrance is inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Good-hotel-lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

You cannot be more centrally located when your hotel is right on top of the Glasgow Central station. It is an old hotel that was beautifully refurbished recently. The lobby is not impressive but the rooms are comfortable and with modern amenities. Breakfast is in a lovely restaurant with high ceilings. The hotel is within a few minutes of several restaurants, shopping at Buchananan Street, and the hop on hop off buses at George Square. The back part of the hotel can be edgy at night (this is still part of the train station!) but the front part of the hotel is safe with lots of pedestrians even late at night. The rooms vary in size and location. Since this is a busy area, you need to request for a quiet room if noise is an issue for you. One of my friends got a big room but it was overlooking the main lobby of the train station and they can hear the announcements in the station. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review and for another top rating of 5.

Our location within Glasgow City Centre is certainly quite unique with an added bonus for all who travel by rail.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My partner and i decided to spend Easter weekend in Glasgow,as we only live in Edinburgh we usually travel home in the evening,but thought we would try and get a deal and stay over in Glasgow two nights,as i have always fancied staying in the Grand Central i went on to Lastminute.com and got a good price plus a glass of champagne each in the champagne bar.
The decor was just beautiful,very elegant and rich looking,the bedroom was a good size,nice comfy bed,we also had tea and coffee with biscuits,the bathroom was very clean with white fluffy towels,the room was at the back,but we had no noise from the trains,and had a good nights sleep.We did not eat breakfast as we were having lunch early,but we did eat in the Tempus rest
aurant on the second night in the hotel,the meal was very good ,with lots of choices,and at a good price,the service was excellent especially from Katy who was in charge,she could not be more helpful and kept on making sure everything was to our satisfactory.I really enjoyed the champayne bar,the music was to our taste,so we just relaxed in the comfy chairs with our drinks and enjoyed the evenings,no need to go out in Glasgow when we had everything we like here in the hotel,we are going back again very soon,and will not be travelling back to Edinburgh late at night now we have found this fantastic hotel to to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceCorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
We aim to give our guests an outstanding experience and your rating of 5 is so encouraging, thank you.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and that we will definitely be welcoming you back soon, a very warm welcome will be awaiting you.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

Booked here for a girls night,booked a room for 3 people, bit of a mix up but this was sorted promptly enough.
Lovely rooms and lovely big corridors. .
Only criticism is as soon as you enter and go up to the Champagne bar the smell of fried food is overwhelming, could still smell on 4th floor....great if you like chips !

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
I am delighted that you chose to stay at the Grand Central Hotel for your girl’s weekend and thank you for your review and valuable feedback.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,248 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#32 of 95 in Glasgow
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,622 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing