We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

The location of this hotel literally couldn't be more central and is perfect for exploring Glasgow. The hotel has recently undergone an expensive refit and you can really see where the money has been spent. The rooms are beautiful, with very comfortable beds and fantastic bathrooms. There is also a fantastic champagne bar.
Our room was looking out into the station, but there was no noise between midnight and 6am, so it wasn't really a problem.
Breakfast was included in the deal we had booked; although it was nice I don't think it would have been worth the price if it wasn't included.

All in all a fantastic hotel and a fantastic experience; I hope to be back before too long.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowPingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your review and top rating of 5.

It's great to read your comments and appreciation of our £20 million refurbishment and that even with our central location, noise was not an issue during your stay.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon for another fabulous stay.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,493
    1,291
    561
    209
    134
See reviews for
393
1,676
167
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I was home for the weekend in Glasgow to see friends and family. This was my first time back in the Central Hotel since it's been refurbished, I was bowled over my the ambience, decor, service and more importantly Champagne Bar! Well priced, nice but not intrusive service and a central Glasgow setting that can't be beaten. You guys have put some of the over-priced and not up too scratch bars in London to shame.

Keep up the good work, see you in the summer! :-)
Will

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillOneill_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We are delighted that you were impressed during your recent visit to the Grand Central and Champagne Central, your comments are very much appreciated and may I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed in the Grand Central Hotel a couple of nights before Christmas.
It was a Friday night and the hotel should perhaps have been called Party Central instead of Grand Central.
I was a little bit worried that I was about to have a sleepless night - but thankfully once I was up on the bedroom floor I couldn't hear anything from the function rooms below.

Having booked a Double Room I was a tad annoyed that the hotel allocated me a single room.
So back down to reception I went, and after showing the receptionist my booking confirmation he switched me to a double room.

The Single Room looked ok, but the Double room was really nice.
It was a good size, and a had a large bathroom to go with it.
The room was clean, quiet, comfortable, and had a lovely big bed.

There are lots of places to go nearby for food and drink so I didn't check out the restaurant for dinner.
I did however have breakfast in the morning. It was a help yourself buffet style breakfast and it was very good indeed.
I'd have liked to be given a pot of tea instead of the staff coming round every now and then with Tea or Coffee, but to be fair this is a minor complaint as it really was a good & hearty Scottish Breakfast.

If you're looking for a place to stay in central Glasgow - especially if you are arriving by train in to Central Station - this is a good choice.

Ah! and in the title I said there was bit of TV History in this hotel....
Back in 1927 John Logie Baird used the Grand Central for a test and transmitted TV pictures to the hotel.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are the ones that look out over the top of the roof of Central Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Scot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your helpful feedback and for taking the time to review the Grand Central Hotel, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our first impressions were not good when we checked in and the receptionist had no record of the free bottle of wine we were promised when we booked. He wouldn't believe me until I showed him my booking page. When we first saw our room we were underwhelmed to say the least. It WAS one of their standard doubles but I still expected it to be nice, being that it's supposed to be a 4* hotel, but it was quite basic, no better than a budget hotel really. It was lacking in what I would consider basic amenities i.e a mini fridge, bottled water, shower caps etc and was very small. We couldn't get the heating on either, and there were hardly any channels on the tv. I felt our weekend would be ruined if we stayed there so I went down to reception and paid an extra £60 for an upgrade to an executive room instead (not such a bargain after all!) but apart from being bigger (bigger bed, bigger room, bigger bathroom and bath) was not much better. They DID have bathrobes and slippers but still no fridge or any luxury items. Very disappointing. Also, everything had a 'small additional charge'. We had forgotten our toothbrushes and read that they were available from housekeeping, but we would have to pay for them. We went to a chemist instead. They even took our soap and didn't replace it, and the tea tray was not replenished. We had intended to eat at the restaurant and asked the receptionist to book a table. He told us we had to ring down ourselves from our room- great, thanks for your help! We didn't bother in the end, we didn't want to take the risk of being further disappointed. Even checking out was a nightmare, despite it saying on our keycard envelopes that we could sign them and pop our keys in an Express checkout box, the concierge told us we couldn't and we had to wait in an enormous queue of people instead. Luckily our train wasn't for another hour or we might have missed it! All in all, I would definitely not stay here again, If you just want somewhere to lay your head it might be ok for you if you get a really good deal, but it's not for us. Shame really, it looked so good on the internet, but I feel quite cheated.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank urbanfairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
I am disappointed with your overall feedback and shall be investigating the negative comments made as it is through constructive criticism that we are able to monitor and maintain the standards within the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review and I do hope we can welcome you back to see the hotel at it's very best.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We've stayed here three times now....rooms are spacious and nicely presented. Friendly staff. Very central for shops etc....fantastic champagne bar with friendly staff. Great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
I am delighted that you have now stayed with us several times and that you have such a great impression of the Grand Central Hotel and our team, they will be very encouraged with your feedback.

Thank you for your top rating of 5 and for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed for one night at the Grand Central Hotel and have to say that I loved my experience there. The staff were very helpful and quick when I checked in and when I arrived in my room I was very impressed at the size, decor and cleanliness of both the bedroom and bathroom. I had read previous reviews about how noisy the hotel can sometimes be with both a busy street on one side and the train station on the other...so I was a little wary. Even on the 2nd floor facing the busy street, I did not hear any outdoor traffic nor could I hear anything from the train station.
The hotel was perfectly located in the centre of the city which was perfect for walking! I was able to walk to St George's Square and Buchanan St for shopping in about 6-7 minutes and I was also able to walk from the hotel to the Cathedral and Necropolis in about 25.
Would definitely come back to this hotel and would definitely reccommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyla307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your awesome review and top rating of 5.

It's great to read that you enjoyed your Grand Central Hotel experience; I appreciate your feedback that our location was ideal for you and although with our unbeatable and unique location you heard no street or station noise from the 2nd floor, street facing bedroom you stayed in!

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay in Grand Central. We paid the extra to upgrade (£25) and received room 409. The room was an excellent size, lovely huge bed and we had a lovely sleep. The staff were very quick and efficient delivering robes and wine to the room as part of the upgrade. The bathroom was huge and had a fantastic shower. There is complimentary bath products supplied.
The hotel is stunning inside and we will definitely return to stay whenever we are staying in Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Another fabulous rating of 5 - thank you!

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel and that you will definitely return upon any future visits to Glasgow. Room 409 is one of our Double Executives these rooms have been designed to offer a warm, welcoming, comfortable surround, with a touch of class and I am glad that you had a lovely sleep in this Gordon Street facing room.

A very warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing