We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous hotel and a fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Cockermouth, Cumbria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel and a fabulous location”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here for one night with friends and we booked two rooms, one twin and one family... all I can say is fabulous. Nice rooms, view wasn't anything but great location. The staff were attentive and helpful to us making me and my children feel at home. They looked after our many bags of shopping after we checked out and we went to a concert and helped us to our train with them. Nothing is too much bother and we have booked to go back for another stay this christmas. Certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade for that little extra special time....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livy1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
I am delighted to hear of your excellent feedback and would like to thank you for taking to time to write a review on your stay; we take great pride in making each guests stay a memorable experience.

A very warm welcome awaits you and we look forward to celebrating the festive season with you.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,522
    1,304
    563
    210
    134
See reviews for
403
1,689
171
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were here for a wedding that was being held in the hotel so stayed for convenience. For someone that lived in Glasgow for 15 years, the location was fantastic. Great room, good size. The hotel has a whole grandeur about it which is really impressive. The champagne bar was lovely but very expensive but what you would expect from a hotel like that in the centre of Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megmagsritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our listed building holds many grand and historical features which we believe adds great character to our guests experience, not to forget our modern twist of the 22.5 metre long chandelier, which streams down our grand staircase which holds the record of the longest chandelier in Western Europe.

A warm welcome awaits you on your return along with all Grand Central has to offer.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Attached to central station and recently refurbished this quite a grand looking hotel. Great location for eating out and bars. Very spacious room with very comfy bed. Given the proximity to the station concourse and a generally busy area the room was very quiet. Pleasant staff and large buffet breakfast. Was also great not to have to walk through the torrential rain to get my train back to London as the hotel opens straight into the station!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is located in the heart of Glasgow with the convenience of an entrance directly into Central Station, which is perfect for our travelling guests as you can go from train, to check in, to bedroom without leaving the station which with our Scottish weather is certainly a great benefit.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed as a birthday treat or one night, had room overlooking station roof (room 406) didn't book to enjoy view so was not a problem, no noise from station announcers as previous reviews stated. Not sure if lower floors would Suffer from station noise. Beautifully rich dark furniture, comfy bed, gorgeous bathroom.
Had cocktail in champagne bar, was lovely.

Breakfast in Tempus restaurant was good, plenty choice - only criticism is it could have been slightly hotter, good choice of juices, pancake machine however was just a gimmick, 10 mins for 2 pancakes to be produced is ridiculous.
All in all lovely night away., and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from taxi ranks in hope street - apparently very noisy at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your birthday celebration at Grand Central and look forward to your return visit.

A warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I really liked the wide corridors and the large airy room with a very high ceiling. There were few frills (no minibar etc) but that was not a big issue for me. I also liked the Champagne bar overlooking Glasgow central train station not just for an early evening cocktail but also for afternoon tea. The airport bus was extremely handy and cheap costing only 5 pounds each way and taking only 15 minutes from the airport. They tried with the wifi but irritatingly it drops out all the time and I had to keep refreshing my credentials over and over. The breakfast was poorly managed with a slow moving queue at busy times and generally overcooked food. In fairness the chef did produce black pudding for me on request which was nice and the tasty pork sausages largely made up for the rubbery eggs.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davido357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Grand Central Hotel. Our £20 million refurbishment has brought this hotel back to its former glory and I am pleased to hear you had an excellent stay with us. I also appreciate your feedback on your breakfast dining experience.

I hope to see you visiting our Champagne Bar in the near future to enjoy some more of our delicious cocktails.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Don't bother. There are plenty of other hotels close to the station. There are no curtains in the rooms, just blinds that are quite some distance from the window - leaving an enormous gap of light. The rooms are scruffy and 2 star quality and the food is dry and hard.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Figsnfings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review.

I am disappointed to hear you had maintenance issues with our bedroom blinds. All our blinds are designed to have a blackout effect. I have past on your feedback to our maintenance team to investigate this matter further, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I do hope you decide to visit the Grand Central Hotel.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night as a Birthday treat. Hotel entrance is beautiful, we received a very warm welcome from a member of staff.[All staff were very helpful and friendly] We arrived at hotel a couple of hours earlier than our check in time in the hope of leaving our bags, but the very helpful receptionist told us that he would check if our room was ready which to our delight it was! Our room was very comfortable and looked directly on to the station,, which was great fun watching people coming and going.Not to noisy at all as i had previously read!The champagne bar was lovely! we dined in the tempus restaurant which was ok! wouldn't rush back! Breakfast was nice!
Would stay again at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carhed91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
I am delighted to hear that your sister had a fabulous birthday treat at the Grand Central hotel and would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your top rating of 5 on your review. We like to share special occasions with our guests and ensure that they have a wonderful experience.

We sit in the perfect location for our visitors to enjoy all the culture and history that Glasgow has to offer. I look forward to your next visit where a warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing