We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not go here !!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Do not go here !!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

This place may have been tarted up recently but believe me it is all window dressing, the food and service is third rate and the hotel staff have got to be the rudest people you could ever wish to meet. Step outside the main door straight onto the main street and you are immediatley overcome with the stench of urine and drunks falling about everywhere you look. As many others have commented, the management staff appear to be unwilling or unable to control their staff (most of whom don't speak English). I could go on,but it's all been said before and complaining to their so called senior management is a complete and utter waste of time so don't bother.
Plenty of other hotels in Glasgow which is a great city. Just avoid this dump.

Room Tip: Not an option here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jiggered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    1,290
    560
    209
    133
See reviews for
391
1,674
167
639
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I booked a single room with bath, was shown to a room with shower only, the concierge was super helpful and went down to reception and changed the room. The one I got however (240) overlooked the perspex ceiling of the train station, was incredibly hot and suffered from the air con system (I presume for the station) being below the window. It did go off at about midnight to 7am but I was trying to get an early night!! If I had been staying more than one night I would have asked for a different room or left. Yes you expect noise in a city but this was ridiculous. I could also hear what sounded like a service elevator door slamming on many occasions and the conversations of other guests in the hallway were clearly audible. Not the best nights rest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. All guest feedback is much appreciated and of high importance.

I am disappointed to hear that you were disturbed by noise on your recent stay; however I do hope this did not impact on your stay with us. Our reservations team are aware of quieter rooms throughout the hotel, should you wish to mention this on any future bookings, they would be more than happy to oblige to the best of their availability.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel deserved all the trophies gained starting with 2011. Very nice and helpful team. Comfortable room, great breakfast and perfect location in the hart of city. Very good offer for parking on NCP Oswald Street (go up to the 5th floor which has directly access to the train station and hotel has an entrance from the train station).

Thank you Nick (concierge) :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anemari_Ionescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We have a highly skilled and knowledgeable team here, who were very proud to accept the award for Hotel Team of the Year 2012. However, it is the day to day feedback from our guests that motivates us to ensure that we excel in customer service.

A very warm welcomes awaits your next visit.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

This hotel is situated adjacent to the main railway station of Glasgow; it has an entrance directly from the station making it ideal for travellers. Also a multi-storey car park within the station can be used at a reduced rate. My room was large and very modern, with black and white vintage prints on the walls. The bed was superb and very comfortable, combine this with flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities and a nice big bathroom it was very good.
Perhaps the downside for me was the view from my window - the glass roof of the railway station! Obviously the position of this vast window meant cleaning was not easy, so the window was grubby. I could find no evidence of air con either, so with a restrictor on the window it could only be opened 4". I was working so ordered room service - great service, my fish and chips though was not the best, but pleasant. Breakfast was huge and exceedingly tasty.

Location; it is in the heart of Glasgow, a short walk brings you to all the best shops, bars, and excitement of this vibrant city. Buses and trains are right outside the airport about 20 minutes drive away.

If you don’t fancy hotel food; M&S, The Co-operative and some local shops are all within a two minute walk.
From what I could see the hotel has a cross section of guests, I heard Americans, Germans, Australians and a mix of UK dialects.
I also used the business centre with good WiFi and printers etc. all available.
WiFi is free for 30 minutes, but you can re-log on for consecutive 30 minute sessions.
WiFi reception in my room was not good.

I would certainly return with my wife for a weekend break

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. All our guest feedback is greatly appreciated.

We strive to create a “Grand” experience and make all our guests feel at home. Our spacious hallways are filled with history to explore and Champagne Central is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a glass of bubbly.
Grand Central is very lucky to have all the shops, restaurants and culture that Glasgow has to offer right on our doorstep. Our reception and concierge team are very knowledgeable about the city and are more than happy to help with any questions.

We look forward to welcoming you both in the near future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stopped here due to station being on the doorstep as we were on a family trip to the olympic football. Fast checking in and polite staff. The rooms were large and spacious and the same for the bathroom. Yes it was noisy if you had the windows open but it is in the city centre and off a train station so people booking should expect this. Cleanliness was good in the bedroom but in the bathroom the bath had many 'body hairs' in it which is quite disgusting really as it should be one of the main area for concern when cleaning a hotel room. Other than that lovely hotel and a great staym

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlislelass33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Grand Central Hotel. With some of our rooms overlooking Central Station and having the diversity of various shapes and sizes; this historic building has much to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I spent last weekend at the Grand Central as part of a trip to the Edinburgh Tattoo for my 60th birthday - the hotel proved to be a great choice. It is very central to everywhere you wish to get to in the city. Shopping, buses, either rail station, the airport shuttle, the subway, restaurants - all are within very easy walking distance of the hotel's front or side door. The breakfast was superb, all you could wish for, the cooked food was fresh and tasty and the service was very good. The bedroom itself was not overly large whilst the bathroom was huge and although there was a large window in both areas, the actual bedroom suffered a great deal from its dark colour scheme. A brighter choice would have given the room a much better appearance. However, our overall experience was satisfactory. We are folk who like to sit in the lobby at times over a weekend away but I'm afraid this one didn't appeal to us! It's rather small and quite coolish with external doors at either side - so we gave it a miss. The Grand Central has a lot going for it - its location being a big plus. However, whilst it may have been "Grand" in times past, despite its £20 million make-over, it is not as plush as some other hotels in Glasgow that we have stayed-in. But that is not to criticise it in any way - we had a comfortable and enjoyable weekend and would recommend the property

Room Tip: Rooms on the railway station side appear to be generally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xrfcjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
I am delighted to hear that you had a great birthday weekend, celebrating the buzzing festive atmosphere that Glasgow and Edinburgh have to offer this month.

We are very lucky to sit in the perfect location to offer all our guests the main attractions, shops and culture sites of Glasgow on our doorstep.

We pride ourselves in sourcing local produce and being a part of the Scotch Beef Club. We believe this enhancing our guests dining experiences with good traditional homemade food. I will be more than happy to pass on your comments to our restaurant team.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I look forward to your next return in the near future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff but free Internet access at 256kbs for 30 minutes daily was a joke and had to buy 24 hours of access for £10. A hotel of this standard should provide access as part of the general service free of charge

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. All guest feedback is much appreciated and I your points regarding our wi-fi has been taken on board.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing