We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What a difference.”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

It's 8 years since I last stayed here and what a difference, all staff were so welcoming and cheerful, from checkin at reception, concierge x2 and on checking out next day. My room was very comfortable, very clean and relaxing after a days shopping. The hotel has undergone a total transformation but retained all the grandeur that was there 8 years ago when it was £25 to stay the night but depending what floor you got, depended on how well you slept. This time I was on the 3rd floor and slept fairly well, traffic noise was an issue at times. I loved the chandelier up through the stairs, at £55 per room price has gone up but it was worth it. I will return as I fancy the champagne afternoon tea!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you very much for the 5 star review!

I am pleased you have enjoyed our transformation of the hotel, which was completed 2 years ago and at a cost of over £20 million.
Our chandeliers within the hotel, both in the main staircase and Champagne Central, are striking.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel to enjoy our Champagne Afternoon Tea. Please ensure you call our team directly to make your reservation on 0141 240 3700.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,595
    1,362
    584
    220
    144
See reviews for
429
1,773
179
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is our second "end of platform" review, the other being York last February. Same hotel group, great difference. The Grand Central knocks spots off most hotels in this range. It is spotless, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The room on the 4th floor was small but very well appointed with a superb bathroom. The champagne bar was packed out on a Saturday night as was the restaurant and most of the function rooms. It's location is ideal for the city centre. We can't say much on the downside, enjoyed our stay very much the only (tiny) niggle being a mix up with newspaper delivery which was sorted with aplomb.

We will be back for more.

Room Tip: Any of them - they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you very much for your 5 star review!

I am pleased you read you enjoyed your stay in the Grand Central Hotel, and I would like to apologise for the mix up in receiving your morning newspaper.

The hotel is becoming an iconic venue within the city and our Champagne Bar and Tempus restaurant are especially popular in the evenings and weekends.

I do hope you were able to enjoy some of the items our bar and restaurant has on offer.

When you are looking to make your next reservation for the hotel, please contact our reservations team directly who will be able to list our current special offers.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here one night before heading out on the train, and the hotel was perfectly situated for that (it's actually attached to the train station). The front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming, and the room was large and simply, but cleanly, appointed. It was also very close to the first drop off point for the city bus from the airport. We would stay here again if we were doing a similar trip where convenience was paramount.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickChT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you very much for your review.

The Grand Central Hotel is right in the heart of the city, and boasts great features including being attached to Glasgow Central Station and located 1 block from the drop-off and pick-up points for Glasgow International Airport.

I do hope you will return to the hotel in the near future, and please contact our reservations department who will detail our special offers including our Treat your Partner Package.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Arrived early morning but given a room to store our bags in as the room was not ready .. Not a problem..
Spent the day out and about then returned to get ready for the evening out - however when we got to our room we decided to stay in and eat in the hotel and visit the Champange Central bar instead ... so glad we did !!! food and service in the restaurant was exellent ... attentive but not over bearing...
And the Champange bar was everything I thought it would be ... drinks a little pricey but you get what you pay for at the end of the day... Can't wait to go back - not sure I will want to stay anywhere else now when visiting Glasgow .... We were even offered fruit and Christmas pastries on booking out .... lovely friendly helpful staff too.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and very quiet even though the hotel was full and had several fuctions on f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBrownCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel and the fantastic 5 stars too!

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our offerings within our iconic Champagne Bar and Tempus Restaurant.

Christmas is in full flow at the Grand Central and as a result our reception is playing host to some festive treats, which I am glad you enjoyed upon checkout.

I look very much forward to welcoming you back, to the hotel, for your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel is perfectly located to explore the city. It is beautifully decorated, very clean and smart. The staff are wonderful. We had the Fizz package, a glass of bubbly was a welcome treat after a walk round freezing Glasgow. The breakfast next morning was fine, lots of choice. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMac2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for the fantastic 5 star review!

Our Fizz Friday packages are a great way to start off a weekend in the city, and pleased to read you enjoyed the bubbles in our champagne bar!

To arrange your next Fizz Friday package, please contact our Reservations directly at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The Grand Central Hotel is well appointed for shopping. As it's attached to the Grand Central Station it was obviously a very grand hotel at some point, long ago. This is still a nice hotel. The hotel has been refurbished and modernised but the reception doesn't know whether it's coming into the modern age or going back. It's a pity the owners of the hotel didn't take in a spatial designer as the hotel is very bitty. Our bedroom was huge with a nice en-suite. Champagne bar is very nice. Breakfast as on the ground floor and we had to form a queue along with other guests before entering. Breakfast was over-cooked and not very pallatable. Overall the hotel is clean and very handy for central Glasgow.

Room Tip: Not too sure about a tip but I think all the rooms are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Integral with the railway station, this vast Victorian hotel has been comfortably updated. They make a big fuss that they spent £20m on the updating, but you'd probably have to have spent 2-3x that to get a really luxurious result! The result is a hotel that's spacious and comfortable, if not hugely grand or stylish. If you get any sort of deal, this is still a pretty good-value choice, and the staff are all very pleasant. Good breakfast too. Surrounding streets, though, can be pretty noisy at 3am.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Acer sed justus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,300 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,139 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,771 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing