We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #41 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Lovely quiet room, wonderful venue and champagne bar.Rooms were to warm though.Champagne Bar is fantastic.Bang in the middle of the city centre.Would happily stay again.the massive chandelier is impressive going down the main staircase.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordontaylor230371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Central Hotel.

Your kind words have been communicated to all Heads of Departments.
The team greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts, as it is only through channels such as TripAdvisor that we can strive for excellence.

If you are thinking of visiting us again soon, please call us directly on 0141 240 3733 for the best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,578
    1,351
    576
    217
    141
See reviews for
424
1,748
177
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (933)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

So dissapointed... I was in Glasgow on Business and thought that the hotel actually looks quite nice and is in a good location, but I had an awful nights sleep!!

The radiator was stuck in the on position and the switch was completely broken, therefore it was like a furnice. I had to sleep with the window wide open with seagulls and pigeons from the train station below making a racket. Also, the bed itself was small and uncomfortable, they forgot about my wake-up call and breakfast was a bit of an effort (had to go up and down sets of stairs with all my bags, then wait in a 10 minute queue to get seated).

I must admit however, that I did not complain as I was only staying for 1 night and I couldn't be bothered moving rooms in the middle of the night when I was checking out at 7am.

On a positive note, the shower was really good (which is important to me) and the staff seemed friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markreddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay with us.

It was very upsetting to read that you had a disrupted sleep due to external noise.
However it was also disappointing to hear that you did not bring this to the attention of the team.
We are always willing to offer an alternative room if guests are not comfortable.

If you are ever returning to Glasgow, we would relish the opportunity to provide you a better experience.

Please call our reservations team direrectly on 0141 240 3733 for the best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed here for one night over the weekend, room was spacious and well kept. Check-in and check-out was very quick and we managed to check in much earlier than we had expected. The only problem was that the room seemed very hot, even when a member of staff helped us switch off the radiators. Great location though and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbell87Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Central Hotel.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we do hope to welcome you again soon.

If you are planning a future stay, please call us directly on 0141 240 3733 for our best rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HASTINGS
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business, the Glasgow Airport bus 500 which has free wifi on board takes just 15 mins to reach this hotel at the Bothwell Street at Hope Street stop. I pre purchased the breakfast on the arrival as it was substantially cheaper than paying on the day. I also added on the £6.50 supplement to use the LA Fitness nearby. The hotel is spotless, lavish and the rooms and bathroom in my room was huge and if your travelling by train the station is within the building.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayChapmanHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to The Grand Central with the world.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality that we have to offer our guests, and we look forward to repeating the experience all over again on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed here just for a night in between meetings. The reception is lovely and welcoming and explained everything to me. All the staff were polite and attentive to my every need.Great Location. The hotel s rooms are amazing as well as the hotel hall. Breakfast was just as pleasant and experience as was checking out that was done quickly and efficiently.
Definetly recomend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoudFawadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Central Hotel.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we do hope to welcome you again soon.

If you are planning a future stay, please call us directly on 0141 240 3733 for our best rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

*****************
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel can not be beat. It is literally connected to the Central Train station and is right in the city center. It is a very short walk to Buchanan street and all the shops and restaurants there. I read on Tripadvisor that it was important to get away from noisy areas and I did request that. I was on the 4th floor toward the end of a hall and it was very quiet. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

The lobby areas are quite elegant and nice. My room was clean and fine. However there is quite a bit of wear showing in the bathroom and hall. The plaster is coming loose from the ceiling, there are lots of marks and scratches in the wall. The floor molding is cracking and pulling away from the wall.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sesa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Central Hotel.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your overall stay, but concerning that you picked up on some Maintenance issues. Your comments have been communicated to our Maintenance Team, who will action your points with urgency.

If you are planning a future visit to Glasgow, do not hesitate to call us directly on 0141 240 3733 for the best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

we used the grand central as our wedding venue and it was absolutely perfect. The staff were so helpful, both to us and our guests. It is a really beautiful hotel, but the staff definately make it. We had a number of guests with mobility issues and they were really well looked after. We weren't restricted just to our rooms, the hotel were really happy to let us have pictures taken on the stairs etc.
For the wedding night we were given a beautiful suite with champagne and the concierge worked really hard to get us and all of our things to were they needed to be.
We visited a lot of hotels whilst choosing our wedding venue, but this was by far the nicest and the staff were the most helpful we encountered.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are definately worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Central Hotel.

The team were very pleased to hear that your special day went well and also that your guests enjoyed themselves.

Wishing you the very best for the future!

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,274 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
2,655 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
1,743 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing