We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat...and it was!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just back from overnight stay in this lovely hotel. Fantastic service from all the staff, and although it was very busy, nothing was too much for them. Great room, comfy huge bed, and a breakfast to die for! Fantastic to see the great old photographs of the old days everywhere...can't wait to come back.....

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KIWISCOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Grand Central Hotel.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your Birthday at the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

If you are planning a future stay, please call 0141 240 3733 for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,014 - 3,020 of 4,080 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

Hi we stayed here on 9th april for 2 nights and could not fault it.The rooms are very nice with a nice clean bathroom and comfy beds,and the location was excellent with plenty of bars restaurants within walking distance,and the piano bar on site was nice as well,so i would go back to this hotel in the future no problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theshorts22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Grand Central Hotel.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay.

If you are planning a future stay, do not hesitate to call our in-house reservations team on 0141 240 37233, for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

After quite an experience in a mid price B&B last year I decided to plump for a top of the range Hotel for Unison's Health Conference this year
Cant fault this place large well furnished rooms with flat screen huge bathrooms and excellent service
Never made the bar as Wetherspoons just round the corner but everything else tip top

Room Tip: either overlooking the railway station or the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you for sharing your visit to The Grand Central with the world.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality that we have to offer our guests.

We look forward to repeating the experience all over again on your next visit, whether business or pleasure.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

2 nights spent here before a cruise along the sea lochs from Dunoon. One of the entrances is immediately from Grand Central station which makes it a hassle-free hotel if you are travelling by train. Centrally located for exploring Glasgow. Great afternoon tea, lovely dinner at Tempus and a good buffet breakfast. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.
Accomodation was comfortable although the room overlooked the station roof and we could hear the trains etc. Went quiet after 11. Would stay another time.

Room Tip: Ask about the outlook of the room as many have a view of the station roof. Very long corridors to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theduchess64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Grand Central Hotel.
It was very kind of you to take the time to feedback on your stay.

The team were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

If you are planning a future stay, do not hesitate to call our in-house reservations team on 0141 240 37233, for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

very nice and clean rooms and housekeeping really very friendly and helpful I would highly recommend the next time I am in glasgow sure I will choose this hotel again is wonderful and besides, is located in the city center close to the station and local shops, and yet it is very quiet and welcoming

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you were able to experience the level of service on which we pride ourselves.

We look forward to your return stay with us!

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks and found it to be very spacious and comfortable. It was in a terrific location for bars, restaurants, shopping and public transportation. We used the services and recommendations of the concierge team almost daily and found their recommendations most enjoyable.
Our room was clean however it could have used a bit more storage room for two women staying for two weeks - we had a smallish closet but no dressing table with drawers to store most of our clothes - so we had to live out of the suitcases. We would have liked to be able to adjust the heat in the room. We also would have liked access to an ice machine, rather than having to depend on the busy room service staff to deliver an ice bucket and glasses - it was not always a speedy process. On two occasions we complained about the noise during the night but were told that nothing could be done - due to high winds and a loose piece of metal banging on the roof of the train station. We found all staff to be attentative and friendly - we were always acknowledged by housekeeping and front-desk staff. Overall we found this to be a great stay and great value for our money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2BagsPacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Central Hotel.
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to feedback on your visit.

Your comments have been forwarded to our Restaurant and Maintenance Managers for their immediate attention.

If you are ever returning to the city, do not hesitate to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed here for our business meeting, the room was more of a suite, very large with sofa and desk with a big bathroom also. A lovely Victorian building that is well decorated and sylish but comfortable. The bar area and service was first class, with a colleague having a blackberry martini so nothing was too much trouble. The staff at the hotel went above and beyond duty and I have filled in a VIP card recommending 2 of the staff for their excellent service.

The location is great if you want to go shopping/lunch or visit the sights. The train literally arrives at the platform and you can see the hotel straight away it is that close. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Grand Central Hotel.
It was very kind of you to take the time to feedback on your stay.

The team were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

If you are planning a future stay, do not hesitate to call our in-house reservations team on 0141 240 37233, for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,369 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,079 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,510 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#17 of 93 in Glasgow
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £70 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing