We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay in Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Clydebank, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super Stay in Grand Hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I booked a romantic night for my wifes birthday at this wonderful hotel through Itison. The deal was a night in an executive room with wine, chocolates and full breakfast. After parking our car in the NCP car park next to central station (the hotel arranges a discount from £12 to £8 for 24 hr stay) we made our way trhrough the train station and checked in at the reception. I always like to think that you can tell if your hotel is any good if the first contact you have with their staff is positive and I am pleased to say from the outset all the staff greeted us with smiles and were always very helpful. The hotel looks wonderful with the amazing full height chandelier a real showstopper. Our room was a great size with plenty of storage and all the usual essentials. The shower room was spotless with special toiletries as part of the itison deal. The bed was perfect and we had a great nights sleep (I have read various reviews of poor nights but we had no complaints). We had originally planed to dine out in Glasgow but due to torrential rain we booked the special offer available at the hotel Tempus restaurant. This turned out to be a great choice as we enjoyed two courses each complete with bottle of house wine for £29.95. The special Market place menu was limited but had enough choice for both my wife and I to pick a main and dessert which we really enjoyed. After our meal we ventured along to the Champagne bar as with our deal was a glass of champagne each. This was my only gripe with the whole weekend as the glass of champagne we were given was not a great quality. This didn't spoil our night as we enjoyed one of the bars many cocktails as we sat overlooking the crowds catching the train in the station. After our peaceful nights sleep we headed down to enjoy a wonderful breakfast that catered for all with pastries, pancakes, cereals and full cooked scottish breakfast items. All in all we really enjoyed this stay in Glasgow and would like to thank all the staff for making it a special occasion.

Room Tip: We were in Executive room 309 looking onto Gordon Street, Even numbers look onto Central Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such in-depth and constructive feedback on your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel.
Your comments have been forwarded to each department, who will be very pleased to hear your praise.

If you are planning a future visit, please call our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,592
    1,358
    583
    220
    143
See reviews for
428
1,767
179
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Like the earlier Reviewer we too visited this old, but beutifully renovated hot using a Itison voucher...but there the similarity stops.We found NOTHING WHATSOEVER to moan, critisise or complain about. From arrival (3pm) to check-out (12 noon) our experience was even better that we could have imagined. We were warmly welcomed and all the necassary info was passed on. The "superior room" on the third floor was large,well equpipped and finished to high speck.
I was surprised how little noise could be heard from the street and that, along with the very large and comfortable bed, led to a great night's sleep.
Breakfast was buffet style with a large selection of both cold and hot food available, the staff helpful and friendly, cleaning the vacated tables speedily.
We were encouraged during check-in to woneder about and explore the refurbisged property and when a memeber of staff saw us he took us into the banquet hall which was prepared for a wedding, and showed us around explaining all that had been changed.

We left later having had a great relaxing experience and would love to return if it should become possible agian in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasg0wJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Grand Central Hotel!
Your kind words have been forwarded to all department heads.

If you are ever planning a future visit to Glasgow, we would relish the opportunity to welcome you back. The best available rates are available from our in-house reservations team on 0141 240 3733.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

**********************
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paisley-scotland
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is a wonderful building that has had major surgery by the owners. The rooms are of a high standard, although we did not stay overnight so cant comment personally on sleep quality the family members who did said it was fine. We were here for a family wedding and would like to say that the food was excellent and the staff very professional and attentive. The hotel is stunning inside with many great features. The only slight downside was the prices at the bar particularly for wine. Would recommend and will be back. Worth going back just to go to the champagne bar.

Room Tip: Room 206 was used by a member of the family and was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyinglife49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to The Grand Central Hotel.

Your positive feedback is highly appreciated and we do hope to welcome you again soon!

If you are planning a future stay to Glasgow, please call our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for the hotel's best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

*********************
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

A Glasgow institution, everybody whom has been anyone special has stayed at this hotel from Hollywood stars to Politicians to you name it.. even Roy Rogers and Trigger..
A very lovely restoration of a magnificent hotel, check out the champagne bar, the chandeliers, the main staircase and make sure you get a copy of the book from reception which can tell you all you need to know.
Very good for travel being part of the Glasgow Central Station and easy parking at Oswald street car park, through the station concourse into the hotel.

Perfect..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reflecting on your recent stay.
The Grand Central Team greatly appreciate all feedback, as it is only through these channels that we strive to improve the service we offer.

If you are planning a future visit to Glasgow, please do not hesitate to call our in-house reservations team for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

**********************
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Having stayed many times before we took the opportunity to stay on Saturday night on the recent itison deal.

During breakfast I said to my partner 'I think I've fallen out of favour with the grand central'!!!

We arrived early on Saturday and left our luggage with concierge who couldn't have been better. My comments re customer service don't apply here....they were great!

We returned at about 3.30pm to check in for what can only be described as a lack lustre service!!! The person checking us in did not reference previous stays, he didn't ask whether a paper or alarm call were required and finally he didn't pass over our vouchers that were part of the deal.

The room was fine. There are many different shapes and sizes of rooms in grand central and our request for high floor away from Gordon street was accepted. Our room 345 was an average room for grand central...I have stayed on bigger and have seen smaller.

The deal also provided wine and sweet platter in the room. This is normally in the room on arrival however it wasn't on this occasion. On calling reception to chase this and the vouchers I was told that both aren't normally sent up until you check in. I am not sure that's the case as that wasn't so in our previously visits.

345 was a pretty quiet room so it's a good location for a quiet nights sleep.

Breakfast the following morning was as it usually was...busy but hot and plentiful. My only criticism is that there seems to be a change regarding coffee and large pots are left on the tables. I am not happy that it transfers from one sitting to the next but also it's not as nice coffee. Other than that breakfast was nice.

I am not sure I will return. It's fine, it's a great location but other hotels in Glasgow are delivering much better customer service which is a shame for the grand central as this costs nothing and makes a huge difference!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Central Hotel.

It was fantastic to read that you chose to return to the hotel for a return visit.

Guest amenities are generally placed in rooms between 3.00pm and 4.00pm, due to the dairy element in our Chocolate dipped strawberries. Please accept our sincerest apologies if this marred your stay.

Your comments are greatly appeciated and we do hope to welcome you again soon.
If you are planning a future stay, please call our in-house reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

*******************
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buncrana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Had a great weekend break here. The grand staircase going right to the top of the hotel reminded us of Hogwarts - spectacular!! Great hospitality from beginning to end. Breakfast was delicious, location was FANTASTIC, room couldn't have been more comfortable and the staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. I've already recommended this hotel to everyone who has asked! STAY HERE!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for choosing The Grand Central on your recent visit to Glasgow.

The location of the hotel is really one of our greatest attributes.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality that we have to offer our guests, and we look forward to repeating the experience all over again on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here on for an overnight stay on the weekend of 5/5/13. We arrived a few hours before the 3pm check in time but were glad to hear our room was ready. We were booked into a Kingsize deluxe room as part of an Itison deal - which turned out to be fantastic value for money. The deal included, in room wine, chocolates & luxury toiliteries along with a glass of champagne in the fantastic champagne bar and breakfast. The hotel has been nicely refurbished within the last couple of years and staff were very friendly - some of the hall curtains I think may have been overlooked and left from days gone by, but on the whole the hotel is very comfortable. The chandeliers within the main atrium and champagne bar are amazing. Breakfast was very busy and for me seemed a bit chaotic, however not enough put me off staying again. For anyone who loves to shop The Grand Central really is at the heart of it all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatherTed1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to The Grand Central with the world.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the renovations and our hospitality.

Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,663 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing