We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Celebration for My Daughter's Graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Celebration for My Daughter's Graduation”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I am a 57 year old disabled man who uses a wheelchair and was delighted by the excellent service I received from this lovely hotel from the time that I booked the stay onwards. Reception staff were brilliant at explaining the exact details of the accessible room my wife and I booked so that we knew precisely what disability equipment to bring with us. We arrived very late off the London train and were greeted efficiently and pleasantly. It is a real bonus to be able to get straight from train to hotel so quickly and easily.

The accessible room was very well thought out and adapted. When I got stuck on the loo which can happen because of my condition the staff were very helpful indeed, helping me to my feet with the minimum embarrassment. Breakfast both mornings we stayed was very good indeed. We had booked a celebratory tea and evening meal for my daughter's graduation, both of which were first class. The restaurant staff realised what we were celebrating and gave a complimentary glass of fizz to all the party.

The hotel has been beautifully refurbished and we found the service to be uniformly attentive and kind. I am astonished by the negativity of some other reviews which could not have been further from our experience of this delightful stylish hotel. We certainly plan to stay again.

Room Tip: If you are disabled speaking to reception about your needs on advance gets you lots of help and supp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William-Catford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to The Grand Central with the world.

Your description of The Grand Central is lovely, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us in such a personal way.

We hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel, to repeat your experience all over again.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    1,305
    564
    210
    134
See reviews for
406
1,693
173
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Was so looking forward to take my husband here for his 40th. Its a great location but however our room view was such a let down. When getting drinks from the bar after a certain time you have the inconvenience to go down to reception to open an account then back to the bar rather than it getting charged to your account.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank learys-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

It was disappointing to read that your visit to the Grand Central did not meet your expectations.
The hotel team work very hard to make sure that all guests enjoy their stay, so it was regrettable to hear about the challenges you experienced whilst with us.

The photograph and comments you provided on your room view have been treated with the utmost urgency and this matter has been passed to our Maintenance Team. The team will be making a special effort in future to assure that this area remains both clean and free from debris.

All guests are given the opportunity to open an account for room charging at point of check-in. Please accept the hotel's apologies if this was not made clear to you at this time.

We are most grateful for your feedback.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here in a double room when we came down for a concert. We tried to get for another two nights but was fully booked so we moved to another 4 star hotel nearby, the other hotel was not a patch on the central.... This hotel is beautiful and very atmospheric, reading thru the booklet at the famous people that stayed in the old hotel is wonderful..l. The champagne bar is excellent and is the restaurant and quality of food served. We loved it so much we decided to stay an extra night in glasgow and rebook into the central this time they upgraded us to an executive suite.....beautiful room, loads of space and very very clean. Staff are all very nice and helpful, we left our luggage before our suite was ready and as it was raining i was even asked if i needed an umbrella if i was walking around, where else do you get service like that. Definitely my new favourite place to stay in glasgow...

Room Tip: Any room would be great i think in this beautiful old hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unteebunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for choosing The Grand Central on your recent visit to Glasgow.

We are pleased that you were able to experience the level of service on which we pride ourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel is located next to the main railway station so ideal for travellers who want to wlk out of the station and straight to the hotel. It has a long history and been around for a long time so can experience the times of yesteryear.
Our room overlooked the station which has an opaque glass covering so you can't see the trains. There is no real view of any worth. from the bedroom. You can hear the muffled sounds of the tannoy announcements but not the trains. We were on the top floor.
There was a wedding on at the weekend and they had a loud disco which can be heard right up to the fourth floor. It went on to about 1 a.m. Did not bother us but might some others.
The room had dark decor and honestly it was quite fitting for the hotel. A reminder of the times of steam travel. The bed was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was fine with good shower and bath facilities.
It's not often you want to open a window in your room in Glasgow but our visit was at a time when the weather was good and it needed airing. You can open the sash window merely an inch which was not enough.
The staff we met were all Scots, young , knowledgable and extremely polite and helpful. I quickly worked out they were all university graduates and were very enthusiastic about the city and places to visit.
The restaurant offered an excellent menu and cannot praise the staff highly enough. I had a very minor issue with the main course which was an observation and not a complaint. It was treated professionally and free tea and coffee was offered as an apology. Basic bottles of wine were priced in the £20 plus bracket.
It is not 5 star or gives the impression of a luxurious stay as the decor is really quite drab. but it is clean and well looked after.
Breakfast at £10 a head is steep especially when you are surrounded by loads of cafes and restaurants which will do the same job at a fraction of the price.
What sold it to us was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room the other side of the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Central Hotel.

The team are always grateful for feedback, as it allows us to make amendments to the service we offer.

Your comments on our staff will be communicated to the relevant heads of department, who will be very pleased that you found them to be of a friendly and professional nature.

If you are planning a future visit, please call our in-house Reservations Team for our best available rates on 0141 240 3733.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed here for one night and the overall experience was great! the rooms were lovely and the staff were nothing but helpful (especially AJ!!! he was fabulous) I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart-beith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you kindly for your feedback.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at The Grand Central, Glasgow and I will share your comments with the team as a motivation to keep doing what they do best. The hospitality they have shown will be recognised and appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my daughter for Robbie concert. Hotel lovely and all staff very polite and helpful. Considering this hotel is in the heart of Glasgow very quiet at night. Would love to go back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audreyrobertson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

The team were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and also to see Robbie Williams - we do hope you will consider us on his next UK tour.

If you are planning a visit to Glasgow in the near future, please call our in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights at the front end of our 2 weeks in the U.K. Picked this hotel because we would be proceeding by train from Glasgow and you can't have a better location than this for train travel. But when we arrived by plane at 7 AM from the US we were simply treated as an annoyance by the reception desk. We were rather rudely told that we could check our luggage and go for a walk and check back about noon. The last thing we felt like at that time was a walk. We asked if there was somewhere we could sit and get something to eat and got sent into the train station. Not a great welcome. So after wandering around in the train station for an hour or two, we went back to reception who again told us that checkout time wasn't until noon, they wouldn't have a room for us before that and there was nothing they could do for us. We asked again about somewhere we could just sit and relax, and finally got directed to the Champagne Bar. So off we went. And then after sitting around there for a while, one of the waiters took pity on us and took us up to the business lounge where we were finally able to sit and relax. This waiter also went down and told then reception where we would be, so they could come and find us when our room was ready, which they eventually did. I've been to Europe many times, and most big hotels have some sort of lounge for early arriving guests. Not here.
After this initiation, our stay did get better. The hotel has been beautifully restored, it is in a great location, our room was large and comfortable. As others have mentioned the WiFi arrangement is absurd. It is a shame that in an incredibly friendly city like Glasgow, the staff here isn't.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

It was disappointing to read that your stay was marred by the lack of an early check-in.
The Front of House and Housekeeping Teams will always do their very best to allow early-arrivals to check-in, however this is only possible if rooms are available.

We can guarantee an early check-in, however only if guests reserve their room the night before their arrival, as our check-out time is 12.00. Please accept our sincerest apologies if this option was not recommened to you.

It was disappointing that the team did not offer our Business Centre when you first arrived, as this would have been a more comfortable option for you. The feedback you have provided on this is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to our Front of House Manager.

We pride ourselves on the friendly service the Glasgow is famous for and it is with regret that we have not extended this courtesy to you. If you are ever returning to the city, please do contact us directly and we would relish the opportunity to demonstrate our hospitality once more.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing