We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand, but chilly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you arrive in Glasgow by train, like we did, there is no better place. The location, integrated in the central station, is unbeatable. We stayed one night, on a rather cold late November Saturday. The hotel atmosphere holds a grandeur that follows you up the staircases and through the halls. Our room itself was more modest, but still clean and practical. Breakfast was tasty and with a nice selection. We took the advise in the hotel folder and arrived early, so we got a table at once. The reception staff was polite and very helpful with local travel information, and the room service delivered as ordered.

On the flip side the room was quite chilly, due to limited heating possibilities and windows that did not close properly. I also find it rather surprising that a hotel of this standard still charges extra for decent wireless connection....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. We rely on feedback from our guests to continually improve our service within the hotel, and I thank you for taking your time to pass your on.

You may be interested to know that the Grand Central is about to undergo further refurbishment, with the addition of new bedrooms and leisure space. At the same time our maintainance team will be working to improve the heating system within our bedrooms, with the addition of thermostatic controls.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,603 - 2,609 of 3,985 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here for an overnighter in late November on a Saturday night. The hotel is very well located, in the heart of Glasgow and near all the main attractions/shops. It is a lovely old building with lots of history and real grandeur. Internally it has been lovingly restored and modernised. The reception staff and every other staff member we passed in the hallways were very friendly and welcoming.

We had a very large room (room 254 - an unusual configuration to fit the shape of the building meant the room was larger than most others on the floor, as far as I could tell) which was very clean and comfortable. On a cold weekend, and despite the big space and high ceilings the room was warm. Not really much of a view to speak of, as one window looked over the roof of Central Station and the other onto the wall of another part of the hotel, but the large windows did let in plenty of light. There was a desk, wardrobe, small coffee table, a king-sized bed and good-sized wall-mounted television. The bed was comfortable and the sheets high-quality. Nice spacious bathroom with a good rainforest shower (over the bath) and quality toiletries. Tea and coffee-making facilities in the room (although the single shortbread biscuits that were provided were so small they all but evaporate in your mouth). All in all, a very pleasant room in a well-located and very attractive hotel.

So why the three stars?

Quite simply, the noise. At about 10.30pm on the Saturday evening a band - a Queen covers band (I know because I could identify the songs... in fact I could hear every instrument) started playing in the ballroom on the floor below us. Normally I don't much bother about noise. I can sleep through most things and I'm not much of a complainer, so even slightly intrusive noise wouldn't make me complain. But in this case the floor was trembling from the bass and the drums, and we could hear the band over the sound of the television. I called reception and, to be fair, they were very apologetic. They tried to find us another room, but the hotel was fully booked. They comp'd us a breakfast and a late check-out (3pm) the following day, which was good customer service, but it didn't help us sleep any better through the noise.

The band played on until 2am and then we finally got some sleep, reasoning we could lie in with our free late check-out the next morning. Unfortunately, at around 10am the following morning, there was some sort of sound check and the music started again. It was only half an hour, but we were disturbed again.

I am not sure if there is anything that can be done about this. Obviously the building is very old and there may be restrictions on how much sound-proofing can be installed, but the amount of noise that was coming through the floor really wasn't acceptable. Hopefully this is only an issue on weekends but this is clearly a common complaint as when I checked out there was a ready acceptance of the issue.

The (comp'd) breakfast buffet was good, with a decent selection of hot and cold items. You do have to pay an extra £3 if you want hot chocolate or a non-standard coffee such as a cappuccino, which struck us as unusual. Standard tea and coffee is free.

The only other problem we had was that the audio description feature was somehow enabled on the TV and I couldn't work out how to turn it off.

I would stay at the hotel again as the staff were terrific, the room was very comfortable and the hotel does have a lot of old-world charm, but if it was on a weekend I would check if there were any events on in the ballroom first, or ask for a room on a high floor away from the ballroom.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. We rely on feedback from our guests to continually improve our service within the hotel, and I thank you for taking your time to pass your on.

Our reservations team do try and allocate bedrooms to suit our guests preferences, so if you are staying with us again please make our team aware that you would like a quiet room and we will find you the best we can.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

my wife and i arrived at the hotel about 3 and were given a very warm welcome by the young lady at reception . the hotel is stunning from the entrance to the rooms, ours was large with a huge bathroom .we booked for dinner and had a wonderful meal served by very attentive staff.we then headed to the champagne bar for drinks i would like to give a huge shout out to Keiran the bar manager ( cheers big man) breakfast was a buffet with a good choice. one week later iam still rabbiting on to my wife about our stay and we will be back

Room Tip: use the stairs ask for 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevvyboy2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel, it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You may also be interested to know that the Grand Central is about to undergo further refurbishment, with the addition of new bedrooms and leisure space including our new Champagne Corner.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

A 3 night trip booked well in advance to celebrate my husbands birthday. Travelling with two small children you want a good place to stay -this was ok but we wouldn't rush back.
Having stayed ay many other Glasgow hotels (from the cheaper Holiday Inn end to the Hilton and Radisson end) this didn't stack up brilliantly given the price paid.
Positives: walking distance to everything you want, very spacious accommodation, high end finish in rooms,architecture lovely.
Lesser points: levels of cleanliness, no bedding/towels for the kids, lack of attention to detail.

Check in was clunky and lengthy as "the rooms are all booked out". Finally made it to room which was spacious and well appointed. But there was no bedding or towels for kids. Windows quite dirty, bottled water not replenished, lighting very subdued so poor for make up application or hair drying, Hair dryer had no nozzle, plug socket at desk didn't work and clearly cleaning ended at head height.....you could write your name in the dust on the bedside mirrors, bathroom tiles and bathroom mirror.
Breakfast staff were friendly and welcoming. Checkout staff gave us a "right that's fine" - not interested whether we had enjoyed our stay, needed any help for onward journey etc. Overall - disappointed. Plenty money has been spent titivating - but it needs the finer detail to make it feel like a trueluxury experience.

Room Tip: try to get away from the station side - windows are dirty and it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieGilmourDervaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. We rely on feedback from our guests to constantly improve our service standards, and we thank you for taking the time to pass yours on.

Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed at the Grand Central for two nights last weekend. The location is fabulous, being right in the centre of town above the railway station (there is good soundproofing in thew windows, so no trains heard at night!). The building is fabulous, with very high ceilings - unfortunately, this mean all the heat rises far away from you, leaving the room quite cold. 30 mins of wifi is free (and can restart the 30mins each time for free), but reception is not great. The Tempus restaurant is hidden away and hard to find, but good value.

Also, when I booked, I got a fabulous deal on room+breakfast for earlier nights, but disappeared when I included the Saturday. So to get the deal for earlier nights, you will need to make two bookings - one for these nights, another for the Saturday. Slightly annoying, but that's my tip!

Room Tip: Rooms on Saturday seem expensive. To get the seasonal deal for earlier nights, you will need to mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel, it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry if you had problems with the booking process, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates if you make a booking in the future.

You may also be interested to know that the Grand Central is about to undergo further refurbishment, with the addition of new bedrooms and leisure space including our new Champagne Corner.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

would like to say a big thankyou to all in the hotel for making our stay there wonderfull it was a pleasure and made our 42 wedding anniversary with there kind extra,s we both will look forward to going back in the future

Room Tip: our room was great nice and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audrey t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team looked after you for your anniversary!

You may be interested to know that the Grand Central is about to undergo further refurbishment, with the addition of new bedrooms and leisure space including our new Champagne Corner.

Next time you plan a stay at the Grand Central, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel is absolutely fabulous, the effort that has been made did not go unnoticed. The room was amazing, as was the bathroom and the service we received. The location is perfect and made our stay in Glasgow much easier. We made use of the champagne bar and facilities. We would definitely stay here again and plan to book a longer trip in the New Year! I had never been to Glasgow before this trip, but the refurbishment is great and still keeps the feel of the original building.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyshaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you plan to return next year!

You may be interested to know that the Grand Central is about to undergo further refurbishment, with the addition of new bedrooms and leisure space including our new Champagne Corner.

Next time you plan a stay at the Grand Central, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,046 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,829 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £78 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing