We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Central Glasgow - simply loveley hotel full of character and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
YORK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Grand Central Glasgow - simply loveley hotel full of character and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel twice in the last month on single night business trips, on both occasions I have really enjoyed my stay, the rooms are large and for an old hotel this place is maintained to a very high standard. I really like the grandness and character compared to most city centre hotels and at £119 I thought great value. Breakfast was very nice choice and good quality.

On checking out I had a really friendly discussion with Susan and Lynsey on reception, these two ladies are a credit to the hotel, especially on a busy check-out desk, really jovial and set the day off nicely, like most businesses its the people that really make the difference and they certainly do in this establishment, every employee who you pass in the corridors always speak, really positive thing to me. I have already recommended this hotel to others in my team as a preferred place to stay in Glasgow City Centre and would do so to any others considering this hotel.

Location is very central, it's on Gordon Street in the same building as Central Station, only slight downside for some will be if they get a room looking into the station, for me it didn't bother me and noise didn't cause me problems at all. Location is ideal for business or leisure stays and hotel would be fine for all ages and all abilities. Thank you I will be back.

Room Tip: To be on the safe side make sure you ask for a room that DOES NOT overlook the station platforms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. The team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,463
    1,264
    553
    207
    131
See reviews for
381
1,644
163
626
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

A beautiful hotel situated in the heart of Glasgow City Centre. The hotel does look grand and has decor appropriate to the style of the property but sadly it failed badly in customer service basics. A very slow response to calls made from the room to room service and guest services. A situation not expected in a four star hotel. The room was cold on arrival as heating was not functioning adequately. Maybe by going back to basics customer service could be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. It was disappointing to see that you faced some challenges whilst staying with us. One of our Guest Relations Managers will be in contact personally to discuss this matter further.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 583 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a similar experience to "DuncNewt" in a previous review ;

Why would you rent a room to the paying public when you know that directly below the room their will be a function with a terrible DJ who loves his drum and bass ?

The volume was ridiculous and we promptly complained and they offered us the same late check-out and compo breakfast ? REALLY ?

I don't agree with the inference that the hotel is past it's prime. It's only been reopened for 3 years ? However, that is the strange part, it look very obviously that the redecoration and fit out has been done on the cheap ;

Door furniture has been removed and then filled and painted by amateurs. The same amateurs then hung the paper on the bedroom walls and rubbed the joints down with a roller and the paste has flashed all the joints, which don't meet. The crazy, over the top lighting can't be switched independently, all on or all off ? None of the TV remotes worked properly.

The huge bathroom, without a bath, was Baltic and took an eternity to heat up. Why was it not heated prior to our arrival ? There was cracked and split paintwork throughout the bathroom due to external water ingress and the shower head wasn't connected properly.

Thank goodness it was only one night . Would not recommend at all.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfanumeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Grand Central Hotel.

I was disappointed to read about your experience, a member of our Guest Relations team will be in contact directly to discuss this matter further. We rely on feedback from guests such as yourself to continually improve upon our guest service offering within the hotel, and I thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Kind Regards

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

stayed for one night in November. car park exit leads onto central station platform where one of the entrances to the hotel is located (take the yellow token and staff will validate it at the front desk. parking was £8 for 24 hours). was allowed to check in at 1.30pm and staff were quick to put the travel cot we asked for in the room and the doorman helped with the pram. very large room on second floor. didn't hear any street noise even when people were going into the station at night after the Scotland v usa game. nice room with lots of space. breakfast was very nice with attentive staff.
had a few drinks in the champagne bar which is a nice low key place. didn't have any food but saw others eating and the afternoon teas looked lush.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel, it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You may also be interested to know that the Grand Central is about to undergo further refurbishment, with the addition of new bedrooms and leisure space including our new Champagne Corner.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rissington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We arrived late in the day, escaping (as we thought) forecast severe weather. We had been staying on the Isle of Arran, but made a sharp exit before 70mph winds closed the ferry crossing. When we got to Glasgow it was too late to continue our journey south, so we put up at the Grand Central. A room was found at short notice and even an upgrade. The room was clean and comfortable with masses of towels, bath robes and toiletries. (It was also possibly the biggest hotel room that we have ever stayed in.) The expected storms arrived in the early morning and took off part of the roof of the adjoining station: we were twice evacuated from the hotel because of this. Throughout the disruption the hotel staff remained good humoured and efficient. Complimentary tea and coffee were made available and every effort made to keep us informed of the evolving travel situation. In the event, no trains ran from the station until very late in the afternoon, by which time it was again too late to travel south, so we stayed on for another night. The room that we had this time was not quite so grand as the night before and there were a few minor glitches (dead light bulb in the bedside light, damage to the socket unit on the desk. A good buffet breakfast was included in the room rate on both nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jansci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. The team are delighted that you made your way home safely after the storms, it was a pleasure having you with us.

I was also happy to read that our team looked after you during the fire evacuations. Unfortunately the storms damaged central station and I thank you for being so understanding during a difficult day. If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I can't bring myself to award 5 stars as the room cost me £100. However, the hotel is very clean and well appointed. Staff were excellent and very friendly. I don't normally stay at Principal Hayley hotels as I don't generally like them, but I would stay here again.

Even 2 fire alarms and evacuations hasn't spoilt my impression of this hotel and I think that's probably because the staff really made an effort to try and make the experience right - even though fire alarms are completely outside of their control.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy1577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

I was also happy to read that our team looked after you during the fire evacuations. Unfortunately the storms damaged central station and I thank you for being so understanding during a difficult day.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Great location for shopping and night life. Upgraded our room and was pleasantly surprised at just how big it actually was - bathroom included.

The Champagne Central bar is definitely worth a visit, our cocktails were to die for. Really good atmosphere and not too overpriced.

I would however warn you about the outside noise. Our room must have been relitavely close to a bar as we could hear the music clearly. If you are a light sleeper, I would definitely recommend you request a quiet room.

Room Tip: For light sleepers - request a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing