We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We took advantage of a suite offer and were not disappointed in any way. This was not our first stay at the hotel, but the first in a suite and it was all you could hope for. Very big and clean and the welcome tray was varied and enjoyable. The service throughout was very pleasant. We were delighted with the hospitality offered as our suite was not quite ready we were invited to have a glass of champagne in the champagne lounge and our keys were brought to us in the lounge. We had booked a meal in the Tempus restaurant and this was also great. The service was quick and efficient and the food was really good with the steak cooked to perfection.
Hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: The J F Kennedy suite is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review of your recent experience at the Grand Central. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly.

We are currently undergoing further refurbishment in the hotel, with the addition of bedrooms and leisure space, including our new Champagne Corner.

If you are visiting Glasgow again please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,503 - 2,509 of 3,987 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

My sister & I spent 10 days here while we retraced the lives of our Grandparents! The hotel was in a very convenient location & very comfortable. The staff was very competent and always helpful while being very friendly. Staff members that went out of their way were Tony & Gordon (concierges) and David in the breakfast dining room. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed at the Hotel Russell (Principal Hayley hotel) in London on our way home via Heathrow! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dgbedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. It was a delight to hear that you were so well looked after by our superb concierge team.

At the Grand Central the comfort and well-being of our guests is our top priority and I am happy to hear that our team has done us proud.

Thank you again, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I always choose the grand central when staying in Glasgow. Perfect location, lovely modern rooms and friendly efficient staff. This hotel has character and history and always has a great atmosphere. Tempus restaurant serves excellent meals and the champagne bars perfect for drinks and meeting friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roz164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your review of your experience at the Grand Central. Feedback from our regular guests is always appreciated, and I am glad to hear that we are continually delivering sensational service!

I you are booking to stay with us again please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates and packages.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon.

Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The room was fine but room service is inexcusably slow and breakfast terrible - standing joke of a 'toast machine', dreadful selection and environment. Would not stay here again and can't believe they haven't sorted it out. Given the landmark nature of the property it's such a shame that they cannot sort out catering and service.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LondonJinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

I was disappointed to read about the challenges you faced during your stay. A member of our Guest Relations team will be in direct contact to discuss your stay more thoroughly..

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed here recently for 3 nights. For a 4* hotel, it was very reasonably priced and the location is second to none (it's connected to the Glasgow Central Station). The hotel itself is very elegant, with a beautiful Champagne Bar. The restaurant food was fantastic and the staff were very polite. I got a little too drunk on one night and they were extremely patient as I tried to explain I didn't know where my room was.

I found the service to be a little slow at times. We were kept waiting for around 10 minutes during checkout while the receptionist chatted to the porter and room service took quite a while.

I feel for such an elegant hotel, they should also do something to stop local tramps from trying to get in. One was opening the main hotel door when I arrived and then requesting money for doing so. Not the best first impression!

All in all - lovely hotel and very good value for money.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are quite small, mine (455) had very limited natural light. I'd strongly rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavp1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Grand Central Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

At the Grand Central the security of our guests is top priority, with our security team and duty managers performing regular walks of the building to deter "tramps" from entering or otherwise hassling our guests, please rest assured that every precaution is taken.

Thank you again, and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Always try and stay here if down at a concert in Glasgow, the staff are very friendly.
The rooms are very comfy and great value for money, shame a breakfast is not thrown in.
Definitely be back next time in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starkreality1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly.

if you are looking to stay with us in the future please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed for a night at the Grand Central in January 2014, the building is part of the Central station in Glasgow and has been upgraded/decorated to a very high standard, from the entrance hall to the bedrooms everything is on a grand scale.

Our room overlook the main concourse of the station and as well as having an interesting view was very well appointed, a large comfortable bed and spotlessly clean bathroom were very welcome.

If you stay, go to the Champagne bar and treat yourself, it's a great bar, friendly staff and you get to watch people coming and going high above the station. It's pricey but you're paying for the atmosphere as well as good drinks.

The staff were all very professional, welcoming and knowledgeable and are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLR1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent experience at the Grand Central. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to sample the Champagne Bar.

If you are booking to stay with us again, please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,046 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,830 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £77 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing