We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a gorgeous suite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Largs
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“what a gorgeous suite!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

had a night in the JFK suite courtesy of Christmas present from friends. what a beautiful suite - so comfortable and spacious. champagne chilling in huge ice bucket on our arrival, free wifi and a lovely breakfast. very friendly and obliging staff.

Room Tip: although central no noise from traffic during the night albeit the bin lorries made a bit of a din i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review of your recent experience at the Grand Central.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our JFK Suite so much! You may be interested to know that during the refurbishment of our 5th floor we will be adding new Junior Suites, which should be ready by June.

If you would like to make a booking please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733.

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,578
    1,348
    576
    216
    141
See reviews for
423
1,746
176
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We had an executive double. The room was huge and we'll set out with plenty big mirrors and a great hair dryer and ironing board/iron, the bed was really huge and comfortable, the rain shower was powerful and there was excellent white company toiletries.
No mini bar unfortunately.
We had breakfast delivered and it was very good and hot.
Staff member at reception was friendly and helpful.
Excellent Champagne bar overlooking reception. I recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ccjo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly.

If you are looking to book with us again in the future please feel free to phone us on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Adjacent to the central station but not affected by noise. Good quality rooms very reasonably priced (£79 inc breakfast for a double with single stay) Buffet breakfast in the morning very nice. WIFI's a bit weird in that you have to buy a card with an access code. £10 for 24 hours. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you found our room so be good quality and reasonably priced. We have complimentary wi-fi available throughout the hotel, and also high speed access available for teleconferencing and downloading large files.

If you are looking to book in the future please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed in a twin room for our annual girlie night away with a friend. Had a lovely stay, room large, well equipped and spotlessly clean, booked on Sunday DBB special for £135, superb deal. Dinner and breakfast excellent. Close to shops and Concierge kept our bags to allow us more shopping time before we headed home. Only thing missing is a Spa, hope this is part of the refurbishment plans

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfStar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central hotel.

I was delighted to read that you and your friend had such a lovely time with us. At the moment our refurbishment is adding bedrooms and extra lounge space, though we do have existing space in our basement level that was formerly a swimming pool. Please check our website regularly for any updates.

If you are looking to book with us in the future please feel free to phone us on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Love this hotel. Had a deal via a booking site with breakfast. For the hotel, service and ambiance I give 5 stars, however the breakfast knocks it down to 4. Breakfast is a buffet service. The food was lukewarm and a few items had been standing around for a while and were a bit dried out. The first cup of coffee I had was lukewarm too, the 2nd was good. When I've previously stayed in Glasgow I've never booked a place with breakfast included as there is such a variety of places to go in the town. Will definitely stay in the Grand Central again but not have breakfast in the hotel.

Room Tip: High up as possible as in a busy part of Glasgow so noise from the road and the railway station like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central, I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room, though disappointed to hear that our breakfast was not up to your standards.

I will be sure to pass your feedback on to our kitchen team, as it is through feedback from our guests that we review and improve our standards.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Beautiful hotel in a great central location. Staff were friendly and the room was perfect if a little warm and unfortunately no way to turn the heating down or open a window. If however your intention is to actually get some sleep then I recommend that you do not book into this hotel. We were attending a function and were allocated room 106 which is on the train station side. Every 15 seconds there was an announcement over a tannoy of either a train arrival or departure. It was extremely loud and absolutely impossible to sleep. I actually contemplated taking my quilt into the bathroom to get some sleep but eventually gave up and checked out of the hotel to head home for some much needed sleep. Did advise the check-out staff that we thought the hotel was lovely and staff members had been very nice but I would not book again due to the noise...was advised "yes I know....that's what happens when you book a hotel in such a central location"....not exactly the response you would expect!

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the train station side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and our great location however, it was disappointing to see that you found your room to be noisy. In any event that a guest is unhappy with their room allocation, our reception team are more than happy to offer an alternative. Please accept our apologies that this was not made available to you.

If you are planning any future visits then please call our reservations team on +44(0)141 240 3733 to receive the best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and stayed here while seeing a show at the hydro ( only £5 in a taxi from the front of the hotel). Great hotel loads of history to it if you like a train . A vast place restored nicely and in the centre of the city access to everything.
The room was large nicely appointed so many rooms they are apparently renovating the next three floors to add to the 4 that are there all ready. Not much of a view but we are in centre of Glasgow you can see the station concourse from some rooms.
The champagne bar also over looks the station the bar has a cracking chandelier . Bar very good sells local beers and does food as well as champagne so do be fraud of the name . Food very good too my only complaint the sausages at breakfast not the best in a word cheap.
I can't recommend this place enough the atmosphere of the place is grand and so central there is all so ncp car park at the rear so parking no problem but it is the station and the other station just two blocks away who needs the car.

Room Tip: Over looking the station if you like trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

You may be interested to know that the hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment with the addition of new bedrooms and lounge space, including our newly opened Champagne Corner.

If you would like to make another booking please phone us on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
2,653 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
1,740 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing