We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
falkirk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent Hotel staff very helpful I gave this stay as a Christmnas present for my Mum & Dad and they had a fabulous time. It was my dads birthday and the staff offered them extra tickets for the champagne bar where my daughter joined them as a surprise :)

Room Tip: Special Offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jenniferclapperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review of the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

If you are making a booking please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,463
    1,264
    553
    207
    131
See reviews for
381
1,644
163
626
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Second visit to the hotel, which has surpassed the first time. Fab hotel, efficient check-in. Tempus dining is well worth a visit, Luke being brilliant as front of house. Then you MUST visit the cocktail bar, brill for people watching!! Could not have found a better place to celebrate my birthday, can't recommend it highly enough. Gordon is good too, because he will mi d your bags after check out whilst you go for a wander.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review of the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

If you are making a booking please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Excellent venue for event. lovely reception for drinks and lovely room for event. Very central for city break tour. Glamorous old world feel hotel. Staff helpful and attentive without being intrusive.
Lovely champagne bar.

Room Tip: All rooms we have seen are great. Very spacious good showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review of the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

If you are making a booking please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I booked 3 rooms for myself and 5 other friends to celebrate a special 50th birthday. The variations of the size of the 3 rooms were un beleivable. The room that the birthday girl and myself had was like a converted cupboard at the end of the corridor. When I called to question the difference in size I was told thst I would get a call back. On receiving this call was told they could not offer me another room and any way there were other guests in the hotel paying more than I had paid and they were in a smaller room. Also left sitting at reception when booking in for over 20 mins as rooms not ready reception did request contact number to call me but I advised would be in foyer, eventually had to go back to reception and chase them up. Disappointed with overalk experience

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. We rely on feedback from our guests, such as yourself, to continually improve upon our standards and service offering and I thank you for taking the time to pass your on.

Kind Regards

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary on 6th February for four nights and had a lovely stay. The hotel although almost part of the Central station is very luxurious inside. The bedrooms were spacious and light and very comfortable. The champagne bar had a great atmosphere and the staff could not do enough. When we booked and mentioned it was our anniversary we were spoilt and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant and when we arrived there was a glass of champagne for us and to finish petit fours with happy anniversary in melted chocolate... Yummy... The concierge was so informative and recommended areas to see and visit. Every single member of staff were always smiling and happy to help. We would definitely return.. The only point we were surprised was that we had spent nearly £1000 for 4 nights with dinner and drinks over the days and then there was an additional charge for parking. This felt a wee bit unfair and I heard other guests saying the same thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you were so well looked after by all of our team, and you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us.

As we don't have our own parking facilities, we do use the two city centre NCP car parks close by. Our guests are given a heavily reduced rate of £8 for up to 24hours when they stay, though due to the car parks not being our own, we are unable to offer complimentary parking.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

What can i say the service was 5* from start to finish. Got upgraded to a deluxe room which was amazing. The bed was spacious and the bathroon was grande, was only there for one night to celebrate my partners birthday. Cannot wait to go back the next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrello88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for leaving your wonderful review of the Grand Central Hotel.

Our aim is to provide sensational service in a unique and spectacular setting, and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

If you would like to book to stay again please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

6 friends chose this hotel for a special birthday celebration, staying for four nights. While we have nothing negative to say about the quality of this iconic building, or indeed of the pleasant, polite staff we encountered, our stay was less than perfect due to the inefficiencies of the housekeeping arrangements. For example - one bed was "spread up" rather than being made properly. Tea/coffee supplies were not replenished and used mugs left unwashed on one occasion and the tissue box was missing from bathroom. After speaking to the Guest Relations Manager the latter was rectified after an interval of more than an hour. One of our friends had to make up the bed in her room every day of our stay, despite this being brought to the attention of the Guest Relations Manager. It gives us no pleasure to write this review, but in our experience we feel the hotel is being let down by its housekeeping deficiencies. What should have been a memorable stay will be memorable for the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellieandmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. We rely on feedback from our guests, such as yourself, to continually improve upon our standards and service offering and I thank you for taking the time to pass your on.

Kind Regards

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing