We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Central Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Glasgow Marriott Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Glasgow Centre(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Glasgow City Centre(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,282)
Filter reviews
4,282 results
Traveller rating
1,757
1,487
637
241
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,757
1,487
637
241
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne bartempus restauranttrain stationchampagne centralgordon streettaxi rankhope streetjunior suitetravelling by trainlovely hotelstreet noiselovely roomstandard rooman overnight stayhaggisstayed for one nightcentre of glasgow
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,692 - 2,697 of 4,282 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in a standard room for two nights. The hotel has lots of character and history. It overlooks the concourse of the station which makes people watching a joy from the champagne bar. Service was excellent in the restaurant and bar. Reception likewise, extremely friendly and efficient. It is a 4 star, and an extremely high standard for that grade. I loved the high ceilings in the room and the grand staircase with chandelier. Breakfast was fine although they advise it is less busy early. The offer we had came with a £20 gift card to spend on drinks etc., which was good as drinks are quite expensive.
I would definately stay again at this hotel. If you like character and history its ideal. If you like bland and sterile type hotels probably not for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank extratester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review of your experience at the Grand Central.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and it will be lovely to welcome you back the next time you are in Glasgow.

When you are next making a booking, please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was our 5th visit to this hotel and would have gladly recommended it to anybody but on this visit we were disappointed in the fact that after requesting for a quiet room not near the lifts we were given a room (which was not near the hotel lift) no. 361, however because of repair work to the hotel there was a industrial lift/hoist outside our window. We did not realise this was a hoist until the morning when we were woken at 6 a.m. by the lift going up and down, we actually felt the vibration in our bed. I did speak to the reception and they did offer to move us but we were only there for another night and did not want to pack and then unpack again. Have they changed the Chef, the breakfast although very nice, was not as good as on our other visits.

Room Tip: avoid room 361 or rooms above and below
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesterholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central hotel.

It was disappointing to read that you were disturbed by our refurbishment works during your time with us. As you said our reception team do try and relocate guests if they have any issues and I am sorry that we were unable to resolve this for you during your time with us.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, as it through our guest comments that we review and improve upon our service standards.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We recently attended the Cornflower Ball held in the ballroom and chose to stay overnight. The service was excellent during the function, I would recommend this venue. The room was clean and well appointed and the reception service was good, breakfast was plentiful and the waitresses on hand for coffee and tea refills. Check out was fast and efficient. This really is a beauty of a hotel and we were pleasantly surprised, what was most surprising was how quiet the hotel was considering it is adjacent to the railway station, the bustle of the city was also hidden. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Fi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fabulous review of your experience at the Grand Central.

It is always nice to read that our guests have enjoyed their time with us, and that our staff looked after you so well.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Central in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Second stay at this hotel. Rooms are great - quite large. Breakfast is great - even included Haggis which was delicious. Couple of small things - room was cold on arrival as heating was turned off - Glasgow in February is not warm. Water from shower was no better than luke warm. We didn't tell anyone as we arrived late and left early but i'm sure management would have addressed if we had chosen to raise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith-Rashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

We rely on feedback from our guests to continually review and improve upon our service standards and I thank you for taking the time to pass yours on. I will be sure to discuss your comments with our Head of Departments at our next meeting.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Yes it is expensive but has many positives. Fantastic location, full of history and very friendly staff. Upgraded to a deluxe double and was delighted with the space and amenities. Ate in restaurant for one evening meal - again is quite expensive but was a treat so really enjoyed it. Champagne bar is a real asset too. One criticism is the space of the breakfast area - far too congested - and prefer toast being brought with tea / coffee rather than making it myself! Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms are quite noisy with traffic but didn't bother us too much. Check your final bill as ours had a charge that was not ours - quickly resolved though
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCw0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

I am thrilled that the hotel, friendly staff, restaurant and Champagne bar impressed you. In relation to your comments about the space at breakfast, discussions are currently under way regarding refurbishing the restaurant in order to accommodate greater demand.

I am glad to hear you would stay again and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Glasgow.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews