We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my stay at the Grand Central” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“my stay at the Grand Central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Breakfast was not a good experience - queuing - difficulty finding a table - food not hot. orange juice v. poor quality likewise coffee which was dreadful Location very hard to beat but I remember this establishment from the 50's!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley Draffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel.

I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy you breakfast experience. In line with our guest feedback our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager are continuously working to improve our breakfast service.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome to you back to the Grand Central Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    1,262
    551
    204
    131
See reviews for
380
1,641
161
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay lovely room great breakfast only disappointed by afternoon tea when I booked stated it was birthday and was informed they do a birthday plate and well they never and because the birthday boy was there I couldn't say so that was disappointing

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raineyFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for the time to leave a review of your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that liked our bedrooms and enjoyed your breakfast.

If you are looking to stay with us again, please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Booked a 2 night stay as a birthday surprise for my husband as wanted to stay in a different hotel from where we usually go, Blytheswood or Thistle, the Central was not as expensive as Blytheswood and not as cheap as Thistle but both better! Central is a lovely building in a great location but bit tired looking and our room on first night was on Hope St side, very noisy and scaffolding work with a very noisy generator outside didnt help! We asked for an alternative room which we got, was a good bit smaller but def not as noisy. Central is ok but other 2 options just better, esp breakfast! In fact the recent stay/ breakfast we had in a premier inn and brewers fayre was actually better quality, overall appearance of hotel is ok, but not wow, could do with a bit of a facelift and would certainly benefit if there were leisure/spa facilities - doubt we will return

Room Tip: Ask for room facing station and off street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

I was saddened to read about the disappointment you experienced during your visit. We strive to provide all of our guests with sensational service and I am sorry if we fell short of our own high standards.

I will be sure to discuss the issues you have raised with the relevant departmental managers.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights. The hotel has some fantastic public areas however our room was a slight disappointment mainly due to it being really cramped! tThe windows were filthy and the view wasn't the best, however we were happy to stay. The ensuite was large and clean and the shower was really powerful..
We mainly ate out as you are in the middle of Glasgow. We did enjoy the cocktails in the bar, the staff were a credit to the hotel. They were friendly and professional throughout our stay.
Breakfast was a buffet style and there was plenty to choose from. I particularly enjoyed the cooked breakfast which was of a good standard. The sausages and bacon were really tasty

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your visit to Champagne Central and you your breakfast the following morning.

If you are looking to stay in Glasgow again please feel free to contact your reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a deal and was pleasantly surprised by the interior. I will review each part of our stay separately.

On Arrival:-
The Reception area is very nice and spacious. The gent who attended to our check was well presented but seemed to be a little pre-occupied by something else going on in the reception area. None the less he was not rude, but did not seem interested in the reason for our stay and did not make eye contact with us.

The Room:-
The Room was spacious and comfortable and the decor was befitting a room in its price range.. The bed was big enough for a family of four, was very comfortable, more pillows in the room would have been nice. (i'm sure these would have been available on request) but more in the room would be an added touch for a hotel of this calibre.

Sleeping:-
We slept fine most of the night, only being wakened once when the noise outside increased as the pubs and clubs emptied. This is to be expected from a hotel slap bang in centre of Glasgow. The sound proofing in the room was adequate and i do not believe the hotel could have done any more to cut down on the outside noise level. (We were on the third floor)

Champagne Central:-
A lovely room with attentive staff, pleasant and willing to help with cocktail choices. This was whether going to the bar or the table waiting staff. Some of the tables including the one we were sitting at, was a little shabby with the table trim coming off, however there are some great views of the station concourse.

Breakfast:-
Breakfast was as you would expect from a buffet style presentation. There was nothing particularly special about it, but this did not bother us as it was included in the room rate. An equally nice cooked breakfast could have been had at many of the big chains and small cafes in and around Glasgow. A little more attention in this area would increase the overall rating.

Overall our experience was very good and just fell short of being excellent by some small minor details.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor up if possible, this will help cut down the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your room and that you had the opportunity to experience our Champagne Bar. With regards to your sleep, as a city centre hotel we do occasionally deal with a degree of external noise, though we try to limit its affect on our guests.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Central in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We loved the fact that this hotel was right AT the central train station in Glasgow. We planned on a morning departure by train so this meant no worries about getting to the train station on time. The location turned out to be equally convenient for shopping and restaurant-going. The renovation of the hotel has retained the historic charm while modernizing everything needed.

The Champagne bar and informal lounge/restaurant overlooks the large atrium of the train station which makes for a picturesque backdrop for enjoying a glass of bubbly or a light meal.

Our room was spacious and quiet, with a good-sized closet and nice bed. We had only one small window but it overlooked the Glaswegian rooftops which was lovely. The bathroom was gorgeous, all in marble with a huge tub and plenty of space for one's toiletries.

The supposedly free Wi-Fi was a bit of a pain; I had to call the front desk every day for the password and sometimes it didn't work. They should fix that. Why make the guests jump through hoops on something so basic?

Buffet breakfast, included in our room rate, was epic. A machine that makes pancakes! Full English hot cooked breakfast with all the sides, daily! Porridge! Very very good breakfast with excellent service.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor, overlooking a street, but it high enough to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JeanTaylorDancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review of your experience at the Grand Central.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be so convenient for all of your needs in the city. We often receive excellent feedback regarding our breakfast service, and I am so glad to read that we have another satisfied customer.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Having visited this hotel on a number of occasions, I chose to stay as a special treat for my partners birthday. I had requested a room overlooking the station concourse, on arrival the reception staff apologised and said he was sorry they had allocated a tiny room-( which had a dirty frosted window and no view) we chose to stay in the other offered room.
The duty manager gave us two complementary vouchers for champagne as an apology !
The waitress in the lounge at champagne central was abrupt and rude, saying all tables were reserved, nowhere for guests, even thou at least half a dozen tables were covered in dirty dishes.........
We had a lovely dinner in Tempus restaurant, staff were attentive and food was tasty.
Breakfast was ordered with reception for room service at 0900, at 0915 we called down to enquire on it's whereabouts, they had no knowledge of it, but surprisingly it appeared at 0925.....
On checkout the duty manager asked how our stay was, she seemed sorry that we had had such an unpleasant experience, promised to look into this and be in touch ASAP, well a week has passed and nothing........
The customer service was appalling for a 4* hotel. Wouldn't recommend in the slightest.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing