We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where did the millions go?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Where did the millions go?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Millions have been spent upgrading this landmark hotel, but the best I could see was a substandard re-furb.

Our room had SINGLE GLAZING! overlooking a taxi rank, bus park and busy, noisy Friday night/morning glasgow street.

Breakfast was average with friendly staff but that's as good as it got.

Staff good, function suite food quite good, location great.

Overall...a huge disappointment for the money.

Room Tip: Try a premier inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pitliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

As a Grade A listed building, our single glazed windows that cause you disturbance are protected, and therefore cannot be upgraded to modern double. The hotel is currently looking into other methods of improving soundproofing within our existing bedrooms, and I thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding this matter.

Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    1,259
    551
    204
    131
See reviews for
378
1,640
160
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was a great stay at the Grand Central. We had purchased a discount stay through Itison and it was fantastic value. Our room was amazing, really spacious. The sleep quality was superb and hardly any outside noise. Incredible given this is in the heart of the city! The breakfast was plentiful and very nice. I would certainly recommend staying here and I look forward to returning one day - soon hopefully.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sergeantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that our staff looked after you so well.

If you are booking to stay with us again please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I only stayed one night, however, my experience from beginning to end was excellent.
I was greeted by courteous, professional and friendly staff and this continued throughout my stay.
The room exceeded my expecations, and felt like a suite rather than a room. There was a sense of space. The bathroom was spacious, and the bath deep and luxurious.
The room was quiet and if there was noise outside or from the train station next door.
I managed to leave my iPad in room after checking and out, and was unable to return to pick it up. All staff from the hotel operator who initially took my panicked phone call through to the concierge have been extremely helpful and it is now on its way back to me in Australia - for this I am extremely grateful.
Communication post stay has been excellent. I will (and have) recommended this hotel to anyone who is looking for a central location in Glasgow.

Room Tip: I can't suggest anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that our staff looked after you so well.

If you are booking to stay with us again please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Rooms very spacious and modern. Higher floors have better views from windows and although you can't hear trains in station your view from window may be blocked by station canopy. Staff very helpful and professional.
Only down side was noise in the corridors seemed louder as not much soundproofing in the older buildings but still a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Choose one at front or side of hotel and on a higher floor and if you like a bath make sure you stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BelleBoutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your hotel experience and that our staff looked after you so well.

If you are booking to stay with us again please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a standard room. Room was quite basic and small, i would have expected a little more for the price like a fridge/minibar etc but they where clean, nice decor and comfortable apart from the filthy windows. In a great central location although its a very busy lively part of glasgow at a taxi rank where the nightlife are loud, drunk and roudy. Asked for a quiet room due to noise and they happily moves us to a quiet station facing room at the back and slept without a wink. Had dinner in the tempus restaurant which was great but the service was slow and the staff through out the hotel was, without sounding rude, where slightly awkward and odd in a way but friendly. Breakfast was great and bed was sooo comfy. Had a lovely stay and would defo return again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viewer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that our staff looked after you so well.

If you are booking to stay with us again please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great value great location small but perfectly adequate room

Amazing building like a night in hogwarts ! With a great champagne bar, great cocktails ! Perfect location if you dare coming by train we will stay again but ask for a bigger room next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mncab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking to time to leave you fabulous review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read you enjoyed your hotel experience. I hope i have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Central.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Breakfast was not a good experience - queuing - difficulty finding a table - food not hot. orange juice v. poor quality likewise coffee which was dreadful Location very hard to beat but I remember this establishment from the 50's!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley Draffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel.

I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy you breakfast experience. In line with our guest feedback our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager are continuously working to improve our breakfast service.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome to you back to the Grand Central Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing