We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC FOOD AND FANTASTIC STAFF” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD AND FANTASTIC STAFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Three of us had a meal last night (Saturday). From start to finish, it was faultless. Arrived with a warm welcome from staff, and all menus and specials were explained to us clearly. The recommended wine was top class, and staff were great throughout. Food was cooked to perfection, both starters and main course, and was one of the best steaks we all had had. Complements to the Chefs and all the staff. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdman-al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review on your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel.

I was a pleasure to read your had such an enjoyable visit to our Tempus Restaurant. I am pleased you found our food and beverage offerings to be of such a high standard.

If you are looking to dine with us again, please call our food and beverage reservations team on 0141 240 3770.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    1,262
    551
    204
    131
See reviews for
380
1,641
161
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a voucher deal, which included rose champagne afternoon tea, breakfast and toiletries.
On arrival checking in was swift, staff very friendly!
Room on the 3rd floor was huge, looked over the station, but no view as such, bathroom was also huge!
Lovely bedding, very comfortable huge bed!
Lovely white company toiletries!
Afternoon tea was very disappointing, and wouldn't have been happy to pay the £70 for it (for 2) but for what we paid for our deal I felt it was a freebie so didn't complain when things that were on the menu weren't actually on the tea plate!
The room was very warm and we left the windows open, we found the room quiet and weren't disturbed by any outside noises.
Breakfast in the tempest restaurant was excellent!
All staff that we came across were extremely pleasant!
The hotel is in an excellent central location, I would certainly return!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arleneallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review of your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read you have had such an enjoyable stay with us and that our staff looked after you so well. I am sorry you feel let down about by your afternoon tea experience. In line with our guest feed back our Head Chef and Champagne Central Manager are working continuously to development our afternoon tea menus.

If you are looking to stay with us again please feel free to contact our reservation team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing stay.

Stunning hotel.
Room was beautiful with robes and slippers. Stayed in an executive double room.
Bathroom stunning with gorgeous big shower and bath.
Big tv in room

Staff very attentive.

Definitely go back to stay.


Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kim and stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review of your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read you have had such an enjoyable stay with us and that our staff looked after you so well.

If you are looking to stay with us again please feel free to contact our reservation team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was our 5th visit to The Grand (21st April) and yet again we experienced another enjoyable stay. We were upgraded to a suite which was amazing room (room 113), the only slight downside was this was on the first floor above the taxi rank which was not the quiet room we had requested. However, we did not let this spoil our weekend. The room together with the rest of the Hotel is immaculately cleaned; all staff are friendly and go out of their way to make sure you feel welcome. and the breakfast is first class.
We will definitely be back, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your excellent 5 star review of your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read you have had another enjoyable stay with us and that our staff looked after you so well.

If you are looking to stay with us again please feel free to contact our reservation team on 0141 240 3733

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

great room, great breakfast, great bar.great location.great staff. what more can you ask for in a hotel. sent to bar because the room wasnt ready, had 2 drinks each and then got given a voucher for another 2 x drinks each used these at the end of the night and the wife even got champagne for her voucher. first class joint.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that our staff looked after you so well.

If you are booking to stay with us again please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had received a gift of an overnight stay at the Grand Central. A very enjoyable evening meal and a very comfortable room. Initially we found it a bit noisy as the room overlooked Gordon Street. At first because the internal glazed was closed, we did not realise that the outside window was open but as soon as it was closed it was quite peaceful. We did feel that the net curtains could have been cleaner. Breakfast was fine although it could probably have been a bit hotter.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. We hope to stay again sometime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BobbyCHelensburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that our staff looked after you so well.

If you are booking to stay with us again please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I'm very sad to say that this hotel was a huge disappointment. Had to stay here for one night, thank goodness only one night! Initially - it seemed OK, reception staff were friendly. As soon as I got to my room (I didn't even switch on the lights or put my bag down) I was hit by an overwhelmingly bad smell... I had to leave and change rooms. Terrible. Why had housekeeping not picked up on that? The next room was half the size, but didn't smell, winning?!! I was exhausted, so was going to sort out my things and go straight for a quick snooze. Only then - all of the power in the room went out. Power outage! FFS!!! That took the 30 mins I had for a snooze to resolve, so I went out that evening exhausted. Good points - the bathroom was nice and bed comfy. Sadly, housekeeping again was poor as the room overall needed a good dust and hoover. And the soundproofing to the taxi rank below could be better. Sorry - would not recommend.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will be quieter. Also, the ones that face into the station are definetly better than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Legs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

We rely on feedback from our guests to constantly review and improve upon our service standards, and I thank you for taking the time to pass yours on.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Central in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing