We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding venue”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I went to a wedding here last month, the room was beautiful and the service was good.
A far grander hotel then you would ever expect from what you can see from the station.
The food was excellent for large scale catering and the bar prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrippergod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fabulous review of your experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight that you enjoyed your time with us, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,592
    1,358
    583
    220
    143
See reviews for
428
1,767
179
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights for business. Never again. There was (unusually) hot weather in Glasgow that week - the Scots don't seem to know about air conditioning. The room was boiling. It was also tiny. It overlooked Hope Street and it seemed that night the entire city was out partying outside the hotel. The windows wouldn't open much but then the noise would come in from the bars then when that finished at 4, the traffic started. I literally didn't sleep a wink. The next night was similar but I went out and bought earplugs.

The bathroom was ok. The products good plus lots of towels but for the price there are no nice touches to the room. Nothing that screams comfort or elegance - the room apparently was only done up in recent years but it seemed a bit battered in places and dingy.

Breakfast wasn't great. You pay an extra £10 for it but it's nothing very special.

The service was fine. The hotel is HUGE so I rarely saw staff but they were nice when I saw them.

I was very disappointed in the hotel. I had one of the worse nights sleeps I've ever had then had to go to work. Not ideal. I know it's central but I've lived in central London for 12 years and i'm used to noise but this was on a different scale.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank CRKSE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review of your stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

I was dissapointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. With regards to air conditioning, as a Grade A listed building we are currently no authorised to install a system oweing to the invasive nature of the procedure. As a busy city centre hotel we do sometimes deal with a degree of external noise, and I am sorry that this affected your sleep quality.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay here however attended for a large wedding. Tastefully & stylishly decorated, attentive staff & spacious surroundings. Good location however, be warned, drinks are very expensive & staff aren't so keen on returning your change which is rude. Overall had a fabulous time & would recommend.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VMMT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fabulous review of your experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight that you enjoyed your time with us, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
:Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We got a Sunday package offer which was such great value I have booked to go again. The champagne bar is lovely as are the cocktails! The all you can eat breakfast buffet just finished of our stay perfectly! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jooleewoolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fabulous review of your experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight that you enjoyed your time with us, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
:Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is an old school classy hotel. Our room was huge, bed exceptionally comfortable. Bathroom was of a very high standard and beautifully clean. Within walking distance of many good bars and restaurants, as well as The Merchant City and all shopping areas. We love Glasgow, and especially The Grand Central.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RizaJ_731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your fabulous review of your time at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you found the hotel to be suitable for your needs.

i hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the grand Central in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Moved room from street side to station side on first night because of horrendous road noise. Prom night function on second night resulted in feeling like bedroom was in the middle of an Ibiza club. Told by reception that music would stop at midnight. When it didn't I rang reception to complain & was told by same person that music would stop at 1am. He denied telling us midnight until my husband confronted him in person at which point he made more feeble excuses. Would give zero star eating if poss. Don't know how they have the cheek to charge money for this kind of horrendous ordeal. AVOID AT ALL COST!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank vespachic26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments.

As a busy city centre hotel we do sometimes deal with a degree of noise, and as you mentioned our team is more than happy to relocate a guest that is not satisfied with their room allocation. We will be sure to discuss your comments internally.

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here as it was very convenient for station and also close to SECC Hydro. Rooms are good but have no air con. Bar is very expensive for what you get. Excellent location if travelling by train to Glasgow.

Room Tip: No air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

We rely on feedback from our guests to continually review and improve upon our service standards, and i thank you for taking the time to pass your on.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,663 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing