We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I booked this hotel as a last resort as the usual hotels that I stay in were either all booked or over-priced (prices seem to have rocketed up since the commonwealth games). I found the common areas to be very nice and as the name would suggest quite 'grand'. The halls and bedrooms were spacious and well decorated.

I tried the room service. It was also quite good. A very limited menu but the food was tasty and not too expensive.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are a good size. I booked a twin and it was twice the size of a Malmaison Glasgow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJGEEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your fabulous review of your stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Central in the future.

if you would like to make another booking please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,296 - 2,302 of 4,132 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2014

stayed here on 31st august for my husbands birthday the room was massive and very clean the staff were also very nice and helpful, our breakfast was buffet style which we prefer was lovely also i loved the location of the hotel so near all bars and restaurants we will stay here again.

Room Tip: we were in room 244 which is at the back so very quiet with no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rhona26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your fabulous review of your time at the Grand Central Hotel .

It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and I really hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. If you are looking to book again please feel free to contact our reservation steam on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Thank you again
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay in this hotel lovely room which was very big very nice romantic break , our meal in restaurant was 1st class and staff were very pleasant and helpful. Ended the night in the cocktail bar which was a lovely end to a great value over night stay

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your fabulous review of your stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and I really do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

If you would like to book again, please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates and offers.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice and will continue to do so on my trips to Glasgow. Beautiful and elegant, the staff is fabulous. Located in a perfect location near transportation, Buchanan Street, and amazing architecture. I have attended the Doors Open program sponsored by the Scottish Civic Trust on several occasions (http://glasgowdoorsopenday.com/). The event offers free tours in and around Scotland and Glasgow's week is coming up the week of September 15! The Grand Central is the perfect place to stay for this event. Many buildings are open; garden, cemetery and city planning tours; and arty-architecture is really fun!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CNDCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your fabulous review of your time at the Grand Central Hotel .

It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and I really hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. If you are looking to book again please feel free to contact our reservation steam on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Thank you again
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I would have rated this hotel higher if not for the terrible attitude and service we encountered during our four night stay in this hotel. The rooms themselves are large and clean, all with working televisions. We also had a breakfast buffet included with our rooms from Tempus. The food was fresh and we never had to wait for a table.

The downside of our stay was that the majority of the staff seemed unclear as to various hotel policies. I spoke with at least five different front desk attendants over the course of my stay, and I got five different answers about wifi. I could not tell you if it is included or if there's a charge. One person told me that it was free for an hour and then there's a charge; others just gave us a password that sometimes worked. The wifi was spotty and not at all what you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. In addition, no one could seem to produce a room key that lasted longer than a day. Each member of our group had to exchange deactivated keys for working ones several times.

The most disturbing part of this stay was that we had placed a "do not disturb" sign on our door that was completely ignored. It actually appeared that someone had broken into our room. As our keys had also been deactivated, we went down to report this to the front desk. Upon hearing our issue, the front desk attendant told us that it's possible "someone else was in the room." As if it were commonplace for them to rent someone's room to another party, without checking the room first! We had security escort us back up and it appeared that a hotel staff member had entered the room without permission. We were never even offered an apology for the breach of security and resulting hassle.

I would not recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher level; lower levels can hear the trains below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faith5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

We rely on feedback from our guests to continually review and improve upon our service standards, and I thank you for taking the time to pass on yours.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We booked bed and breakfast using Avios (so did not need to pay out of pocket). The rooms were lovely and gigantic, felt very luxurious. Our room looked out over the main entrance, so we could people-watch... my only gripe was that the windows were in desperate need of a washing, so we couldn't really take photos out the window as the camera focused on the dirt and not the scene. The lobby and breakfast were stylish... all in all we felt very fancy staying here. The location was also ideal for us, as we were walking then taking the train. I'd definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonunit999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your fabulous review of your time at the Grand Central Hotel .

It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and I really hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. If you are looking to book again please feel free to contact our reservation steam on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Thank you again
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The Grand Central Hotel could not have been a better located hotel for our first visit to Glasgow.

The shopping district was 2 blocks away and the train to Prestwick used the station and the walk to Buchanan Station, where we departed the train from Fort William, was a short walk away in spite of the street closing for the World Championship Bagpiping Competition’s parades.

We occupied both “standard” and “deluxe” rooms and found them both to be excellent but the higher graded room was superb.

What made this hotel such a great choice was the staff with whom we spoke and asked questions. We really felt at home and nicely treated.

Restaurant recommendations were thoughtful and efforts to make reservations for us were conscientious. Advice about taking taxies or buses or subways were thoughtful. We also saved a few pounds for our train tickets to Prestwick because the Concierge told us to show our Ryan boarding passes for a discount!

For travelers like us I strongly recommend this established hotel even though there seem to be many other newer, trendier ones in the city.

Room Tip: Get a fifth floor room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JPDeA-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your fabulous review of your stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you found our staff to be so welcoming, and that you enjoyed your time in Glasgow so thoroughly.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Central in the near future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,393 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,538 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £68 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing