We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical charm & modern comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historical charm & modern comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at One Devonshire Gardens as I was working in Glasgow centre. It also happened to coincide with a birthday & anniversary. On arrival we were met by George, one of the hotel staff. He made us feel relaxed immediately & looked every bit the part with his tartan trousers!

The immediate impact was WOW!! One Devonshire Gardens is, in fact, 1-5 Devonshire Gardens, having knocked all the houses into one. Grant, the duty manager booked us in & went through procedures.

Our room was the other end of the house. As the door opened, my chin hit the floor - it had to be the biggest hotel room we have ever stayed in! Apparently it's one they use for honeymooners etc & is the one I had seen on HDV's website - blue walls & huge drapes covered the big bay windows. In one was a giant bath. The giant shower was another big plus. A complimentary Scotch whiskey (single malt) was also very welcome.

We had a table booked for 8.30pm in the restaurant & went down early for drinks in the bar.
Although we had to wait until 8.45 for our table, the wait was worth it. I can honestly say the food was probably the best meal I have ever had. It was daube of beef - incredible flavour & tender meat. We let the somelier/host choose the wine, which went perfectly with our meal.

The bed was huge - I would have slept very well if it wasn't for the amorous couple in the room above us who seemed to be upmost of the night!!!

We helped oureselves from the continental breakfast - we were too full from the previous night to go for the cooked breakfast - very unusual for me!!

We have stayed in several of the HDV hotels & Winchester was our favourite. I think it might just have been replaced!! Well done again HDV, I would stay nowhere else in Glasgow if I was visiting again. Just do it, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The room we had was at the far end of the house. Ask for the blue room with the blue bath in the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkRachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    297
    100
    36
    6
See reviews for
158
808
43
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

I'd stayed at this hotel twelve years ago before it became part of the Hotel Du Vin group. As one of the first boutique style hotels that I had experienced at the time, it became the standard against which I judged others. Revisiting after such long time, I was pleased to see, the same excellent attentive customer service, unique luxury rooms with great details such as the 'toiletries to take away' from Arran Arromatics and fabulous food. If there is one slight criticism it is that the prices on the restaurant menu are eye wateringly high, compared to the room rate I payed. Still , it was exceptionally good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookster59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times and it is only a mile from where we live! The rooms are amazing - try a top floor room with a skylight - even if you are in a smaller room the decor, furnishings, stereo etc. are all fantastic. The staff are great and the food is fab too. We liked it so much we got married here :O)

Room Tip: The Robert Mondavi room is the best in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rozzystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Party of 4 stayed here on Saturday 10th September, and everyone agreed that One Devonshire Gardens is a splendid place.

We had two suites, one for each couple, and both were nice comfortable sizes with dressing rooms and fantastic bathrooms. The rooms are lovely, however, the rest of the hotel is even better so we spent very little time in the suites.

The restaurant serves some of the best food I have tried in Glasgow (no mean feat given the competitive, high quality restaurants in the city) and was reasonably priced. I think approx £250 for 4 people (3 courses, wine, champagne and coffees).

There is a great selection of Whiskies and Cigars and to top it off a wonderful outside teepee style area - romantically lit and heated. We sat out there for hours enjoying the night with a cigar and dram. Perfect!

Although I do live close by, I will most definitely be back here often.

Room Tip: Go for the best you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kris2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

A return visit to this truly wonderful hotel where the service is outstanding and nothing can marr your visit

Its a real treat and delight to stay at this superb place

"Quod petis hic est" as Horace said...What you seek is here

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blandorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

What a lovely place. Staff amazing, rooms and deco excellent. Food nowt special, better finding a restaurant in town. Would stay again and again.
My 10yr old daughter and I stayed while going to see Dirty Dancing at the king`s. Not really a family place to stay but she enjoyed it as much as me.
Don`t stay anywhere else........

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank messpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Decor and furnishing compliment the fabulous spacious rooms. The staircases and stained glass windows are really special. The bar and bistro are of a really high standard without being intimidating or too stuffy.Our second visit and already planning to return......

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalle2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Property: Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing