We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous hotel and wonderful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel and wonderful setting”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here on a 5pm deal - one night dinner, bed and breakfast. The staff were so thoughtful and attentive. The room was luxurious and there was a bottle of champagne on ice (as part of the deal) waiting for us. We went out for a walk in Glasgow - it is a beautiful city. Breakfast was amazing and the fresh fruit selection followed by the Devonshire Breakfast was a real treat. This was an experience to spoil my husband on his birthday - but I was really spoiled too! Would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel facing on to Gt Western Road and it didn't disturb us at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    304
    104
    37
    8
See reviews for
170
826
44
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We loved the decor and Victorian feel of this hotel. The breakfast was attractively presented and featured some interesting choices of food, and the same was true of the evening meal in the bistro. The bed linen, towels etc were all of very good quality, and the staff were efficient and helpful. The area is lovely, and we enjoyed walking to museums and restaurants. I am removing one star from the overall mark because we had to move rooms on account of roofing work. We were woken up by very loud banging on the roof, and then bits started to fall into our shower. The staff moved us quickly, and the new room was just as nice, but we were surprised that they did not anticipate this problem. That said, we were probably unlucky, and this would not put us off returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atraveller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here for one night on a DBB deal which we thought was great value. We were impressed from the moment we arrived both by the hotel itself and the staff. The 'wee dram' was a lovely touch on arrival and helped us to relax after travelling all day. The room itself was wonderful in every respect and had everything you could possibly need. We especially like rooms that have a Nespresso machine - home from home! The dinner in the bistro was sublime and we were spoilt for choice when it came to the wine list. The word bistro doesn't really conjure up images that match the luxurious environment of the dining rooms or the gourmet menus on offer and we were thrilled with both. Service was friendly and professional throughout our stay. The standard of breakfast was also impressive and we left feeling that we'd been totally spoilt. The location was ideal - just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the West End and easy to locate by Sat Nav. We are planning a return visit to Glasgow with friends and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else now.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina_and_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was the first time back to this venue since it became Horel Du Vin.We found the service from arrival to departure very good, all the sfaff are freindly and very attentive.The layout of the restuarant and bar was perfect, the property also has its own Whisky bar featuring many unusual malts.The food was excellent -we enjoyed the lamb and lemon Sole preceded with a Ravoli starter with a fresh pumpkin sauce.We finished with the cheesboard which was the only downside of the Evening as the portion was miserly and cheese not to flavour-full, but all in a great evening for a special occasion in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 279KevinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This was our first trip to Glasgow and booked on a whim! What a perfect place to stay. Everything about the hotel was so lovely. The staff were welcoming and helpful without being overly stuffy. They appear to enjoy and take pride in the level of service they offer. The food was beautiful in taste and presentation. Our room had everything we could possibly need and the quality of everything in it was excellent. We are already thinking about when we can go again. Thank you all at No 1 for a memorable trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at One Devonshire Gardens in the run up to Christmas 2011, though it was touch and go at one point as gale force winds in Glasgow threatened to ruin our trip.
Thankfully the weather settled down just in time for our arrival, and we dropped our bags off at reception (as we'd arrived early) and went for a stroll around the surrounding area. The hotel is located in the west end of Glasgow and there are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. It's a very short journey to the centre of Glasgow and public transport is frequent, as are taxis.

We arrived back at the hotel a couple of hours later and our room still wasn't ready so the hotel staff asked us to take a seat in the very comfortable lounge area and brought us some complimentary drinks (that was on top of the complimentary whiskey offered to all guests at check-in).
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. The hotel is really very grand, lots of beautiful staircases and plush carpets, and since it was Christmas there were lots of charming decorations everywhere.
We really wanted a room with a four poster bed and a fireplace, which the reservations teams were only too happy to arrange, and when our room was ready we were escorted to the Michel Laroche room. I can't tell you how impressed we both we were with the room and I doubt any of hotel room I've stayed in previously could compare. The room was huge and everything that we had asked for: a stunning 4-poster bed (enormous and very comfy), a gorgeous working fireplace with two wing-back arm chairs, a sofa beneath a bay window and a decorated Christmas tree right outside. There was even a separate corridor to get to the bathroom (which was also gorgeous).

We were scheduled to stay for two nights and had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening. The food and service were both excellent. As other reviewers have mentioned, the restaurant isn't cheap, but given the surroundings and the quality, I was only to happy to pay the asking prices. The wine selection is a little daunting in length, but the resident sommelier was only to happy to help us choose a bottle according to our preferences.
After a delicious 3 course dinner, we decided to sample to massive whiskey collection in the adjoining whiskey den. I know nothing about whiskey (and I'm not the biggest fan) but one of the bar staff talked us through the different whiskeys on offer and found some to suit both of our tastes. After adding lots of water to mine, I found it drinkable (almost), but it was a lovely way to end the evening.
Breakfast was equally tasty, and we had this both mornings of our stay. There was lots of variety, both hot and cold, and all of the portions were a very good size.

The only slight negative was the broken radiator in our room and coupled with the velvet drapes, it did get very warm at some points. Though to the hotel's credit, they sent someone immediately to try and mend the fault, and since they couldn't fix it, they offered us another room in the hotel. I decided against changing as I was simply in love with our room. They were also kind enough to reduce our room rate for that evening as they couldn't fix the problem.

This was actually the second time I'd stayed at One Devonshire Gardens, and it certainly won't be the last. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are exceedingly attentive. I look forward to returning and exploring the other rooms that the hotel has to offer.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to all, especially for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMayAtem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

A lovely experience, excellent service from all staff, food was not cheap as you would expect and very tasty with attentive staff. Rooms could do with a few more electric plugs, but no other complaints! Free wifi but that doesn't cover all the hotel so depends where in the hotel you are

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia8074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Property: Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing