We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed at Hotel du Vin - One Devonshire Gardens for one night. I had always wanted to stay there and decided as a treat to book myself and my partner in for a D,B & B.
When we arrived they could not have been more attentive and we even scored an upgrade to a suite!
It was faultless - one of the most beautiful hotels i have stay in from any of teh one i have across the world - even better then Gleneagles!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,444)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Du Vin last year and thought it was the most wonderful hotel we've ever stayed in. I gave it at 5 star review, in fact! This year was MUCH different. We were given a room that didn't even have toiletries in it. The mattress on the bed was so hard it didn't move and was very uncomfortable. We called for a duvet to put between us and the mattress and after 3 follow ups, they finally brought it. Didn't help though! It is also not air conditioned and VERY hot in the evening as they pull the very thick drapes shut and there is no air circulating at all. We opened the drapes and opened the windows a bit but noise was bad. We were paying $600 per night so checked out after the first evening!!! Things have certainly changed since last year. We won't be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NorthCarolinaCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

This was our first hotel in our trip to the UK. We arrived exhausted after an overnight transatlantic flight and a very bumpy flight to Glasgow from London. There was a snafu about the price - my husband thought he was getting a much lower rate - and I thought the staff (Faiza) was extremely accommodating and polite and helpful. It was our first day and we had many questions and arrangements to make and we monopolized the staff relentlessly and they were always so helpful and nice. The room was just gorgeous (Louis Jadot) no complaints, everything good. It is not in the heart of Glasgow, and we were there for just overnight, so I was disappointed not to see the Mackintosh buildings. The whisky bar had over 400 types, and the bartender helped me pick one.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terpsichore314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Du Vin for one night to attend a function there in the evening. We had heard such rave reviews about the luxury, service, etc, that we couldn't wait to check in. Unfortunately this hotel didn't live up to the reputation of the Hotel Du Vin chain.

The staff were friendly and attentive but we found that the room lacked the little touches that are so important. Our room had a bath, but only a hand held shower (and no shower screen), there were no tissues in the bathroom, no biscuits with the tea/coffee tray, the room was cold in the day as the heating had been turned off, the 'fluffy' bath robes were hard as a board and the TV could not be positioned so that you could watch it from the bed.

We also requested an extra pillow and coffee before leaving the room in the evening, but these were not in the room when we returned after midnight.

I left a small article of clothing and when I asked for it to be sent to me I was asked for my credit card details to pay for postage (a first class stamp when it arrived). How mean!

After the rave reviews - disappointment. We have stayed in bed and breakfasts that offer more comforts than this hotel. Must try harder Hotel Du Vin.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. It was easy to park for free at the front of the hotel which is located in the west end of Glasgow (about 15 mins walk to the subway). We booked their most basic room and since we were getting married (though not in the hotel), I asked if they would offer an upgrade but they wouldn't (Hotel Du Vin - you should be ashamed of yourselves). However, the room was lovely. Very nicely decorated with a lovely bathroom and shower. The hotel is made up of a number of grand town houses knocked together and they have done a superb job. Had they upgraded us, I would have given this place 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mew20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We booked a club room on a dinner bed and breakfast rate. This hotel deserves its place as the number 1 hotel in Glasgow. The staff and service were of a very high standard. Our room was a good size with a very comfortable bed and soft pillows. The decor was a little different, very dark colours and there was undoubtably too much furniture in the room (Tattinger room). The roll top bath and seperate power shower were fantastic, although the shower door leaked water all over the bathroom floor. We had pre lunch drinks in the small cosy bar and, as it was fathers day, we were offered comp sparkling wine. The live jazz band was a nice touch. Service in the bar and restaurant was excellent and the food not bad too. We returned back at our hotel after our concert at midnight and ordered drinks and food which were all prepared and served to a high standard. Breakfast was fantastic. On check out we had some queries with our bill which was all sorted out by a manager on reception. Cannot wait to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STONEY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We stayed for a long weekend in May. Hotel was pleasant enough but not as special as we were expecting especially the decor. We stayed in a room with dark blue walls, black furniture & black carpet which made it really gloomy & not a room we wanted to linger in. Whoever chose this decor must be mad as it doesn't make the most of the lovely proportions of the Victorian building (although all the rooms are different so some may be enjoy lighter decor - but the first room we were offered had the same dark decor). We wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,699 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
776 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,952 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £106 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing