We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

we stayed a night here after receiving a discount code from a magazine and it was a bargain. The hotel is lovely, and has loads of character. The staff were very freindly and good humoured. We had one of the smaller rooms, but the bathroom was very luxurious and the bed was comfortable. Included in our price was a 2 course meal, we were actually given a 3 course one with a bottle of wine and coffee afterwards in the whiskey bar. Food was excellent and again the service was perfect. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    299
    102
    37
    7
See reviews for
162
819
43
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

I stayed three nights at HDV Glasgow. I have stayed at One Devonshire Gardens before when it was an independent hotel and enjoyed it.

The things I enjoyed this time around. The bath, superb, big and great for lounging in. The room, a good size and good colour scheme, though in the dark style they use in the hotel; dinner in the brasserie on Wednesday 5th August; great service from the lady manager of the brasserie, and the waitress that night.

Our room faced the front of the hotel, and it was warm in Glasgow this week, this meant we had to leave our windows open, and the noise from the Gt Western Road was unbelieveable right through the night. The matressess on the beds are not great, firm, and don't move. Management please note for the MacForbes room, the shower lacked any markings on the controls so it was a lotterey of what was hot and cold. The door is so badly fitted that it sticks at the top and has a 1.5 cm gap at the bottom. All the water runs out onto the bathroom floor. And there are puddles in the shower tray where the water does not drain away. Whoever did the plumbing on this room has not insulated the hot and cold water pipes, so the cold water is as warm as the hot at times! I think there are structural problems with this room, there are several cracks on the walls tearing open the wallpaper, and the floors bounce when either we were walking in the room or the guests in the next room! The TV is worked off SKY and kept going onto standby mode and the ITV region is Midlands!!! Try tuning it into Scottish TV please. The room is supplied with large bottles of Aran Aromatic toiletries. Not even half of these had been used on the first night, next day, shampoo and conditioner had been replaced, and no shower gel. Not sure why the hotel would want to waste all these good toiletries.

Breakfast was a haphazzard affair on all three mornings. Grilled vine tomatoes on the full breakfast always appeared as three cherry toms! Muesli was on their menu, but never on the table with the cereals. I asked for it on the third day and was told they didn't have any!! 5star hotel and no muesli? My partner asked for porridge this morning, took 15 mins to arrive and was not cooked, like oatmeal had been added to hot milk just before serving. I don't think they have enough toast racks for all their tables, one day toast on a toast rack, and the next on a plate, strange.

I think moving to a corporately owned venture has been poor for this hotel, it was much better when owned by a real person who had an interest. To me this was no better than a Malmaison hotel and in a lot of ways much worse.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pavarroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

I loved this hotel. It would be worth it for the architecture on its own. The room was smart and the bathroom even better. We enjoyed our meal in the bistro -chic Glasgow ambience

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackOBennachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

We arrived at the Du Vin and loved it from the first moment on. Great interiors and nice staff. Our suite hat a patio and a conservatory - just amazing.
The restaurant is ok but not a must.
We definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMTHEHOTEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

Having stayed here last year and had an excellent time we were looking forward to returning.

We were disappointed to begin with as the reception staff were not very welcoming (we were fairly late arriving) and did not welcome us back and instead asked if we had been before. This seems like a small thing but we were treating ourselves to the top suite and had done the year before and it is nice to feel welcomed by a hotel especially one which is supposed to be the most luxurious in Glasgow.

In general we found the hotel to seem to be less of a luxury hotel experience this time. The staff didnt seem as accomadating or welcoming (except one fabulous waitress)

We also had a bad experience in breakfast being ignored while other customers were served and then not receiving out coffee at all!

Though we still like the hotel we would not rush to stay here again and would find somewhere else to stay next time we were in Scotland.

Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CPGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

I booked a basic room at hotel du vin for one night for my girlfriends birthday. When i booked it i let them know that we had recently got engaged and this was a birthday/ engagement present for the other half and we were immediatly offered a free upgrade to a suite on the top floor of the hotel. When we arrived it was raining (suprise suprise! lol) and we were greeted by the bell boy with an umbrella for my good lady and welcomed into the reception. After checking in, all the staff were congratulating us on our engagement and wishing us all the best which made the whole thing feel pretty special. The room was stunning, it was massive with one of the most beautiful and most comfortable beds i've ever slept in and the bathroom was lovely too with a giant tub and walk in shower:) and to top it all off they had sky tv and a putting machine thing which we both had a good laugh with(luckily we never broke any windows, yes, we are that bad lol) The manager left us a nice note in the room congratulating us also, and shortly after getting into the room we were givin complementry champagne. The hotel isn't very central but a taxi only cost about £4 to ashton lane where we went for lunch but its only really a ten minute walk away for those of you who aren't lazy, and for dinner we ordered room service which wasnt too costly and arrived just 15 minutes after we ordered it and it was lovely. We had a great night at the hotel, all the staff made us feel as though we were the only guests there and couldn't do enough for us, i will definitely book to stay there again for another romantic night.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemisssunshine25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed at Hotel du Vin - One Devonshire Gardens for one night. I had always wanted to stay there and decided as a treat to book myself and my partner in for a D,B & B.
When we arrived they could not have been more attentive and we even scored an upgrade to a suite!
It was faultless - one of the most beautiful hotels i have stay in from any of teh one i have across the world - even better then Gleneagles!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObanMorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Property: Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing