We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,586)
Filter reviews
1,586 results
Traveller rating
1,064
338
126
45
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,064
338
126
45
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedroll top bathwhisky roomstained glass windowsmonsoon showerwest endnespresso machinedeep bathclassic roomluxury hotelbeautiful hotelgreat western roadhuge bathroombeautiful roombirthday treatbyres roadmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 1,586 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Our daughter was starting a degree at the University of Glasgow ("GlasUni" to the locals), so we selected HDV due to it's West End location. Glad we did. I won't repeat the descriptions of it as most of the positive ones are pretty much correct. As Americans, we like an historic property which reflects the character of the area. The staff is very friendly but professional at the same time. Our room, "Brown Bros" was spacious and faced Hyndland Rd. We were over the bar and restaurant, so very convenient. A few observations others may have not mentioned.

The hotel is within walking distance to Byers Rd where a lot of the restaurants are located. It's also a 6 or 7 pound cab ride to Argyle Rd where there are more restaurants.
One can easily walk to the University and the Hunterian museums.

The hotel restaurant is excellent. Service is professional and not intrusive. If you don't want to do a "formal" lunch or dinner, there is a separate menu for the bar area, where they will serve you on comfortable couches and tables. But you do have to ask for the bar menu which has sandwiches, burgers, soups, etc. If you're lucky, you'll see the elderly french lady come in with her dog, "T-Bone", who greets everyone in the bar area. Then, in what appears to be an afternoon ritual, she has her glass of white wine.

If you are a whiskey lover (meaning single malts) there are 2 menus as well, the standard one and the long rare whiskey list. In a room adjacent to the bar is an entire wall of rare and old whiskeys. There's one for every pocket book, starting from 1947.

There is an outside sitting area in back with lots of tables, even a large covered area with couches. The covered area is even heated with a gas fireplace. So you can get sun if it's not raining and even enjoy a cigar with your whiskey, rain or shine. But mostly rain cause it's Scotland.

Lastly, we recognized a guest who is a famous American actor. We didn't bother him, nor did anyone else, and he seemed plenty happy. When I discreetly asked the staff if it was who I was sure it was, they all had a "stupid attack". Had no idea what I was talking about. Kudos to the staff who understand the meaning of privacy.

One recommendation, though. Fix the doorknob on the front door to the restaurant. It kept falling off. It's part of the charm.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MhaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear MhaPa,

Thank you for your fantastic and very detailed review - I'm delighted you enjoyed our hotel so much!

I hope that your daughter studying in Glasgow will mean that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Best regards,

Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Arriving at the Hotel du Vin, reception told us they had upgraded us to a Town Suite. What a surprise and what fun! This was a huge suite--canopy bed, two large bathrooms, closets, dressing areas, dining area, and living room with a sectional sofa, two wing chairs and a writing desk. We had an excellent night's sleep--comfortable bed and pillows, room darkening drapes--completely quiet. Delicious breakfast the next morning. Delightful staff. Beautiful historic property. Certainly would recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Britishcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Britishcats,

Thank you for your wonderful review - I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable stay in the suite!

I hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Best regards,

Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The hotel consists of 5 interconnected Georgian Row House in the West End of Glasgow. Nice quiet neighborhood. Glasgow us famous (or should be) for it's friendly and helpful people...the hotel is no exception. Our room had a very large living room, two baths, large bedroom and a couple of pieces of exercise equipment. Stayed here before and will again. Only drawback was lack of enough electrical outlets and no adaptors in the room for US style plugs. Hotel was quick to provide adaptors.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LostInSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear LostInSpace,

Thank you for your fantastic review - I'm delighted you enjoyed our stay and Glasgow's (now) famous warm wlecome!

I hope we'll see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The HdV in the West End of Glasgow is a grand old house which is an ideal venue for an event, which is why I was there. It has ample reception areas and ideal dining facilities for large groups, separate from their normal restaurant. The food, for mass catering, and wine selection are excellent and facilitated a very successful evening. I have no idea of price but the whole experience was extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Ollerbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Ollerbarrow,

Thank you for your lovely review - I'm delighted you enjoyed the event you attended here so much!

I hope we'll see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We met friends there and had a wonderful 4 course lunch with drinks. Amazing food all beautifully cooked and presented, great service in delightfull surroundings. We all had a great meal, the fish with curried lentals was stunning as was the brisket with spelt. Would recommend this restaurant to everyone

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianne367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear dianne367,

Thank you for your fantastic review - I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable lunch with us and even more delighted that you will be recommending us!

I hope we'll see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews