We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Boutique Hotel in the UK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

From the warm welcome in the tartan trews to the friendly and knowledgable bar staff, we had an amazing stay from start to finish. Our four poster bed and fireplace in our room was stunning and we had the most mouth watering culinary experience of my life in the Bistro - an absolute must! We also enjoyed a personal tour of Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the Botanic Gardens which is only minutes away from the hotel. We will be back soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maybell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,444)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,237 - 1,243 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

stayed here on a night out. booked the room direct with the hotel after checking online rates. i haggled am little and got the price down to £110 for a club room one up from a standard room it came without breakfast. the room was on the top floor, however we werejust pointed up to out room and not actually escorted up. the room was boiling despite have a small electric fan, there was no airconditioning. as it was a top floor it had combed ceiling but was still large with a seperate dressing area leading to the bathroom which had a large monsoon shower and seperate freestanding bath. the bed was incredibly comfy and they had a turn down service which was a nice touch. each room has a bose ipod docking station which is great. the parking is not great for the hotel but its in a city so can be expected. overall i would say this hotel is fantastic and very luxurious looking and definatly a hotel i would return to. the restaurant is also stunning and the bar staff are knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We both had a fantastic experience at this luxury accommodation. Well worth the price. We were offered an upgrade to a suite during this off season time and it was very roomy and comfortable. The staff was friendly and the dinner most excellent with knowledgeable staff on food and wine and a romantic setting. Close to some additional restaurants, cafes, museums, this is a fine place to stay.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank brewsterlewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

The Hotel du Vin is a pleasant hotel in a surprisingly pleasant city. We enjoyed both our visit to Glasgow and our stay at the Hotel du Vin.

The Hotel du Vin is located in Glasgow’s West End, a leafy, almost suburban area of the city that is a 15-minute walk from the City Center. It’s a bit out of the way, but that’s okay given some of the areas of the City Center that aren’t as nice as the Hotel du Vin’s neighborhood. The hotel’s location also likely contributed to the clientele in the hotel: less touristy and more upscale than at other locations we noticed.

The staff at the Hotel du Vin is friendly, but they lack the polished professionalism of the finest hotels: their casual style sometimes meant they missed service issues that finer hotels would recognize as a matter of course. There is no dedicated concierge, so the same person who takes your bags or hails a cab for you might also be the one recommending where to go for dinner. That’s fine if you don’t need more than the basics in terms of advice or assistance. If you’re looking for a full-service concierge, you may be disappointed.

The hotel is a connected series of Georgian row houses. It’s very pretty, and the interiors are comfortable and cozy with overstuffed furniture and beautiful stained glass windows on the landings going up to the upper floors in each townhouse.

The rooms are nice - we had a deluxe king - and feature lovely bathrooms and comfortable furniture that you might have in your own home. The overall effect is comfortable, but it’s not particularly luxurious (we found ourselves wishing we could rearrange the furniture and replace a few pieces). Our four-poster bed looked nice but it had one of the most uncomfortable mattresses we’ve ever had in a hotel - particularly one of this stature - it was hard and felt as though we were sleeping on the box spring. Ugh.

The restaurant at the Hotel du Vin is worth its star billing: we had one of the most delicious meals of our trip there and enjoyed a wonderful bottle of wine recommended by the sommelier. The bar adjacent to the restaurant is also nice, but some of the drinks were better than others. Service was very good, in the bar and in the restaurant.

After touring multiple neighborhoods in Glasgow (and seeing a few other hotels), we determined that the Hotel du Vin was the best bet for us in the city. We’re glad we stayed there, but we recognize the hotel’s limitations as well (e.g. hard beds, more casual service than some may expect). 


  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJPBAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

From the moment you arrive on Devonshire gardens, as always a welcome smile from concierge, no need to prompt help with your luggage, its done with a great warm Scottish welcome. Checking in effortless, take a seat in the lounge area, an offer of tea, coffee or something a little stronger! Off to the room, WOW, big rooms, comfy beds, bath tubs, large showers, books, mags, music, TV in the bathroom, nothing is too much trouble from the staff, just perfect!
We were out at a function in the evening so missed out this time on one of Paul Tamburrini`s superb dinners. At breakfast on Sunday morning, firstly everything is quality from the fresh fruit, honeycombe, breads and fruit juices. Great service and piping hot cooked breakfast to die for!
No need to rush out, time to relax in the lounge to finnish off the weekend.
Okay, time to pay the bill, very reasonable and great value for money, "lets stay another night"! If only, but work beckons. So until next time we will savour the memories and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSX600R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

As a Glasweigan who now lives in Canada I can't think of a better hotel to sum up all the things I love about my home country.The rosy cheeked welcome from the porter, the dram and shortbread as you check in, the good mornings and hellos from every member of staff every time they see you (and they always remember your name), this hotel is the best of the best. The rooms are absolutely stunning, room service comes on solid silver trays and the sommelier even took the time to give my Canadian husbands family a private whisky tasting. I have stayed here multiple times and will always choose One Devonshire Gardens when I go back to Glasgow.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therousseaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Having driven up from the Midlands we were looking forward to an night of luxury to start our scottish road trip and this hotel has some great reviews.

However, like one or two others, we experienced some less than 1st class moments during our stay. Faced with a steep flight of sairs from the street and no porter/doorman on duty we lugged our cases up the stairs and into reception. The decor and ambiance are wonderful, it feels like a fine country house, and the welcoming bottle of Mcallan with quaichs was a lovely touch, so we didn't mind waiting a few moments for the receptionist to return to check us in. While I don't object to the pre authorisation of the room fee, it is a little much for them to add an arbitrary £50 for "possible extras".

The young woman asked if we could carry our bags and we said yes. It ws only when we got to the bottom of the stairs that she explained they had no lift and our room was on the second floor. She was not to know that one of us has a disabillity and that this would cause pain and discomfort, but there was no offer of a porter service so we struggled up.

The room was large and beautifully furnished with a fabulous bathroom - as advertised.

Draw backs?

Lack of air conditioning and a hot day meant that this top floor room (Raoul) had two desk fans on full blast and a portable cooler struggling valiantly to maintain a reasonable temperature. The noise was awful and I struggled to sleep with them on. Around 3am I switched them off only to wake up 30 minutes later in a sweat box. This carried on all night. Egyptian bed linen is all very nice if you can enjoy it for more than an hour at a time. Poor show and most troubling as we had a long drive into the highlands the next day and really needed our rest - the whole idea behind choosing a luxury hotel.

Also, there was a large crack in the wall with paint peeling off around it, not what I expected for this level of establishment - attention to detail? Hmm.

Oddly, the mirror in the bathroom was set at the back of the sinks and all we could see in it (without kneeling on the floor) were our stomachs - not a pleasant sight in the morning. Strange.

Breakfast was very good, serving till 10.30 is a great boon - we are on holiday and not inclined to rise at the crack of dawn. Instead, it was a long relaxing affair with newspapers and great coffee in a extremely comfortable un crowded room with excellent service and a fine range of food. The smoked salmon and scrambled egg served with toasted brioche was light and yummy. With the poor night's sleep I couldn't face the full Scottish.

Based on the dreadful night I experienced, I would not recomend a 2nd floor room to anyone in the summer months, go to a traveloge and get a goodnight's sleep. I feel ripped off.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jart_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,699 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
776 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,952 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £106 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing