We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall fantastic but how about some lighting?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Overall fantastic but how about some lighting?”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Located in the West End, posh but a 45 min walk to central Glasgow tourist sites. Restaurants & subway within 10-15 min. walk. Could not be more beautiful inside; restaurant also elegant. HUGE room very classic with great marble bathroom, big comfy bed, fantastic amenities. Very romantic. Highly recommend. Note to hotel: thanks for the great latest issue magazines but how about some lights in the bedrooms to allow one to read them? Current lighting great for "mood" but only the dressing & bathrooms had enough light to read - it's the only oversight I found in an otherwise great place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    305
    103
    38
    8
See reviews for
173
830
44
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2010

What can I say, we stayed for a couple of nights while visting glasgow.
From arrival to departure, we were looked after all the way. The staff were all pleasent and knowledgeable about things to see and do in Glasgow. The room itself was fanastic - and the beds were extremely comfortable not that we had any problems sleeping after one or two drams in the bar before bedtime. We dined in the restaurant the first night - the food and service were fantastic. Young lady with blonde hair was lovelly. The location is great - the hotel is in the west of glasgow so the city centre is 20 minutes away but glasgow is any easy city to get around. The hotel is ideally located for getting to loch lommond etc. The west end itself has a really relaxed feel, with small coffee shops near by and byers road a 10 minute walk.
So is great area for having a wonder around when you no partiuclar place to go.
Would recommend the hotel to anyone visting glasgow, a fantastic couple of days away and now back to reality....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okmijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I’m surprised to read the previous comments. We booked ‘One Devonshire Gardens’ after a recommendation by a friend who had stayed some time ago before Hotel du Vin acquired it, and we had such a lovely time. We arrived to a warm welcome from ‘David’ the doorman come porter, who saw us overloaded with luggage and instantly came to our assistance. He couldn’t have been friendlier and was genuinely interested in why we were visiting Glasgow and keen to recommend places for us to visit throughout our stay. We were lucky on arrival to be upgraded to a grand room as it’s called, which we would highly recommend particularly if you are staying for more than one night - we stayed for three. It’s all very luxurious and we did feel very spoilt but the hotel and the staff are very unstuffy unlike many five star hotels. We dined in the restaurant on the first night and also had lunch on the last day of our stay. I’d already read some great reviews about it and we weren't disappointed, the food really was delicious and beautifully presented – I didn’t think I’d manage three courses but I just couldn’t resist the amazing cheeseboard. There was a wedding at the hotel during our stay but apart from photos on the front step, we were not aware of it, and the girl at reception told us weddings are confined to house 5 (the hotel’s made up of 5 townhouses) so as not to disturb other guests. We were visiting friends whilst in town but in between managed to walk to Byres Road as recommended by David. The hotel’s situated in the west end of the city which we would like to have explored more. We managed to see the Glasgow Boys exhibition at the Kelvingrove Museum – worth a visit. There’s also some lovely boutique shops and we came across a wonderful cafe called Kember and Jones. All in all, we had a lovely stay and I would most certainly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Really enjoyed my stay at Hotel du vin in Glasgow - its a very stylish and modern hotel but still manages to maintain a warm and welcoming atmosphere - the rooms are luxurious without being too flashy, and the people thoughtful and responsive. Lots of helpful ideas for things to do in and around Glasgow too.
I really enjoyed eating in the bistro too, the menu was inventive (what a cheese board!!) and the staff were attentive and friendly. The location was perfect for me, right in the middle of the West End of Glasgow with lots of eating and drinking options close by. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abi12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

The hotel is kind of a mystery to me. Yes the decor is very successful, but it is undeniable that the final print is a luxury TV star, one of those fake luxury without a soul, a movie without humanity. Upon your arrival, you are greeted by a receptionist your proud that you recite his text like a robot (welcome, credit card and explanation). This perceived lack of humanity has accompanied us during our two days. Everyone thinks it's because he is not in any detail the failures are numerous: 1 hour for a club sandwich any view rooms for a £ 200 squalid room is not prepared in the evening the Servite are not changed, the bed is not prepared for dinner which is unacceptable for a hotel claiming to be a reference and especially a room when we arrived just after 4 PM on loan without any word of apology. A truly luxurious in appearance, sham, shoddy. By cons which was really no contest, was the quality of breakfast but also lunch. The dinner was perfect with exceptional products and an undeniable technical mastery. The châteaubriand like all meats were exceptional. A very large table, but a hotel for very reasonable and the location mentioned was avoided. Blythswood Square prefer him more central example, but just because it is delicious dinner and not much more expensive than in many other restaurant in town. Last point don't come saturdayt night because in the false luxury hotel there is also wedding and part of the hotel rent for the party !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmond24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Service was first class extremely friendly staff.
Our room was an amazing suite with a huge bath close to our bed.
Only stayed one night so we didn’t use or check out the amenities around us. Parking was easy as the local streets had no restrictions
The hotel is a short journey from city by taxi. We had a room at the front close to the main road and traffic did wake us up early but this was the only negative we could find.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghSteve68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This is part of the Hotel Du Vin chain, but this is no normal chain, this is truly special. The hotel has been fitted to suit the style and the feel of the building and the rooms are gorgeous. A lot is said about Boutique Hotels - so much so that it has become a bit of an overworked cliché - but this hotel, and the whole Hotel Du Vin chain, define and dictate the style. Chic and stylish without being at all pretentious.
Our room was massive - and with a big price tag that made us flinch on paper, but when we saw the room we could see exactly why - this was the most gorgeous and lavish room we have ever stayed in. It was actually difficult to leave it because it was such a heavenly place to lounge around in.
Tip - order the continental breakfast to your room, it is fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingPicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,620 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
612 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 95 in Glasgow
823 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Property: Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing