We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet guaranteed”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Derry City Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet guaranteed”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here recently for 3 nights we had a wonderful peaceful stay which is what we were looking for as both have hectic busy jobs. The staff were really helpful and made us very welcome. We were staying in a one bedroomed suite which was beautiful very comfortable and extremely quiet. The hotel is a liitle bit of a walk from the centre but as we are both keen walkers this did not bother us. Many thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite was quiet large and on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inishowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    433
    251
    128
    43
See reviews for
79
744
38
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This hotel is quite a nice place to be, lovely food and very stylish. The only issue we could determine is the sheer noise at night if you are on a street-facing room, as boy racers with loud cars seem to congregate outside amid laps of the city, all night friday and saturday

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvershower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

An absolutely terrible experience...the bed was so uncomfortable that I contemplated checking out at 2.00am to find another hotel. When checking out in the morning, the manager was not surprised, clearly they had heard the feedback before but don't think enough of their paying guests to correct the situation.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reluctant_business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yebass
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Our stay commenced in the bar, we were met with surly staff and very expensive drinks. The rooms were clean, however, the temperature of the room was quite unacceptable, I would expect far better for a four star hotel. In summary, an over priced and uncomfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Had a lovely stay here in Febuary. We had a great deal which included wine and dinner which was very nice. the room was huge and very well furnished with a nice bathroom. Dining room is very comfortable and romantic. Check in was quick and staff were very helpful and friendly. The deal was through their own website and is well worth checking before booking!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiaora9974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Very disapponting stay in this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights, every one of which was disturbed in the very early hours by the laundry service lorry arriving to load/unload (preceded by the driver knocking very loudly on the door to get in!). We had to have the french doors open, since the room was so hot, so this made the noise of the lorry (and the engine which was left running for 15/20 minutes every morning during the delivery) all the more annoying! Traffic wasn't a problem, but the hotel definitely needs to do something about this regular disturbance!

There was absolutely no atmosphere in the hotel at all - hardly saw anyone in reception or in the bar; in fact the day before we checked in (we were staying elsewhere for one night) we walked to the hotel to give it the once over; it was a lovely sunny day and we decided to sit outside at the champagne bar and have a drink. We asked at Reception and were told no problem. Fully 10 minutes later someone took our order; another 10 minutes later someone else came to see if we wanted to order anything - and another 10 minutes after that we walked out! That about summed up our feeling of the service in this hotel - disinterested!

Breakfast was however very good - a nice change to be able to order fresh from a menu and not be faced with hours-old food on a buffet; staff were fine in here too.

Like a previous reviewer, we were expecting a hotel with atmosphere and service to match the Malmaison in Aberdeen; this comes nowhere close, and I don't think I would return - there's much better to choose from in Glasgow! Perhaps there was a reason why at check-out none of us were asked if we had enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruiserjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Overated....Overpriced, hot hotel ( NO AIR CON !) fan supplied in cupboard for room, only to dry your throats up! and make room stuufy...... small dark hot rooms. ...dark hot corridors....windows in room difficult to open & close, had to close at night due to noise outside (could not open again in morning as catch stuck, could hardly breath)...... very noisy... on bad corner for traffic, (dangerous to cross the road)..... police station opposite. Bathroom so hot after shower, made room even hotter! Not a good nights sleep at all........ difficult to find with the one way system...NO CAR PARK.. No parking outside except @t meters....60p per 15mins! can only stay max 2hrs! was offered alternative carpark with discount ticket upon check out, not told the price or discount level. Had to park at the rail station a long way away....not reccomended! Come on Malmaison sort yourselves out!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Abode Glasgow
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing